We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good trip to VA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massanutten Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another good trip to VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

stayed in the Vista villas it was great I was able to barbecue everyday we also went to the swimming area, golfing,and horseback riding,and they give you your own garage so it was a lot of privacy and is located in a gated area couldn't ask for a better trip

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    521
    264
    153
    136
See reviews for
843
377
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We luckily had a nice family vacation. The one bedroom in eagle terrace we had was clean and everything was in working order. The furniture was dated but in good shape. This is not a marriott or a hilton vacation villa. This is more - for lack of a better word- woodsy.
We paid $99 for the 3 day 2 night timeshare deal we received. Upon getting here I heard the salespeople take you and your kids on a tour. We were
told its a 90 minute tour and you get a free $100 gift card however speaking to people here after reading reviews I've come to find out its more like 3 hours. Thanks but no thanks. I read my timeshare paperwork and it stated I would be charged and additional $150 if I did not attend.
I believe that you get what you pay for in life. And although I was initially interested in listening to a timeshare presentation I have decided that it's not worth showing up to a timeshare presentation and expecting it to last 90 minutes. Life is all about expectations. I worked in sales for years and would be highly upset if I was forced to stay beyond 90 mins. Taking this into consideration, this is a fun family resort and I don't mind paying the $150 extra for not attending the timeshare. The headaches would just not be worth ruining an otherwise great family outing. If you have patience and apparently three hours , take the tour. With little ones I just couldn't imagine taking three hours out of their day. Also the salespeople drive you around in their vehicles. I was not aware of that.
Anyways, back to the resort. There are a lot of activities and a couple free pools that we did enjoy. The water was warm! Even in November! Went to the watermark as well and ate at the lounge there. Great wings and burger. Steak n cheese and chicken tenders were just okay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travelingfamilynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we own at Massanutten in two different developments. We stayed. At one of our ownership developments, through RCI, but that is a long story. Any way we were in the Summit development of which there are several phases. we were at one of the newer phases, but that only means that as Summit developed, the location became worse. Our unit was very well maintained up to a point. Walls, floors, paint, light fixtures, TV's (all 3) flat screen with almost matching remotes were some of the best I've seen anywhere. THEN, not so great was the broken coffee pot, the broken night light, the miserable mattresses and box springs in the 2nd bedroom with poorly fitted sheets and mattress protectors, the non-operational jacuzzi and the filthy intake vent for the family room HVAC. Let me hasten to add that maintenance and house keeping where on the job and after a couple of tries the vent was checked and vacuumed. took four hours for maintenance to show up and clean a sensor so the jacuzzi would function. I think the owners and senior staff never check the units. If they and their families stayed in these units for a few days each quarter things would change. Otherwise scheduled maintenance is a joke and beyond the capabilities of Massanutten summit to plan, organize and carry out routine preventive maintenance. Finally, I have cursed the signage, road marking at Massanutten for 20years. Miserable death trap. CAUTION when night driving. During rain, snow, and icy conditions do not drive at night. You will be taking your life and the lives of your family down a path of extreme danger.

Room Tip: Beware of the check in scam to get you parking pass. You will be forced to listen to A sales pitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were placed in Regal Vistas which are all duplex houses for our stay. These were super accomations. Very new and modern, with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Fireplace in living room and master bedroom. Whirlpool tub in master bedroom. Modern kithen with all great applicances. Very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in Regal Vista section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent a week at his resort in Sept 2013. We informed the staff that we'd be arriving late. When we arrived the surly guards informed us we didn't have a reservation. We through a fit and after an hour they discovered that it had been filed in the wrong file and under the wrong name!

IN THE DARK
The resort is badly signed and the exterior light for our unit was out, so we were forced to climb 2 flights of stairs in total darkness. Although I complained daily, I was unable to get the staff to install a new light bulb in the outdoor light.

During our stay, we met several tourists who were repeat visitors. The general consensus was that this was no longer a prime property and was headed downhill fast due to lack of upkeep. Our spacious, beautiful 2-bedroom unit had not been dusted in some time, Neither the the microwave nor the Jacuzzi were operational and I'm sure that the warranty on the the queen sized-bed expired years ago.

The only free activity at this resort are the pool and the water aerobics classes. Everything else costs extra. Even the "free" meet your neighbors event that turned out to be a flea market with a $4 entrance fee.

The resort has a very helpful concierge staff. Wish I could say the same for the time-share sales team. My friend, who owns timeshares asked if they had newsletter or forum that allowed owners to voice opinions. The salesman said, "We haven't listened to owners for 40 years. Why should we start now?" I said, "Well, now you know why I would never invest in one of your properties!".

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these McGaheysville hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a two bedroom, two bath condo in the Summit, which really isn't the highest section on the mountain. Our unit was dated and rundown. The balcony overlooked other units except for one corner that peaked into the valley, which is better than a lot of units that had no view. Out the front door was the parking lot and woods which we could see from the living area.

To get your parking pass you have to listen to a plea to take their tour and hear the pitch to buy a time share. Tell them no, no, no, no and they record their effort, give up and give you the parking pass.

The activity card is expensive at $ 99 per person. Check the list of activities covered to determine what you're likely to do and the benefit you'll get from purchasing the card. Also be aware that the activity card does NOT provide a discount for some services; e.g., spa.

The television was difficult to work (we never found ABC and NBC) and could never get the gas in the fireplace to come on.

Bed linens - sheets and blankets - were frayed. Towels were way beyond their useful life.

We did the five course wine pairing dinner. Food was good. Wine was marginal.

People are friendly. Spa was excellent. We went twice. Signature Massage and Reflexology were great. Lots of wildlife. The deer or so plentiful you have to watch for them dashing across the road. We also saw a groundhog and coyote. Take the chair lift to the peak for a great view and walk along the trails. Best money we spent during our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here with a relative who had a timeshare apartment with 2 bedrooms. It was small, outdated and smelly. The living area was small with worn out furniture. Kitchen small with a dishwasher and large refrigerator. The upstairs "bedroom" had a small size full bed which 2 adults had to sleep in and was very uncomfortable. The downstairs bedroom ensuite had a tub but no shower!!!!! All that said, it was located in the midst of nature - nestled in amongst the trees and hillside which made the outdoor decks at the property the best areas to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizardqueen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing