We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”
Review of Woodberry Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meadows of Dan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The owners were very friendly and accomodating. We had an early departure planned and would miss breakfast. The owner personally brought down a coffee pot and coffee for us while we were eating dinner along with two towels to dry our bikes in the morning.

Beds and pillows were ok. Great proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway!

Ate dinner in the dinning room and had an adult beverage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    87
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
157
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The good: owners are very nice and trying. Great space for dogs: pond, woods, green space. There is wifi. The bad: rooms are rundown, not cleaned adequately and in desperate need of updating. The continental breakfast is Cheerios, packaged breakfast bars, raisen toast & bananas. If you stay in lower level rooms by pond you have lots of steps to climb to get to the breakfast or ice. Rooms have no phones. There are reportedly 2 refrigerators on site so when I requested a frige in each room we could only get one as "we try to keep one on each floor". You can ask for a clock radio, coffee maker & blow dryer. Coffee pot had dried coffee in it - I washed it out. Vent in bathroom plugged with lint. Rooms 106 & 101. For sale sign in front window. Could be a great place if buyer puts money into it. If you don't mind the bad, it's a pretty spot with nice people running it. I do not recommend it at all.

Room Tip: 101 - 106 are lower level walk out to pond. People above you, lots of stairs to office. About five u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bujumbura, Burundi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nicest people work here! They make you feel like a family. The place has character. Very well maintained, clean rooms. Good simple food, good drinks, and Friday night karaoke. No need to describe the beauty of the Blue Ridge Parkway national park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a great place to stay right off the Blue Ridbe Parkway. I ha e stayed here twice in the past couple of months and both times they made me very welcomed. I travel with a young golden retriever and it is challenging to find places that welcome pets. The Woodberry Inn staff is very accommodating to pets and thesetting is fantastic, a large area for walking and even a pond.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Woodbury Inn during our Blue Ridge Parkway trip! Our dog had plenty of room for nice walks around the pond, grandson really enjoyed it also! our room was clean and comfortable except the water pressure in shower was low, still it got the job done! Property is right off the parkway, very nice well maintained area. It's also close to the Mabry Mill which was the highlight of our stop there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The setting is beautiful; just a couple of hundred yards off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our hosts were wonderful and went beyond the call of duty to take care of us and make sure our stay was comfortable. This is the best value for money on the Parkway. Loved also the pond, duck and little dog.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband I recently met friends who had been coming to the Woodberry Inn for years. They were always raving about how wonderful it was and so we decided to join them there for a visit. The first thing we noticed was how quiet it was and the beautiful grounds which include a pond. The room was clean and comfortable and we slept soundly through the night. There are no refrigerators so be sure to pack a cooler and plenty of ice will be supplied by the owners, who are very kind and accommodating. Our black lab also joined us for this trip and we were pleased that the inn allowed pets. Although we were there on the days the restaurant was closed, it looked nice and has an outdoor deck for good weather. We would definitely recommend the inn for a place to stay and will be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you are handicapped and they can put you in a room with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
11.0 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
49 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
428 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
724 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
494 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain Song Inn
Mountain Song Inn
#1 of 2 in Willis
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Inn

Property: Woodberry Inn
Address: 182 Woodberry Rd SW, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-3682
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodberry Inn is located just off of the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Meadows of Dan area of Southwestern Virginia. Surrounded by peaceful woods and beautiful mountain landscapes the Woodberry Inn's "Blue Ridge Escape" is indeed a retreat into tranquility. Only a short distance from hiking trails, scenic Parkway overlooks, and such attractions as Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette Winery, your stay at Woodberry Inn is certain to be enjoyable as well as memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing