We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for biking......”

New River Trail State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingsport, TN.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place for biking......”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've come up here a few times, mainly for the biking. The bike trail runs for 50+ miles, but there are several points where you can get access to start your trip. Parking is free at some spots, but a $5 fee at others, but well worth it.The area is just beautiful with the river, cliffs, rolling farmland and wildlife. The bike trial is kept in great shape, and is pretty dang level with only maybe a 10% grade in some spots. The New River also offers great kayaking and fishing, as well as some horseback riding opportunities.

They are working on the completion of a bed & breakfast at Foster Falls, but we usually stay in Hillsville or Galax. There are also cabin rentals available. One thing you need to remember when you bike is that if you are planning on going 20+ miles like we do, is to take at least a couple of bottles of water with you,as the only places to get something to drink that we've found so far are at the Foster Falls Park and the low water bridge close to the town of Fries, where there is a small store. The first time we hit this trail was on a humid 85+ degree day and I took 1 bottle of water. After about 25 miles of a 30 mile trip, I became dehydrated was cramping badly for the last 5 miles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JDHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    15
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New River Trail, peaceful, relaxing”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great place for biking, walking or jogging. Beautiful former railroad bed which winds along the banks of the New River. Lots of wildlife and beautiful scenery .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trh_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Family Adventure”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wow! What a great afternoon adventure! While staying at Bear's Lair, a beautiful and cozy cabin on The New River, our family hopped on our bikes for a ride along the river. The trail was easy enough for my 10 year old but enough of a challenge for my 13 year old son and husband. Several scenic stops along the way gave my daughter and me a chance to catch up and read about a tidbits of history about the river! My kids didn't want to stop until I reminded them that dinner was going to be hot dogs and s'mores cooked along the river bank in front of the cabin! A great activity for a relaxing afternoon bike ride through the cool trees along the river!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Booboolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pick your outdoor activity, this is the place”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a 57 mile long linear park, following the old railroad that serviced the mining and logging industries in the past.
As such, it offers numerous access points including Galax, Fries, Foster Falls, Allisonia and Draper. Running along Chestnut Creek or the New River, scenery is awesome year round.
You can design various trips either by bike, hike, horse or non-motorized watercraft. Rental bikes, horses and boats available at Foster Falls. Nearby restaurants in Galax or Fries.
Camping available at several locations, accessible by car, bike or boat.
The state park entry fee is minimal. Other fees reasonable. Various nature oriented events at Foster Falls. http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/state-parks/new-river-trail.shtml
This park is close to home and I enjoy it regularly for biking, hiking, boating and camping. A true gem.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
314 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Rails to trails”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Whether hiking or biking the trails are fun as you travel a sundry of old railroad bridges and see a lot of wildlife (at least we did) if you're quite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New River Trail State Park also viewed

 

Been to New River Trail State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing