We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Fort Chiswell
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Florida
1 review
“bad smelly room”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Non smoking room smelled like smoke. Air conditioner did not work. Terrible TV reception. Stained sheets and lumpy pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    58
    50
    21
    24
See reviews for
78
46
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stay here because it allows dogs and is in a route that I travel about once a year. On the 10/9 stay the morning desk clerk was out smoking both times I went into the lobby once for coffee once to check out. I had to walk through the smoke each time I entered the front door. Otherwise he was a very polite and helpful man. Both stays the rooms smelled musky until the AC was turned on for a while. On 10/15 when I lifted the toilet seat the porcelain rim had not been cleaned. It was just easier for me to clean it with wipes I had in the car after 12 hours on the road. There were also cellophane wrapped toothpicks tangled in the phone cord. The coffee was not very good either made in the room or from the lobby. The real star of 10/15 was Amanda at the front desk. Really nice young lady. She suggest a mexican restaurant that delivered. Excellent food after a long day on the road. Thanks Amanda!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great hotel and also great price! We stayed at the super 8 on Oct 10 2013 and it was a great experience! The owners are very nice and accommodating! I recommend this to future tourists traveling 77 and 81

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Room smelled like burnt up vacuum and maybe strong mildew, standing water on bathroom floor around toilet, bugs on mirror... and over priced....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

GPS took us 9 miles into to sticks with address of hotel. Fridge did not work. Stink bugs on curtains. Lights were unplugged. Musty odor when entering room. Big plus was hot shower!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Max Meadows
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 20 in Wytheville
104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#6 of 20 in Wytheville
317 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
6.7 mi away
Best Western Wytheville Inn
Best Western Wytheville Inn
#11 of 20 in Wytheville
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fort Chiswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fort Chiswell

Property: Super 8 Fort Chiswell
Address: 194 Fort Chiswell Rd, Max Meadows, VA 24360-3080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Max Meadows
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fort Chiswell 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into our Super 8 Fort Chiswell hotel, conveniently located at the junction of I-81 and I-77. Enjoy scenic mountain views and easy access to southwestern Virginia's best natural attractions, including New River Trail State Park and Blue Ridge Parkway. When you need a spot to rest and refuel, come to our hotel. We offer convenient amenities that help to keep you on track, and refrigerators are available upon request. Begin your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast and enjoy fresh-brewed coffee any time of day. Go online with free WiFi in your room or relax with an HBO movie. Drive along Blue Ridge Parkway, just 25 miles from our hotel. Hike, bike, horseback ride, and boat at New River Trail State Park, only 10 miles away. While there, stop at Shot Tower Historic State Park and see where ammunition was made more than 200 years ago. Cast a line into 21-mile-long Claytor Lake, hike through miles of trails at Jefferson National Forest, or swing by Draper Valley Golf Course for 18 holes of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Fort Chiswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Max Meadows
Super Eight Max Meadows
Max Meadows Super Eight
Max Meadows Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing