We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econolodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Midland Park, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here while in town for the Nascar race.I had made the reservations a year in advance on line because it is difficult to get a room when nascar is in town.I got a great rate and thought all was ok.Then In december the motel called and said they couldn't honor my reservation because they needed the rooms for nascar,needless to say I was not happy.Linda the manger told me if they had any rooms left over she would call. or they could put me in budget motel in Eden ,NC. I was not happy and let Choice hotels know it. I am a gold customer and felt the situation wasn't handled correctly..(I did not like the looks of the motel in Eden, on the internet) I was afraid we were going to have to cancel our trip(its impossible to find a room when Nascar is in town) and lose the money I had invested in tickets.Linda said she would call early March and let me know. I made a back up plan just in case.Early March Linda did call and said they still had a room for us. I was over joyed, the only problem was she didn't have a first floor like we wanted.( motel is 2 story and no elevator,my sister walks with a cane).She said she would do her best and see if she could move some
people around. She called us a few days before and said she had a 1st floor room but it had a hard wood floor and mirrored wall if that was ok. We said yes and left on our trip.
The motel looks like an old fashioned motel that we stayed in as kids on family vacation. which may scare people off but it is a great place to stay. The staff is incredible!!!Linda checked us in and she is amazing, she knew we were hesitant because of all the issues we had but she couldn't have been nicer.
Our room 118, was right by the lobby and breakfast room. It was nice and clean .The furniture was old but in good shape.We had some issues with the refrigerator, we finally realized it was plugged into the main overhead light so when the light was off so was the refrigerator.
Our smoke alarm went off as soon as we carried in our luggage, it beeped because the battery was dead, Linda took care of that right away. She also got us a hair dryer and alarm.
THe hotel was filled with all Nascar people so it was busy but the staff was still great.The free breakfast was ok. We only went once, the breakfast room was cold( weather outside was crazy snow/rain and wind) and there wasn't much to choose from but we dealt with it.
What started out as a shaky experience was a wonderful one.Linda and her staff should be proud of the job they do. When we checked out we asked if they would take our name for next years race spring and fall.We would love to stay there again.This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room, there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and your sister again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
6
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for two nights because of a lacrosse tournament being held in Martinsville. We had made reservations, along with others on our team, at the Days Inn. Once we arrived there, we were dismayed at the condition of the hotel, and did not feel it was sanitary for a family with three children. We quickly called the Econo Lodge to see if rooms were available. I wish I had noted the name of the helpful lady who answered the phone, then waited on us. Not only did she have rooms, she offered to show them to us before taking our reservation. The room was perfect. Clean and in good condition. We slept well, had a nice breakfast, and made drive to the fields for games. I would highly recommend this hotel for its service, location, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenR21093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. Your feedback is very important in assuring our guest have an enjoyable experience. It was my pleasure making you and your family's stay as comfortable as I possibly can. We hope to see you again soon again Thank you and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The motel gets high ratings for service - we were very happy with the friendly and helpful nature if the man who checked us in. Our room was very clean too. The pool was still closed for the season so I can't speak to that.

Easy to find when passing through but not terribly convenient to find restaurants by foot. When spending 7-8 hours on a motorcycle, one doesn't necessarily want to get back on to go find some dinner after you've cleaned up for the day.

The "deluxe" continental breakfast is very basic and as a Celiac sufferer (I can't eat any form of wheat, barley or rye), there was NOTHING i could eat - I couldn't even find a piece of fruit or yogurt on offering. So we had to go find breakfast which wasn't factored into our morning plans. And finding breakfast in this town at 7 am that is not a fast food joint is pretty well impossible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room, and service you received while staying with us. Also thank you for informing us of a condition. We are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Was expecting Martinsville hotels to be as low as 45 a night. Martinsville is an economically depressed area. The only one that was that inexpensive had terrible reviews. So we stayed at Econolodge. It was over $70 but we had no problems, the place was clean and convenient and the service was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorlife1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you gave usa chance and had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I booked the Econolodge for a soccer tournament for 22 families. I'll admit, it wasn't our first choice. I'll also admit, we will definitely go back if we travel to the same tournament. Linda and Bobby took such good care of our team. They accomodated allergy requests, had rooms ready early and allowed a little later check out for those that needed it. They really worked with our group to provide an excellent experience for 70 plus people. The best part of our experience was their allowance of our teams to use the conference room for a dinner/dance party for 50 kids under 10 years old. They have tables, table cloths, chairs, etc. ready.

The rooms had double beds instead of queens but we thought this worked perfectly for those with kids because it gave more floor space. The rooms did not feel cramped or crowded. We had a fridge in our room which was really nice for the snacks. The bath is a bit small but totally usable. There isn't much they can do about that since the hotel is a little older than others. We didn't get to use the pool since it was November but the grounds were fun for the kids to run around on. They offer a breakfast that has everything you need. Sausage gravy, biscuits, cereal, juices, bagels.

I'd say this is a perfect hotels for the price. If you want fancy, keep looking. If you want clean, good value (especially with the breakfast!) and good service, you should stay here.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool (it was closed for the season when we were there), you should make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge. We look forward to seeing you and the "kids" if your ever back in Martinsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Visited for a single night stay in order to visit the Virginia Museum of Natural History. Room was clean, spacious, functional, and very decently priced. Mistakenly left my smart phone in the room after departing for about 8 hours. Cleaning staff turned the phone in and the manager had it available to me in a minute upon my return. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

While serving clients its a relief to know that I can count on the Econo Lodge to give my clients a home away from home experience. The staff are always friendly and very attentive to their guests needs. They are located within minutes of all ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaG599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your referals and enjoy making your clients feel at home while in the transaction of moving to Martinsville and Henry County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
#1 of 2 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ridgeway Martinsville Area
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Eden
Hampton Inn Eden
#1 of 3 in Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge

Property: Econolodge
Address: 1755 Virginia Avenue, Martinsville, VA 24112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Henry County > Martinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.A Martinsville, Virginia hotel - Econo LodgeNestled in the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, the Econo Lodge ® hotel provides business and leisure travelers with relaxing and inviting accommodations.Local points of interest close to this Martinsville, VA hotel include:•Martinsville Speedway, home of the NASCAR Cup race•Virginia Museum of Natural History•Blue Ridge Institute & MuseumScenic opportunities are aplenty in this region thanks the natural barrier the surrounding mountains and lakes provide. Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the multitude of recreation areas afforded in the vicinity. Whether you want to golf, swim, hike or bike, this area of Virginia offers something for everyone.Many entertainment venues, retailers and shopping centers are close to the hotel.This Martinsville, VA hotel provides full-service amenities like:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffeeAfter a busy day of work or play, guests of this Virginia hotel can come back and relax by the seasonal outdoor pool or unwind in the exercise room.Corporate travelers can take advantage of the modern conveniences afforded in the on-site business center, including a computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. Two banquet and meeting rooms are located on the premises and can accommodate up to 200 people for most functions.In addition to standard amenities, all of our well-appointed guest rooms are furnished with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Ask about our rooms that have sofa sleepers. Connecting rooms are available.This Virginia hotel is pet-friendly; fees apply. For added convenience, laundry facilities are provided for guest use and valet cleaning service is available. Ample parking is provided.When you want countless features and an outstanding staff, look no further than the Econo Lodge hotel. Make a reservation with us today and experience all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Martinsville
Martinsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing