We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“large, spacious, great views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountainside Villas
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“large, spacious, great views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I went to Mountainside villas with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and four grandchildren. The condo slept 8 so there was room for everyone. The furnishings were well maintained although a the stove was obviously older and due for replacement. Every morning the deer browsed just outside the condo. The activities available were geared for all ages, and although there was a cost for most it was reasonable. The swimming pool and gym - free to guests were clean and well maintained. I would recommend Mountainside to any family group. If you want to endure the 3 hour sales pitch you get $100.00 to spend at the resort. It is treated like cash everywhere so we were able to go out to dinner, buy souvenirs and even stamps with the $100.00 = worth the investment.

Room Tip: there are stairs involved on most of the condos so if mobility is an issue as for an handicapped sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    41
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a huge 2 BR unit with room to sleep 2 more in the loft and 2 on the sleep sofa. I have stayed at Snowshoe many times at many different locations and no 2 bedroom can match this unit. The sauna was an unexpected surprise. As was the free in unit WiFi. Friendly staff welcomed us with hot coffee in the lobby and a well planned welcome package. I agree that a shuttle is a needed addition to the resort, and washer dryer would be needed if you came to ski. Overall, I still give it a 5 star for price and will return.

Room Tip: Remember to bring towels for the water park, salt/pepper, foil, press n seal, shampoo and conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a great place to stay for our trip to Shenandoah National Park. It's about 10-15 minutes from the park and has several good restaurants nearby (Hank’s, Café & Art). Our unit was a 2 story townhouse with 2 decks and tap water that was better than most bottled water. The first floor had a nicely equipped kitchen, large dining area, and great room with a large picture window and electric fireplace. On the first floor there was a large bathroom with a shower stall, 4 person Jacuzzi, and sauna. The second floor had a bedroom with a king size bed, a bedroom with a queen bed, and an open area with 2 daybeds. There’s also a bathroom with a tub/shower on the second floor. Though the villas are older buildings, our unit was very clean and all the interior furnishings were all new. The staff at the resort was very helpful and friendly. Since it’s a condo, guests are responsible for taking out their own trash, stripping the beds and placing used towels by the front door on departure. The only problem we had was finding the check-in area. All of the Massanutten resort check-ins are at the main welcome center on the main road except for the Mountainside Villas. For the Mountainside Villas, you have to go up the mountain to a separate welcome center which could have used better signage. Everyone on our trip agreed we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newark_DECathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We always love this place. We've been going to Mountainside Villas for 18 years. Usually we go in the summer or in November. We've always missed the fall foliage. This year we happened to catch it at fall foliage peak and it was beautiful. The resort itself is loaded with activities. They have several outside pools, an indoor pool, a golf course, mini golf, a waterpark and a health club. The health club has an indoor pool, a couple of hot tubs, basketball court, tennis courts, handball courts, movie theatre for kids, game room, weight room, and tons of board games to take out. The resort also has skiing in the winter as well as tubing. Nearby you can find horse back riding and other water activities on the river. We especially love to travel a short distance to Skyline Drive and go hiking to many waterfalls which are easily accessible and relatively easy hikes. The units at Massanutten are well maintained, clean, and very spacious. Although there are restaurants on the premises, the location is near to Harrisonburg, where you can find many great restaurants and shopping mall. I would highly recommend this resort. We always have a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: We always rent the Mountainside Villas which sleep 8. The whole family has plenty of room to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
407 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

When we made the reservation we requested a mountain view and were told to get there for early check-in. Normally it is 5:00 I think. We arrived at 2:00 expecting that our unit would not be ready but it was and we had a spectacular view over the golf course to the mountains. The 1-br unit had a full kitchen and was very roomy and clean. There is plenty to do but we only took advantage of the wine dinner which was very good and reasonably priced. We walked the cart path before golf started (they encourage this) and loved the views.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on the third floor and ask for a mountain view, then arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allamuchy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Mountainside villas is situated in the Massanutten Resort. The townhouse units have two bedrooms with a loft, which have 2 daybeds with an outside upper deck for sitting. On the loft level is a full bathroom nicely sized. On the main level is a fully furnished kitchen, dining room, living room with fireplace, back deck full bathroom with a whirlpool tub and a sauna. All units have private entry off a common walk path. The unit was averagely clean. The supplied plenty of clean linens and initial necessities for house hold needs.Some furniture pieces had damage, but nothing serious. I told the registration office and offered to have the items repaired at once. Side it didn't affect my vacation I opted for them to wait till I checked out. Great customer service! The kitchen had a recessed counter top grill that was great for chicken and other meats.Outside of Mountain side villas, Massanutten resort is enormous. Be aware..all activities is not walking distance from the Mountainside Villas. To most activities is literally on average a 5 minute drive due to the enormouse size of this resort. Sine the units have a full kitchen there is a food store about a few miles from here. Its pretty rural so if you want a selection of shopping stores and restaraunts its about a 15 minute drive from here. Most of the week we were in the resort and twice to the food store so it did not feel like an inconvenience. I would stay again at Mountainside Villas. It was our first time using a time share unit in which we exchanged our home unit for this recent stay here. I recommend this place for families and for a nonstop week of scheduled activities of fun or golf.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ironman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I rented this place on the internet, knew nothing about it. I was looking for a place that could accomodate three friends who just wanted to get together. This was perfect. Our space had two bedrooms, one with a king, one with a queen, plus two daybeds in the loft and a sleep sofa, none of which we used. It does have a lot of steps, but I requested lesser steps, so they gave us an end unit that had a service road from which we could unload our cars. It's a little inconvenient that we couldn't all park at the condo--they only allow two cars at each unit, altho there was plenty of room for another car the entire time we were there. We weren't in the unit much except at night, and we really didn't explore the grounds, as we were more interested in Harrisonburg, which was only ll miles away on Rt. 33. It was quiet at night, and we had a great time reconnecting. There was wifi in the unit altho it said on the website that there was only wifi at the reception area. They also let us get clean towels whenever we requested it; you had to bring the dirty towels to the laundry area. All in all, we would DEFINITELY go back! Would love to see this place in the fall and the winter.

Room Tip: Just be careful about all those steps if someone has issues. Choose an end unit so you can bring yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#11 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Villas

Property: Mountainside Villas
Address: 4082 Peak Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountainside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Villas Hotel Mcgaheysville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing