We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, near Massanutten/Harrisonburg, cozy, beautiful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Well, I have something in common with some reviewers of this B&B. It was my boyfriend and I's first stay at a B&B and we will probably stick with B&B's from now on when at all possible. The price was reasonable and affordable for our one night stay which was important. We also got to get away from the corporate hotel chains and mediocre complimentary breakfasts for a place where you really feel like you're staying at your family's house. Proximity to the Massanutten Resort was also important and it is only a 5-10 minute drive to the resort entrance. The rooms were very pretty with antiques and homey touches everywhere. It's also located in a pretty area by a farm and nearby some GORGEOUS homes. Our room was very nice/clean with an electric fireplace that will really get you toasty. The bed and linens were soft and smelt very fresh and clean. The bathroom was also spacious and well kept. I only have small comments but they can mostly be attributed to lack of experience with B&B's and more accustomed to hotels. The bathroom didn't have a hair dryer which was unfortunate but not a huge problem. The bed was soft (the way I prefer) but the pillows were also soft. Too soft. The only recommendation I'd make to the innkeepers is to consider mixing some firm pillows in with the soft pillows on the bed. Breakfast was delicious too and filling for a day on the slopes. Harrisonburg is also only about 15 minutes away so this is a great place for parents to stay while visiting their kids at JMU. All in all, it was a great place and we'd love to stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while in town for a class. Ryan and Katie, the innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating. The house is full of history and has fine antiques throughout. Breakfast was wonderful, and our innkeepers happily accomodated our early morning schedule. The inn is less than 5 minutes from the entrance to Massanutten and about 10 minutes from Elkton. I highly recommend it and definitely will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aunt Emma's room. It has its own bathroom and has a window overlooking the farm. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it was fantastic! I will not stay at a hotel in Harrisonburg again! This was the best night sleep I have ever gotten being away from home. The breakfast was incredible! The innkeepers are very hospitable which adds to the whole experience. If you are looking for a great relaxing get away this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

It seems a dream
It was like being in an ancient times
Very friendly and helpful the landlord

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Bee and Carlos are excellent innkeepers of this historic house which is now a B&B. Our room was fantastic; large, furnished with antiques and the bathroom was updated so you have the best of both worlds. But Bee and Carlos were the icing on the cake. Breakfasts were unbelievably good and they are a very interesting couple to talk to. I highly recommend a visit to this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank coolcatzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Only spent one night wish it could have been more . The room was very nice . Comfortable and quiet and very clean . The breakfast was more than you could ask for both in quanity and quality . The hosts are very nice people carlos gave us a tour of his collection of artifacts discovered on the farm which go back to pre civil war . He is very informative and it was quite interesting . all in all i would give the place an A+ I would stay again and recomend to all who want a quiet country experiance ..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shipyard804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

I'm honestly concerned that if I tell people how truly great it was---(peaceful, beautiful, whole place was immaculately clean, delicious food, gracious hosts, beautiful antiques, comfy beds, etc.)---that I'll never get to stay there again.... But, in fairness to my hosts, it was our best Bed and Breakfast stay in the last 11 years. We chose the location because it was between Luray Caverns and Natural Bridge. We hope to stay there again soon and do some more exploring of the area. The breakfast lasted us until late afternoon and then there was a lot to choose from for dinner options in nearby Harrisonburg. One night we ate at the local Italian restaurant about 5 minutes from the B&B and really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank truthfulNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
10.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
8.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#15 of 23 in Harrisonburg
40 reviews
24.5 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9875 Cave Hill Rd, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McGaheysville
Price Range: £95 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 1830 historic manor in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley! Come visit our bed and breakfast and enjoy modern updates while cherishing the unique history and the fine antiques the house has to offer. This farm was always referred to as “Cave Hill Farm” because the cave was such a great place for good, clean water right out of the ground. It never failed in the early days of the farm. Our check in time is from 4 PM to 7 PM. Please contact us for other arrival times. We offer an off site Log Cabin located a mile up the road in downtown McGaheysville. The house includes a dinning room, half kitchen, lots of antiques, full bedroom, full bath, and a half bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing