We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well if you stay at the Holiday Inn Expresses this is the same as the rest as far as appearance and breakfast and all. Pool was closed for the season. New Tvs in rooms. 2 elevators, 5 stories. non smoking is on floors 3,4,5 but I thought smoke rises?? You can smell smoke though as it seems that in this area many people smoke. The room itself did not smell smokie so much though. Nearby is a plethora of shooping malls. I suppose you could walk to them if you are the walking type thought the traffic might be a little dicey, especially the ones directly across Mechanicsville Turnpike. Waffle house and IHOP are easily walkable.. Hampton Inn is right next door and I think $20 more but it appeared they had an indoor pool.

Room Tip: If you have to be somewhere on time allow at least 10 more min. than expected. Getting out onto Mec...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whalehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank You for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stay at this hotel at least every 3 months when we come to visit family, and have never had a really bad experience. It is conveniently located off of 295 and has lots of eating and shopping nearby for your stopover.

We stayed here most recently on 8/10/13. Unfortunately there were really bad storms in the Mid-Atlantic that day and the hotel was very dark when we arrived outside. When we went in to check in to our pre-paid room, a receptionist apologized and told us that they only have partial power. The lights in most rooms were working but not the TVs, elevators, internet, or the Air conditioning! The older woman who is always there at the desk when we visit, had her head buried in the computer, barely acknowledging us, and told the other gal to give us a flashlight in case we needed it in our room. Wow..no AC in Virginia in August and after we had just driven 12 1/2 hours straight from Florida. I was NOT pleased, but have never had a problem with this hotel so we checked in and went to our hot first floor room.

The lights and TV worked but the AC never turned on while we were there!! They must have cleaned that room in the dark that day because the floors were dirty and clearly not vacuumed. All the mirrors in the room and bathroom were dirty, splattered, and smudged. The bathroom floors were dirty and needed to be introduced to some bleach! The table in the room had sticky dirt on it as well.

When we checked out the next morning, no one was even at the desk...at 10 am. So I threw my keys on the counter and left very disappointed!!!!!

The least they could have done was give a partial refund or discount since we decided to stick it out and stay in their hot box. If I had to do it again, I would have left immediately and not stayed. Sad...usually this is a great hotel with clean comfy rooms!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raewalkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is the second year we stayed in this area to attend an event. This was our first stay at this hotel.

We arrived on motorcycles on a very hot, humid day. Needless to say we couldn't wait to check in and take a cool shower prior to going to dinner. Our room was located on the 3rd floor near the elevator but we heard no elevator noise.

The room was clean including the bathroom. The room had a slight stale cigarette aroma and we were in a non-smoking room and floor so either someone had smoked in the room earlier or the ventilation system had an issue.

Our traveling companion also noted that his room smelled of cigarette smoke and he was staying on the 2nd floor in a non-smoking room.

I alerted the front desk that the hair dryer in the bathroom didn't work. Either the outlet wasn't functioning or it was a faulty dryer. The front desk person was very responsive and asked if I needed a hair dryer which was greatly appreciated.

I wasn't impressed with their breakfast. Items lean heavily to the simple carbs - pastries, cinnamon rolls, pancakes, cold cereal, bagels, toast etc. The hot buffet consisted of biscuits, gravy, egg disk (which is probably a frozen powdered egg product) and sausage. The yogurt was a very small size with lots of sugar. The raisin bran cereal that I chose to eat was not crisp and crunchy - a bit stale. They did have boiled eggs in the refrigerator which I ate.

The only fresh fruit I saw was very ripe bananas.

I prefer whole, unprocessed foods in my diet so this breakfast did not meet that criteria. There is an IHOP practically next door and a Cracker Barrel across the street so there are other breakfast choices near by. We were in a hurry so we ate what was there and left.

Last year we stayed at the Hampton Inn next door and between the 2 properties, we prefer the Hampton Inn overall.

This property's location sits behind and across the street from a small shopping center. The property is lovely despite being near gas stations, restaurants, office supply stores etc. The hotel is surrounded by trees so you don't feel as if you're next to an interstate or commercial property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrails6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
It was great that you did not hear any noise from the elevator as we do get a number of requests to be away from them for that reason. Everyone, including the hotel staff, uses guest feedback to improve our product and service. Your interaction with our staff member in regards to your hair dryer was what we strive to provide to our guest.
I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the smell of smoke on a nonsmoking floor. We have our maintenance and housekeeping staff looking in to this issue. We thank you for telling us about this so we can be aware of issues like this and correct them.
Our standard for Breakfast changes often to try and meet the needs of our guest. Not unlike you a lot of our guest are eating healthier and trying to consume less carbohydrates and processed foods. We take all suggestions and try to implement them into our breakfast service, as we will yours.
Again, thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us your feedback. We do hope you will stay with us again next year for your event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Well stocked large breakfast area and clean rooms. Air conditioner/ heater / refrigerator was quiet. King bed was comfortable but I should have gotten an extra soft pillow. Staff was helpful. Rooms at a good price, I will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe1954ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and wonderful comments. Our staff will be happy to know that your stay was comfortable and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

While looking for a place last minute I found this hotel through a coupon book. I was pleased with the decision. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly. With back to back good experiences with Holiday Inns the chain is quickly becoming a favorite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to create a welcome atmosphere and a clean hotel. We value your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a funeral service for a close member of the family. All of our group was from out of town. We arrived early. Some of our party had come in from Texas and had been up since 2am. The front desk attendant would not find us one or two rooms to check into, even a little bit early. There were only 7 vehicles in the parking lot, but all the rooms were being cleaned. Magically however ALL the room were clean and available at 3pm, the normal check in time.

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn across the parking lot, or find a Hilton.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent the last five nights here. It was a good stay for the price. I slept well and that is always a good thing. We did have some concerns--they advertised a frig and microwave in each room and there was one there, however the frig never worked properly. It was warm at night and cold in the morning. My friend is on a special diet and counted on its availability. We reported it to the front desk half way through our stay, but it was never taken care of. I commented on it again the night before we left and front desk person was very apologetic. The room was clean, but as other reviewers have commented, it didn't sparkle and we wished we had had a regular blanket available--we only had the comforter and a small throw.The hot breakfast was good with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am so sorry that you had a problem with your fridge and it was not taken care of. I have spoken with front desk and maintenance about the importance of communicating guest issues so we can correct them quickly. I did see that we issued you one night credit for your inconvience, i do hope that helped in making you feel compensated. After reading your review I am working with housekeeping to see how we can make our rooms sparkle for all of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond Mechanicsville
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville

Address: 7441 Bell Creek Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23111-3542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Mechanicsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express-Richmond, Mechanicsville, Virginia. We are centrally located off I-295 at exit 37A & Rt. 360E, just minutes away from the following businesses: Qubica AMF, Super Value, Carter Machinery, FedEx, Owens & Minor, Wal-Mart, Target, BJ'S, Hanover County Schools, Tysons Foods, Bon Secours Memorial Regional Hospital, Media General, Cox Transportation, County of Hanover the Show Place and many more. With the best corporate rates in the area, we have all you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Complimentary hot breakfast, wireless and wired high-speed Internet, in-room Keurig Machines, microwaves, and mini-fridges are just a few amenities offered. Attractions: King's Dominion, Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium, Maymont Park, Richmond National Battlefield Park, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Science Museum of VA, Childrens' Museum of Richmond, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia Holocaust Museum, Richmond International Raceway - RIR - NASCAR, and Busch Gardens/Water Country. If shopping is your niche then you might enjoy visiting Virginia Center Commons Mall located only 10 miles north offering excellent choices to suit everyone's needs. Whether driving the beautiful Virginia highways or arriving by air at the Richmond International Airport, the best place to be is Holiday Inn Express Richmond-Mechanicsville Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville Hotel Mechanicsville
Holiday Inn Mechanicsville
Mechanicsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mechanicsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing