We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation But Do Some Planning for Activity Card”
Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Vacation But Do Some Planning for Activity Card”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Massanutten last month with my brother and his family. We had a great week together. From two golf courses, to two fishing areas, to the miniature golf course, to the wonderful waterpark, there is more to do at the resort than one week can handle. A must in the summer is to take the chairlift ride up the top of the mountain and then get off and make your way to the top (past the cell towers). The view are breathtaking but be careful with young kids. Only issue we had was figuring out the pricing. There is an activity card and you really need to sit down beforehand and figure out if your week will be active or docile. Active? Buy the car. Relaxing and Docile? Save the money and pay individually for the few activities. Enjoy!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank cwhite8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    537
    270
    157
    137
See reviews for
875
387
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

It was my first time here and I found the resort very confusing. Upon entering the security gate you are on your own. A map of the park would have been a tremendous help at that point. We rented a home and found that the owners created a book with an activities section but it still did not orientate us to the resort. We found activities via internet. We were asked what room we were in and if we had an activities card when making reservations to tube the river. No clue. Maybe there is a hotel???? We found the indoor/outdoor waterpark which was nice. We bypassed the gate just to explore and found the ski slopes and putt putt but honestly the signage is horrible. If you have never visited or are not a frequent flyer then do your research first. I assumed "resort" would provide you with valuable and helpful information along the way at some point. The resort is beautiful. Many older homes throughout. Well maintained for the most part. It is heavily wooded and I am sure quite beautiful in the winter. Get groceries and other necessities before arriving...there is not much around for 5-10 miles in either direction and that is once you get off the resort. Might go back...might.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited Massanutten 4 Seasons Resort in July 2014, It was summer & an excellent time to visit the mountains. We had booked a 1 bedroom unit in Shenandoah Villas. The unit was an upstairs one & was excellent with a Gas Grill on the front balcony & a partial kitchen built in. The big surprise for us was to see a jacuzzi in the bathroom with 2 skylights, one in the living room & the other over the jacuzzi. The bathroom was big though it only had a stand shower which we found a little cramped. We had wild deers and ground hogs running freely which was a big hit with my 8 yr old son & my mother.
The facilities were excellent & the staff was friendly & courteous.The area is very scenic and has a lot of Civil War history. Since we're not civil war buffs, we found ample of scenic drives, pick your own farms and trails to keep us busy. The activities on the property are plenty but very few are free of cost.
Overall an excellent experience and we're taking with us tons of good memories.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upper level room in Shenandoah Villas as they are bigger units than the units b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinu299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I own 2 units at Massanutten and have stayed in various units within recent years. The staff is typically nice and the units are typically nice BUT the comment cards are NOT headed. I have completed several comment cards with my address/phone and never received a reply.

Regal Vistas -- I used lots of trading power through RCI to stay at the nicest units that they have. I was discouraged as landscaping crews were outside my window 4 different mornings cleaning. They stated that they needed to get the unit ready for Christmas which was the following week. I was discouraged and asked that they NOT be outside my bedroom window in the morning, they were unable to ablige this. The overall unit was extremely nice BUT the company at the window was not welcomed and I will NOT waste the money to use Regal Vistas when they have someone outside my window most mornings. Yes, we can close the curtain BUT the idea of someone outside my bedroom window in the morning when I wake up is NOT pleasant. DONT WASTE THE TRADING POWER.

Woodstone -- Clean unit with small exceptions. The door knobs were not properly installed and NONE of the interior doors were able to latch (even when locked someone could walk right in the bathroom). This was beneficial in that we would not get locked out of the bedroom or bathroom. There were toe nails on the floor when we walked in. Once we vacuumed that up the unit was clean and great for my family on Christmas. This was reported BUT not fixed during our stay. Was reported on comment card, no reply. I even own two of these units and this is what my fees go to!!

Eagle Trace -- Awesome unit, dated but well maintained. one small issue that was resolved by maint during the stay and we loved the week in this unit. Close to most activities and low trading power.

Sales pitch -- They are great at bending the truth to sell. I was told that RCI was switching to points and that my exchange fees would be lower. I purchased a lot of points and the exchange cost is the same as weeks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This resort is very nice. The rooms are very clean. It is located in the mountains so it is very scenic. Our room was right next to a large patch of woods. For people who love nature especially, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent the 4th here with some friends this year, easy tucked away spot in the mountains, we loaded everyday with activities and fun. It was quiet, relaxing and every single staff member we came into contact with were nice and fun and just added that little something extra!
Also Monticello and the National Forest are both close and fun day trips

Room Tip: we loved the top floor, the view and the quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate 4th of July. Their entrance fee is pretty steep at $20 per person at the gate but their entertainment, Traveling Hillbillies, Cazhmiere, and Junkfood, was awesome. Food choices were slim and expensive as well. Fireworks were disappointing. You had to leave the music to travel up hill to view and then they were small and too far away in my opinion. This was our second time to come here. Though the people watching was VERY entertaining...this might be our last visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing