We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decieptful marketing department and price of disney less the fun”
Review of The Summit - 3640

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Summit - 3640
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McGaheysville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

VERY VERY disappointed. The worse part about it was the Marketing department was very deceitful when we went on a tour. The manager of the marketing department, Ann Mock wouldn't even refund the purchase of $99 Activity card when the ONLY thing I got to use it on was the Waterpark to save $10. We stayed here an entire week. There's lots to do but you get nickle and dime'd for anything you want to do. Worse than Disney World. Don't purchase the Activity card - it's a RIP OFF. You can't use it for certain things on certain days. We kept finding the activity we wanted to do was only open on certain days (Water park only open 3 days a week for example) BRING LOTS your money if you want to do anything other than sit in your room here.

Room Tip: Don't buy the Activity CARD!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for The Summit - 3640
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

They were hard as rocks. My sons had trouble sleeping. King bed in master was just fine. Other than that, we enjoyed our exchanged week very much at The Summit at Grenoble Woods. This is our third trip to Massanutten in 20 years and it has grown! So much to do! Upon check-in, gave the girl giving out the parking passes a very firm "no, not interested" to the free breakfast, and we were not bothered the rest of the week. Sons really enjoyed skiing, tubing, the arcade and the go-karts. I enjoyed the indoor pool, Jacuzzi and the gas fireplace. Never made it to the water park. Did not purchase the activity card, would probably be worth it if you did every single activity, but that would be difficult in just a week. Most activities were just 50% off with the card. Unit was very spacious, clean, and well equipped. Needed to purchase a couple foil casserole dishes to make Christmas dinner but that was all. Nice to be right on the ski slopes. Beautiful mountain views. Drive up to the overlook, the view is spectacular. Loved The Thunderbird Café near the entrance to the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We are staying in The Summit in Grenoble Woods this week. We have two bedroom which sleeps six. This is a large spotless unit with a gas fireplace, a bathroom with a huge jacuzzi as well as a shower in both baths. The kitchen is well equipped, with great appliances. We had a good meal at Fareways restaurant, and eaten at a couple close restaurants, as well as two in Harrisonburg. This is a beautiful spot in the mountains with tame deer wandering around. Today we saw a baby black bear cub run across the road. There are several things to do around here that cost very little, and other interesting things nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jehorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We own at Massanutten. We traded our week and ended up staying a different week at the Summit. It was a great disappointment. Mice droppings in the knife and fork drawer. Called Maintenance and they brought up 2 mouse traps. Next day one was caught. Next day watching tv and one kept popping it head up in the fireplace. Again they brought two more up. The whirlpool had 2 screws laying on top of it and it was not very clean. The tub had hair in the drain. I don't know who has been cleaning the unit but we found a pill bottle dated two years ago in one drawer which we pitched. We had a handicapped unit and they really need to make some changes. I will only stay at our Woodstone or Regal Vistas and pass on the Summit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dalma53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Plenty of activities to keep you busy. A car is necessary to get around because you are on a mountain. Accommodations are clean and spacious. If you survive the timeshare sales pitch you will enjoy your stay. P

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Drheartless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We sorta hunkered down during the worst of the storm inside. The units in this section of the Summit were redone 2 years ago. It was nicely decorated, tiled floor in bathrooms and kitchen, granite counter top, extra large bathroom with huge jacuzzi tub and separate shower area. Two bedrooms and sofa bed sleeps 6 people. Gas fireplace was well used this week as the hurricane Sandy brought freezing rains and snow to the Summit. We were disappointed that hiking, kayaking, tubing and other outdoor activities where not available as the weather stopped all of that. A short hike was taken up the ridge with good views before the rain came. We made trips into Harrisburg for dinner, movies and even Starbucks. Luray Caverns is a 40 minutes drive and Graves Mountain Lodge with apple fests not far from there. We have enjoyed riding into the local areas seeing old farms and houses and visited a small Methodist church built in the 1850s. We still have a few more days and sun is coming out today so hopefully we can take a horseback trail ride soon.There are many activities listed in the resorts handout and most have a fee which we didn't want to pay. The Fairways restaruant for a basic breakfast was hot and plenty of food with very good service and pleasant atmosphere. The buffet at the Waterpark area restaruant was decent with a carving table serving ham and a hot pasta bar otherwise it was pretty basic buffet food.

Room Tip: condo like rooms with upper levels and lower level both have great views however some are the still...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We loved our stay at the Summit Hillside at Massanutten Resort. The atmosphere is very nice. The accommodations were considered "gold star" for this resort, and we're quite nice and cozy. We had a partial kitchen, and all other major appliances. It was a really well accommodated room. We had a 8 month old and a nine year old, and the room worked perfectly. Great stay, would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jryanlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#15 of 23 in Harrisonburg
39 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
10.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
22.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit - 3640? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit - 3640

Address: Route 644, McGaheysville, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McGaheysville
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
The Summit - 3640 Hotel Mcgaheysville
Summit Mcgaheysville
Mcgaheysville Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing