We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, even better than high expectations”
Review of Primland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I traveled to Primland so that I could try turkey hunting for the first time but at a resort that offered her some pampering. We have had a wonderful 4 days. I shot my first turkey with the help of Marcus my professional and excellent guide. Had is a knowledgeable and patient man. My wife liked the spa so much she went back a second day. Our room is large and beautiful, and the views in this rugged terrain are stunning. The food is excellent, and our dinner in Elements was one to remember. We will be back to stay with the friendly and excellent staff again, perhaps for pheasant hunting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a wonderful time at this beautiful resort! Top-notch staff and impeccable facility! Activities are amazing! Be sure to ask for Sammy if your going to do the ATV tour or clay shooting. He was the BEST! Can't say enough about the place and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are extra large and have large windows. Fairway cottages are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennM0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in a mountain home at the Primland and we were not disappointed. The resort is beautiful and our log cabin home was stunning and comfortable with every amenity you could want. The staff at the Primland were welcoming and made our stay an experience we will not forget. We cant wait to go back for another family weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The wife and I took a night away from the kid's to visit Primland and cannot wait until we go again. The golf was awesome, Spa was cool, Food was good, and the ambience was Relaxing. The night time star walk activity was mesmerizing!! Beautiful country and scenery abounded.

Room Tip: Pony up for a Tree House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I organized a weekend golf/spa trip for four couples, and Primland did not disappoint.

We stayed in the Fairway Cottages, which I would highly recommend for this sort of trip. Each copule had half of what is essentially a duplex. We used the gas grill to cook dinner on Friday evening. Having the putting green adjacent to the grill made for a nice diversion while cooking dinner.

The Fairway Cottages are wonderful. They are quite luxurious and the "large" sides are very, very large. The "small" sides are plenty large on their own, and the view back toward the lodge over the golf course is perfect.

Give the ATV ride a shot - it's a fun way to see the property, though you will get a bit dirty. Golf course in good shape, but it's a tough track if you're not hitting fairways. Women all enjoyed the spa.

Dinner Saturday at Elements was excellent. Not inexpensive, but a quality experience with nice variety on the menu.

Have now been to Primland twice, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Fairway Cottages are excellent for a few couples; Woodpecker has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Solid Golf experience. Good food and wine selection. Enjoyed the house we stayed with ping pong table and putting green. Made for easy night entertainment with my clients. Very beautiful property and well manicured.

Room Tip: Fairway houses are the way to go. Beautiful views of the enormous property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow! What a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The room and the views were amazing! We even saw a rainbow when we got there. We went horseback riding, fishing in the pond, and atv riding. We had the best time! The horseback riding was my favorite activity. The horses were so sweet and gentle. The guide that took us to the fishing pond couldn't have been nicer. He got us a cooler of soft drinks and water. He even dug up some worms. We caught about forty fish. The pond was well stocked with trout, bass, catfish, and perch. The atv ride was so fun. Our guide was so nice. We stopped at three places to just take in the beautiful views. The food at the restaurants were delicious. We really liked the casual dining. The waitress, who served us breakfast at The Elements, was so sweet. The waitress at Stable Saloon even remembered our name the next day. This was the best trip we have ever taken!

Room Tip: We really liked staying at the Lodge. We reserved a suite with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadows of Dan
18.9 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
9.8 mi away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
24 reviews
13.5 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primland

Address: 2000 Busted Rock Rd, Meadows of Dan, VA 24120-4467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Meadows of Dan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meadows of Dan
Price Range: £206 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Primland 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape There are many people at Primland with an abiding respect for the land, who know the sounds and smells of the forest so intimately, they will open your eyes to the simple pleasure of a mountain getaway at this refined East Coast vacation resort. They will show you the subtleties of nature and reacquaint you with the restorative powers of silence. Your server will remember just how you take your drink, your children's names and that you like a freshly baked cookie after lunch. You will sense the love your wilderness guide has for the mountain and all its creatures, and the depth of his expertise. You will always find a kind word, authentic humor and an open heart. It was the vision of Primland's founder, Didier Primat, to create a place of immense beauty that offers his guests a return to simple human pleasures in an environment of refined authenticity and sensuality. He developed Primland in an eco-conscious and thoughtful manner, as the ultimate retreat for world-class golf, refined dining and outdoor activities. Our love of the land is expressed in our extensive efforts to minimize our impact on nature, the freshness of our food, the many organic, sustainable ingredients we source locally or grow in our organic garden and the care with which we look after our guests. Didier Primat instilled his passion for Primland in every member of his family and staff , and they carry forward his legacy with soul, with heart and with a commitment to genuine hospitality. Art is an important part of the Primland experience. We consider hospitality to be an art that involves sharing emotion and pleasure through attention to even the most subtle detail. We also feel that surrounding you with inspired pieces of art enhances your experience. Throughout The Lodge, you will find hand-selected works by American artists as well as authentic and rare Aboriginal paintings from the most remote Australian territories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primland Hotel Meadows Of Dan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing