We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, helpful staff, good food”
Review of Woodberry Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meadows of Dan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, helpful staff, good food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a perfect overnight stop for travelers on the Blue Ridge Parkway. We arrived a bit later than expected, and the restaurant accommodated us cheerfully. The food was delicious. We ate breakfast on the deck, overlooking the pond. The room was simple and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    86
    17
    15
    9
See reviews for
56
154
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Woodbury Inn but certainly will not be our last!!!! I am an event designer who works with a nearby winery that does not offer overnight accommodations. They referred me to the Woodbury because it was the closest Inn to them. I made our reservation weeks in advance and received a reminder/welcome email a few days prior to our stay. I requested a call or email on the day of our booking letting us know what time our room would be ready for a possible early check in. I received that call at 11:30 am!!!! Also, the crab cakes at their restaurant were the BEST I'd ever had...PLUS the bar stayed open late to accommodate us and a few others for hockey finals!!! Hotel is nothing fancy, but clean and appeared recently renovated. The television in the room was a TINY flatscreen, but who wants to stay in and watch tv when the Blue Ridge Mtns. are just outside your door (and the bar is a much more fun place to watch sports)!!! W.Hartung- Hartung Event Design

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Woodberry Inn for one night on May 16, 2014. We brought along his little poodle who was welcomed by the owners/innkeepers. We stayed in the pet friendly room #304 which was decorated with antique tables and an iron bed. The bedding was clean, the room was clean and the bathroom was immaculately clean as well. We were also furnished with more than enough towels. We spent the evening walking around the pond which was surrounded by nostalgic lanterns placed close to the ground. The fish followed us around as if they were waiting for a treat. The entire setting was surrounded by woods and a creek with two small wooden bridges. We found this Inn to be more of a lodge type setting which was very cozy and comfortable. They were having karaoke night while we were there and requested that my boyfriend who is a champion fiddle player bring along his fiddle on our next visit. My personal opinion is that this Inn is perfect for adult couples to have time away together. I would highly recommend this as your stay if you're planning to be around the Blue Ridge Parkway anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed for a few nites and was treated like royalty by the owners and manager. It was VERY early in the season and the restaurant was only open weekends but the room was fine and a eclectic. I was located directly on the serene pond -frogs, ducks, fishing, and the entire place is surrounded by silent woods. Best of all, it's about 1 minute off the Blue Ridge Parkway, a short distance from Mabry Mill. Book early in the summer!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms face the pond - 2 levels - and are great. There are a few in a separate building on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenbob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night for our anniversary. The room was reasonably priced, very clean, quaint and cozy! Exactly what we expected considering the buildings are older and exactly what we needed for a relaxing getaway from the busy everyday. The innkeepers are so sweet and made sure we had an excellent stay! We'll be back again and again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Kristal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 1st Anniversary as a married couple at this wonderful little Inn. It was exactly what we were looking for. Close to the parkway and Meadows of Dan but nice and remote at the same time. Very clean property and rooms. The staff was very friendly. Food at the restaurant was great!! Look forward to going back again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Place to stay close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Friendly owner.

Perfect start of the day with a breakfast in the sun on the patio.

Enjoyed sitting and relaxing on the bench at the lake in this calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleonoreUSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
11.0 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
11.7 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
7.8 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Inn

Property: Woodberry Inn
Address: 182 Woodberry Rd SW, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-3682
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodberry Inn is located just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Meadows of Dan area of Southwestern Virginia. Surrounded by peaceful woods and beautiful mountain landscapes the Woodberry Inn's "Blue Ridge Escape" is indeed a retreat into tranquility. Only a short distance from hiking trails, scenic Parkway overlooks, and such attractions as Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette Winery, your stay at Woodberry Inn is certain to be enjoyable as well as memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing