We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local dining”
Review of Southwind Pizza

Southwind Pizza
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mathews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mathews-VA/Southwind-Pizza/312524920727
Mathews, Virginia
1 review
“Great local dining”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Particularly love this place for lunch. Food is always good. Sometimes it's difficult to get a table, but that's because it's that good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gegegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    26
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudgins
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I with with friends to Southwind Pizza on New Year's Eve. I had the Surf & Turf. It was EXCELLENT!! Dean, the owner, was very attentive to all of us and made sure we were satisfied with our dining experience. Our waitress was the best. We all enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our Go-To place for great food & good times”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

More than just a pizza joint, they offer craft brews on tap, fresh seafood and local seasonal produce, daily lunch and dinner specials as well as homemade pizza unlike anywhere else. Great service and friendly local vibe, you can't go wrong here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TabbsCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathews, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent tasting Pizza”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I read alot and heard people say that the pizza was wonderful. My family and I decided to try it out and had an okay expierence. We all ordered individual pizzas. I have to say the pizza had a good taste, but it seemed more crust than toppings. The waitress seemed ok, but didn't seem to interested in us, we had to flag her done just to get some drink re-fills. Would I come back again? I'm not sure, but I should just to compare to the first time, but it will not be for a special trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We vacationed in Mathews, and I wish we had visited Southwind Pizza sooner. I would have loved to have gone back. We really enjoyed the selection of unique pizzas. It is kind of small and a bit loud, but we really loved the pizza. The only disappointment was the wine selection. There were several that could only be purchased by the bottle. Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoversLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southwind Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Southwind Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing