We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”

The White Dog Bistro
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Mathews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine dining at the historic White Dog Bistro restaurant in Mathews Virginia. The Bistro unites artistry, simplicity and elegance with beautiful fireplaces set in a classic 1840's southern mansion....
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The venue is lovely, a beautiful old house transformed into a restaurant in the tiny town of Mathews, Virginia. Our waiter, Mike, was charming and funny.

We actually met the chef prior to ordering and mentioned we had a vegetarian in the group. He made no suggestions or comments about what to order, seemed totally uninterested in discussing what options were available at all. I ended up getting a salad and cheese plate, both good. The shrimp and pasta dish for my husband was undercooked, unimaginatively flavored and actually I don't think I've ever seen such small shrimp. My husband, who eats everything, spent the whole night picking at it and left most of it in the dish. The desserts were very pedestrian and didn't tempt us.

A few other service errors: water was not brought for the whole table and bread never arrived though I saw it being served at other tables. And our bill was wrong. Admittedly, we were there on a weekday, off-season in the Chesapeake, so maybe it was the restaurant was just not up to speed yet. Maybe it gets better in season. But we were still disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kampalapals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    18
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very pleased to find this restaurant...food was outstanding and atmosphere was great. Nice wine list, good service, enjoyed talking with the owner. The vegetarian pasta that night was an amazing combination of flavors and I loved it. Good variety on the menu and everyone in our party of six was extremely happy with his/her meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I went for the first time in early April. The ambiance is very nice. Spaced tables with low noise levels and white marble tables. We shared the calamari for an appetizer. It may be the best calamari we have had. Lightly breaded with some veggies mixed in with a nice red sauce. We both had the cod. It was served with over a bed of black eyed peas which had a nice sauce. The dessert was peach, granola, coconut "sundae". It was not as good as the rest of the meal. We would definitely come back. We normally eat in the White Stone, Kilmarnock area and the White Dog is better that the restaurants in that area making the drive worthwhile. The prices were reasonable also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben There S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic fine dining”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Were there for a Valentine's dinner while staying at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Tom, our server was fantastic and friendly and the food was exquisite. Was a little disappointed that they had run out of the scallops dish by our 7pm reservation but understand that when serving fresh seafood from the area that sometimes is the downside. The staff did a fantastic job.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sojournerbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fancy,Friendly, Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Upscale, but not stuffy. We walked in for dinner without reservations and were greeted with a smile and seated in front of the fireplace on a cold night. Our waiter, Mike, was friendly, funny and helpful. He made several suggestions since this was our first visit and hit a homerun. The escargot was exceptional, bacon wrapped stuffed trout and blackened duck with a crabcake were delicious. We ended our meal with a cheesecake that was out of this world. Will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ydnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Dog Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The White Dog Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing