We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived late here, while travelling from Washington DC to the Outer Banks. A clean, no frills room with everything needed for a good night's sleep. Despite the place evidently being busy, there were enough tables etc for breakfast not to feel packed. Breakfast was your typical American cuisine - bagels, waffles and coffee/juice. More than ample for us to then get on our way east. Check-in and check-out both efficient too.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel. We strive to provide a convenient, clean & comfortable guest room with complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your return visit and hope this review will help others when looking for accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a great place to stay. The girl on the phone (Krystal) was great when i was reserving my room. Too bad she wasn't there when i stayed, i would have shook her hand thanked her for the great attitude.
Here is why it's great:
Clean rooms
Big nice elevator
good AC unit
Best location!
There are tons of restaurants around this place. Ruby Tuesday, Outback, IHOP, Arby's, McDonalds, etc.
Best part, a 24-hour Walmart within walking distance!
I am pretty picky on hotels, and am always looking for something to write a review about, be it bad or good. This place gets 5 stars and i would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Mechanicsville. We strive to provide excellent service so your stay is pleasant.. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in Mechanicsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Drove down to Virginia to see family, stayed at HIE. Perfect stay, the mini fridge & microwave was an unexpected and welcome surprise, the breakfast was exceptional, I have to get one of those pancake machines, You'll know it when you see it. Again perfect stay.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that your stay was perfect. We strive to provide excellent customer service and cleanliness. We look forward to your return visit with us. And yes, if we could all have that pancake machine at home!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently had to switch hotels because I had no dog sitter, found the holiday inn took dogs, they were extremely nice, one of the housekeepers went out of her way to help me, the rooms were decent, i liked the shower how it was one piece no moldy tiles!! pool area was clean and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy that your stay was great and we could accommodate your and your pet. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Was able to get an early check end which was much needed due to need to dress for a wedding. This place was close to the reception and was picked out with that in mind. Wedding was a little further out.Very, very tired that morning, care staff was louder than usual and even though the DNDisturb sign on the door,and it was at least three hours before checkout, someone kept knocking on the door to ask about checkout.After checkout, staff apparently was unaware and made a snide remark about the early check-in. Downsized the ratings significantly

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. I have spoken with housekeeping and front desk about this situation and hope that we can get it right next time. Please come and stay with us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived after arranging an early check-in, which was easily accommodated. Pulling into the parking lot we were a little confused by two separate buildings, one of which was not clearly marked. The second one turned out to be a different hotel, the Hampton. Check-in was smooth. The room was neat and tidy. We had upgraded to a suite. A few comments that are noteworthy. The bathroom could use drawers to store toiletries and personal hair care items. We ended up using the bottom of the nightstand for those things. Most annoying was the bathroom exhaust fan that was on as long as the bathroom light was on. It was a little noisy. A better fit would be that it was on a separate switch. I need wi-fi, and the service here was good. The only thing was that there are two separate directions in order to connect; two different signals, one of which disappeared completely after the first day. The walls could use more hangings: see the images for detail. It looked a little barren and looked like a lower scale motel room. The bed was comfortable and we love the idea of pillowcases marked, "soft" and "firm". The drawer on one of the night stands could not be used because it was too close to the air conditioning unit and could not be opened. The view was one that overlooked the pool and faced lots of trees. Breakfast was adequate and filling, but the wait for hot food refreshing on the hotline was a little too long. The stay was quiet and peaceful. We would return again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ricktm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We value your feedback and are happy that you took the time to write a review for us. Our management team has reviewed your comments and will use them to further improve the guest experience. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Express is located off of the interstate and is convenient to the Richmond sites. I did not have a reservation prior to arriving, but I was able to get an affordable room nevertheless. Make sure to ask what the price is beforehand, as the receptionist failed to mention it before I handed her my card and having to be asked. I had a room with a king bed. The room also had a sitting chair in the corner as well as a work desk along the wall. The décor of the room was simple but elegant. The color scheme had a welcoming and warm feel to it. There was only one painting above the bed, but that wasn't noticeable with the layout of the room.

They had different types of pillows which I noticed the next morning were labeled soft and firm on the pillowcases. I had never seen this before, but sure made it easier to figure out what pillow you preferred. The bed was also comfortable and made for an enjoyable night's sleep. The refrigerator and microwave were located in the corner of the room. The refrigerator was quieter than most that I've encountered in hotels which was nice.

The bathroom had a rather large countertop with the sink on one end and open space next to it. The bathtub had a decorative design and showerhead. While the showerhead looked nice, it's placement was low even for me. I'm short and still had to duck down in order to be able to get underneath the showerhead.

Breakfast in the morning included eggs and sausage which were good. There was a selection of fruit, bagels and other cold options as well. You should be able to get your fill, and the coffee was good to boot as well. There are also an IHOP and Waffle House close by (IHOP next door) so you can get a meal anytime of the day

If you are in need of a hotel in the Richmond area, the Holiday Inn Express is a good choice. The staff was friendly and the room was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we did. We hope you will stop and see us again when you come to Mechanicsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville

Address: 7441 Bell Creek Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23111-3542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Mechanicsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Price Range: £94 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express-Richmond, Mechanicsville, Virginia. We are centrally located off I-295 at exit 37A & Rt. 360E, just minutes away from the following businesses: Qubica AMF, Super Value, Carter Machinery, FedEx, Owens & Minor, Wal-Mart, Target, BJ'S, Hanover County Schools, Tysons Foods, Bon Secours Memorial Regional Hospital, Media General, Cox Transportation, County of Hanover the Show Place and many more. With the best corporate rates in the area, we have all you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Complimentary hot breakfast, wireless and wired high-speed Internet, in-room Keurig Machines, microwaves, and mini-fridges are just a few amenities offered. Attractions: King's Dominion, Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium, Maymont Park, Richmond National Battlefield Park, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Science Museum of VA, Childrens' Museum of Richmond, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia Holocaust Museum, Richmond International Raceway - RIR - NASCAR, and Busch Gardens/Water Country. If shopping is your niche then you might enjoy visiting Virginia Center Commons Mall located only 10 miles north offering excellent choices to suit everyone's needs. Whether driving the beautiful Virginia highways or arriving by air at the Richmond International Airport, the best place to be is Holiday Inn Express Richmond-Mechanicsville Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville Hotel Mechanicsville
Holiday Inn Mechanicsville
Mechanicsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mechanicsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing