We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seatoller House
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
134
17
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslake districtdrying roomhome from homegroup of friendsfood is excellentdining roomevening mealthe managersout of this worldhonister passvery special placeprivate bathroomtea barwarm welcomerooms are comfortableroaring fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I absolutely love staying at Seatoller House, this month was my 4th stay in 5 years and I'll keep coming back for more. My company run sponsored trips there, and I have also been outside of those organised trips. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, the food is out of this world, and the place itself is beautiful and steeped in history. It is also outstanding value for money. It truly feels like coming back to a home away from home. From the 4 course dinners (cheese board!) to the home-made lunches and the sumptuous cakes to the well-stocked honesty bar, you'll have plenty of fuel for the long walks, or boating on Derwent or...

Seatoller is also excellently placed for exploring the Lakes, a great base from which to discover Derwent, Buttermere, Grassmere; Angle Tarn and Sprinkling Tarn; and a host of climbs and walks across the hills, Dale Head and Cat Bells to name but two. Honister Slate mine is a short trip down the road. A fabulous place to share great company, great food and great scenery. It is no wonder at all that familiar faces keep returning year on year, adding to the homely, welcoming feel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachGabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place is utterly charming. The beautiful cottage front belies a warren of rooms behind it. There is the cutest lounge and library overlooking the garden, where petit fours are served after dinner. I was a little nervous at the thought of a communal dinner. But when the gong sounded and we trouped in, we ended up having fantastic conversations with our fellow guests. We'd had quite a challenging day on the Coast to Coast walk, and the older clientele in particular were very supportive of our endeavours. The honesty bar was a great touch, like mucking in at a big family house party.

Without any TVs, there really was a feel of being out of time in this gorgeous spot. Our room - Hedgehog - was downstairs and very comfy and cottagey. The separate bathroom was obviously vintage 80s, but it had a bath in which to soothe aching limbs, so the décor didn't bother me! As I checked out, the couple in front of me were booking in for the same time next year. They also told me Osprey upstairs had a great view...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I thought we had booked just an ordinary B and B near to Sca Fell Pike, but what an amazing find. Honesty bar, huge wedges of cake, excellent substantial meals, a boot room and a big bath for aching legs. Once you realise that you need to join in to make the most of your stay, everything falls into place. Will book again and will bring friends

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had stayed at Seatoller House under previous management and were naturally a little apprehensive about any changes which the new incumbents might have introduced (this is I think their fourth year). We need not have worried. Nigel & Trish are quite simply first rate. Nigel is so helpful, a natural organiser and cannot do enough for you; whilst Trish deserves a Michelin star in the kitchen. We took over the House for 5 nights in late June (we wanted to stay a whole week but needless to say the House was already booked for the last two nights, even though we had booked nine months before) in a group which was more than half American and they absolutely fell in love with it - they could not believe they were staying in one of the oldest houses ever built in Borrowdale, around 1620. Ok it is not the most luxurious hotel we've ever stayed in but it is very comfortable and it is full of character, And the location is of course absolutely brilliant for a few days hill walking. Nigel & Trish also welcome dogs, which in our view is always a good indication of really nice people, and they even arranged a dog-sitter for us one evening when we went to the theatre in Keswick! And I have to mention Trish's Sticky Toffee Pudding (or STP as one of our American friends christened it!). It is to die for! We tried out similar puddings in a number of other restaurants in the Lakes and none came anywhere close to Trish's. The Perfect Pudding!! When our American friend ordered a Full English breakfast the following day, Nigel very kindly brought him a bowl of STP on the side!! If anyone has the opportunity to go to Seatoller House, we could not recommend it highly enough - the only question will be whether it is already fully booked, so an early phone call to Nigel is essential.

Room Tip: Whilst all rooms have their own bathroom facilities, some rooms have these within the bedroom, whilst others have a dedicated bathroom across a corridor. If this matters to you, check it out first.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycee-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a bit of a mixed review from me purely because this place wasn't totally in my comfort zone, however it really is a fab place - there are no real negatives at all, just the set up is more geared up to people holidaying rather than Coast to Coast backpacking. They did however accommodate us on a stage of the walk where no one else could...
Stayed here on night 2 of our C2C trip..
Really warm welcome from Nigel, showed us to our room (lovely, very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, cosy and welcoming) told us dinner was at 7 and then left us to our own devices. We were told that the dog had to stay in our room whilst we had dinner, we weren't entirely comfortable with this, purely because he is a rescue boy and if we take him to a strange place and leave him he tends to whine. A lot! We would usually take his bed so he has something familiar but when your carrying everything you can't take it all! So, we left him in the room (he did cry and bark which we panicked about first but soon realised no one else would hear him) the dinner gong was rung and there we were, sat in a lovely huge dining room with other guests eating, drinking and being merry - now this part was lovely - we got to meet some great people, heard lovely stories, told lovely stories, drank nice wine (the honesty bar is a genius idea and a lovely touch) and ate amazing scrumptious home cooked food. The desert was a lovely sticky toffee pudding which to my complete embarrassment was put in front of me and I was to serve the other people around our table (again, a great thing if you like that kind of thing but it wasn't in my comfort zone) After we had finished everyone retired to the lounge for whisky/coffee etc but we went back to our room (dog was still whining and we were sure people would be able to hear him once they had left the dining room)
Breakfast was to be served the next day in the same way as dinner but as we had an 18 mile day ahead of us we asked if we could have bacon butties to take with us and a cuppa before we left. This was done, no problem at all and Nigel even waved us off at the door.
As I said, this really is a great little place to stay (the history of the house is incredible) but you have to be comfortable sitting and eating with strangers and joining in with the whole tradition and ethos of Seatoller House

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews