We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mountainside magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountainside Villas
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mountainside magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Villas, and while we didn't think it could top the first, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was wonderfully accomodating and the unit was perfect for our family and friends. We weren't lucky enough to get snow, but there is so much to do it didn't matter. There's ample of room for cooking and entertaining, and the sauna is divine! Its so beautiful, peaceful and well maintained. My kids loved watching the many deer that live around the area. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    41
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Overall I was very pleased with the Villa....very spacious and tastefully decorated. My biggest concern was access in/out of the doors. Front lawn was very steep with no steps directly at door and while getting to the back door was an easy walk once you got up the hill, it was dark in the back of the Villa at night.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire if there is an access road in the rear of the building to unload/load your luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We experienced as a large family the most wonderful time together. The unit was large enough to fit us all with our own space. The units have all of the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. Shopping at the antique shops was very nice. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ermajUpperMarlboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellicott city maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

So much to do, this is a mountain full of timeshare units so the whole focus is on pleasing the thousand of timeshare owners. Our sister owns one and there was something for everyone to do...the units are so spacious, we had 12 people there (some stayed at the hotel) during the day and we had room to cook and hang out, it was amazing. We have an rci membership and when she traded her timehsare last year, she got 14 points for it....rci members know this is a good score. Harrisonburg is a beautiful mountainous college town and in the valley is more shopping than you could hope for. Internet access was fast, the management office was helpful. These units are operated separate from the other timeshares since they are apparently the originals so they have a separate management office.
We went on the timeshare pitch and the sales people mentioned repeatedly how awful these units are...we could not figure it out until later when we were told they don't have many to sell (resales only) and they want you to pay $20 k for a newer unit. They talked about the buildings being a mess (not!) and older (yes, but clean) and only owned by old people (hey, wait a minutel!) and other nonsense stuff. We left the pitch, went to the mountainside villas office to see what units were for sale.
Some things required a fee...go karting, snow tubing, classes...and many are free including lots of swimming options. The water park is amazing...you have to see it for yourself.
I would highly recommend these places. Many rci timeshare units have tiny kitchens or just the basics...these units are not only ginormous but are heavily equipped with everything you would need. Don't pack anything, come as you are.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank itsallaboutthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

we were so impressed....its a huge resort and yes, you do have to drive to some things of course since there are thousands of timeshare units, they can't all be outside your door. these units are not granite counters and stainless appliances but seriously, who cares? they are HUGE and I mean the largest units we've ever seen. There is a magazine that you get at checkin that outlines so many things to do...classes, sports, recreation, etc. no other resort has this much going on. Yes, you may have to pay extra for experiences but doesn't that make sense that the people using various facilities pay for use? this visit we will go gokarting, snow tubing, and maybe take some classes and get a massage. I've heard the water park is awesome, I haven't been there yet. last time we felt like lazing around and watching movies....pay as you go seems like the best idea to us. the gyms were exceptional and we played ping pong and swam, all free. last time the pool was closed for cleaning so we went to the other pool, no biggie. The have internet access in the units as well.
mountainside villas are within walking of the restaurant and business office, depends where you stay. most have a view of the golf course as well.
The cost was so reasonable it was worth it. harrisonburg is so close, where the shopping is unlimited.
the front desk staff is efficient, the checkin a breeze and the mountains stunning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HappyMDCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was our 15th time we traded our timeshare and this time we wanted to go somewhere we could drive to and it was a last minute decision. I did not read reviews until after we booked it and they were awful. I was so scared on what we would find here. I took pots and pans and all our food and even sheets. There were complaints about everything. We were pleasantly surprised. It was so clean and everything was there except salt and pepper. I never got my things out of the truck. We had unit 115 and it was close to the welcome center. The pool that was closest was off limits to us but one was just about a half block away from that one was available to us. That is one thing that I did not understand that we could not use that one pool. It was for owners only. I felt I was an owner somewhere else which I paid my fees and exchange fee and deserved the same as owners here but everythings was good anyways. The deer are like dogs they are so friendly which my 5 year old grandson loved. The master bedroom could have a larger bed. The living room had a flat screen TV which was nice. We liked the built in grill in the kitchen.
We took a trip to Cass, WV to the Railroad which was an old logging railroad which it fun to ride and one day we went to Luray Caverns so we were not at the resort all the time.

They only called once to go to a timeshare sales pitch and we were going to be away that day. They never called back to pest us to go to a sales pitch again.

We did take our own beach towels. It looked like the towels they were giving out were to little. At Woodstock we could have gotten towels.
They had Texas Hold 'em and poker some afternoons and evenings which my husband loved. Lots of other activities to sign up for also.
We had a very nice trip there and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Onatrio Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Except for the scenery we cannot say much good about this timeshare. First the resort is huge so you have to drive up about 2 miles from the main resort and the Waterpark which is a separate independant thing - You have to drive to your pools!- Pool closest to us was off limits!- and the ones that are don't supply towels. The villa is spacious but very dated. Stucco walls and mold around Shower. Asked teenage girl attendant for more modern suite and was told no other available and they are all the same anyway. Had 2 calls to goto Timeshare presentation and said no twice. Mini Golf extra, Laundry in separate building, old machines and you had to pay by coinage. Water Park very expensive, They had a $99 discount card but still had to pay for things. Our kids are 10 and 13 and they only like the Water Park. we arrived late in evening so Kids were anxious to get to the Park and we had to pay $28 each plus $10 for one of us to watch themfor 2 hours! There is an Arcade there as well - another ripoff to suck in Kids. Nicest buildings are for timeShare sales. Tons of rules for the unit including having to strip off bed sheets and place at front door for cleaning. Had to request mid week cleaning! No high speed in units only at Sales Center
As far as I could make out The hill is divided to permanent residences and Timeshare and Hotel. The management company - if there is one could take lessons from a lot of other more successful resorts - mainly switch to all inclusive - Overall a bad feeling place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elmarko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#11 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Villas

Property: Mountainside Villas
Address: 4082 Peak Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountainside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Villas Hotel Mcgaheysville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing