We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I just spent a few days mid-week there with another couple while our collective six children were at camp. Upon recommendation, we stayed in the Dutch Cottage, which provides two bedrooms and a shared kitchen and living room. From the moment we stepped onto the property until our departure, I was captured by the service, amenities, beauty and tranquility of Goodstone Inn & Estate. Upon entrance, we were greeted with choice of champagne, freshed squeezed lemonade or iced tea. Our rooms were charming and the Dutch Cottage provided us both privacy and shared time. I was a little nervous about the spa, which is a converted horse stable, but it was rustic, clean, quiet and just as fabulous as the rest of the Estate. Breakfast each day was absolutely delectable and not to be missed. We visited two wineries down the road, and Linden Winery is the one not to be missed. Nearby Middleburg has great shopping and restaurants. Golf is a short drive away. I wouldn't recommend this for children or teens because Goodstone Inn & Estate is truly a place of relaxation, an oasis if you are looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forthe2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

From the moment we entered the property, we knew it was special. The entire staff was impecable, courteous and prompt. We stayed in the Harvest Room in the French Country Cottage. A darling accomodation near the barn and spa with 3 guest rooms, two sitting areas with fireplaces, a well appointed eat in kitchen, a side covered porch with two inviting rocking chairs and a front patio with grill and umbrella'd table. In our room waiting for us was a chilled bottle of wine and a package of the chef's homade nut brittle that just melted in your mouth. Our room was well appointed with robes, plenty of thick bath towels and toiletries. The breakfast's were scumptious and our dinner was truly amazing. The pool area is one of the most attractive and relaxing spots to spend an afternoon. I would suggest to bring some hiking/athletic shoes to take advantage of the many trails and bikes that are available on property. My only complaint is that we only stayed for two nights, I could have easily spent the entire week there in total pampered comfort. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: You can view all of their rooms online to see what best suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The drive in was beautiful, the grounds were gorgeous, the decor was kitschy (but not overly so) the food was amazing, and our overall experience was more than we expected.

We checked in on a Tuesday and we were warmly welcomed by the staff, shown to our room, where a bottle of wine was chilled and waiting for us. We relaxed with our wine and explored the French Farm Cottage (where our room was located) with 2 spacious sitting rooms, a kitchen area with a stocked fridge, a patio complete with a grill, a porch with rocking chairs, and a hammock nestled in among the flowers. Umbrellas, walking sticks, and lanterns were stationed by the door, and flashlights were stationed in our room in case we decided to walk at night to the pool or hot tub.

Breakfast was complimentary, and absolutely fresh and delicious. Dinner was also delicious, but a bit more formal. Tea time offered cherry scones with Devon cream, raspberry jam, and honey, smoked salmon, fresh squeezed lemonade, iced tea and hot tea or coffee.

We hit a bit of a snag in our packing--we didn't anticipate the number of times we would be changing clothes, and found ourselves running out of clean clothes. While laundry service is not something they usually offer, we inquired and were accommodated at no charge, but were encouraged to leave a gratuity for the housekeeping staff, which we were happy to do.

When we asked what the hours were for the pool, the answer was "Whatever you want them to be" The locker rooms were always open and stocked with chilled water, sunscreen, bug spray, and other toiletries.

Overall, our stay was relaxing and romantic. We would definitely love to go back!

p.s. I tried to add photos, but they're too big. Once I get them resized, I'll post them.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is the busiest, as the office and restaurant are in that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christyn_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A night at the Inn was given to me as a 60th brithday gift. The accomondations were lovely. The resturant was fabulous! Our dinner was amazing! It was hot and humid when we were there and due to my allergies, we were unable to open our windows, so therefore, it was a bit warm in the room for sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanda060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing the nice review. The windows were a quick fix so that problem, for which we apolozie for the discomfort it caused you, is now resolved. Yours truly, James Blunt, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We visited the Goodstone Inn for one evening for a special occasion. We live in Northern Virginia and were looking for a charming getaway close to home.

Our day was full of nice little surprises. We began our trip with a stop at the Tudor Day Spa in Middleburg, VA. My companion had what she referred to as the "best massage of her life" with Kayla. I chose a reflexology session with Karen and enjoyed that. We then went to Julien's for a light lunch. julien's has a casual atmosphere with freshly prepared ingredients and a nice wine list.

We arrived at Goodstone at check in time and were directed to our suite. The decor, privacy and spaciousness of the suite were perfect. The Inn has various levels and sizes of accommodations (from private cottages/homes to, quaint and elegant hotel like rooms). We stayed in one of the smaller suites in the Carriage House. The Stallion Suite has a bedroom that is completely separated by a parlor room with a sofa and television. This was perfect for my companion and I. She could watch TV in the parlor while I relaxed in the bedroom.

The grounds of the property are naturally beautiful (i.e. not a lot of manicured shrubs and landscaping). There are hiking and riding trails, canoeing and many other activities available to the guests of the Inn.

We ate dinner at the restaurant on the property and enjoyed the food but did feel that the restaurant service was a bit rushed. We felt that the value for the meals served was adequate but didn't agree with some of the other reviewers that it was the best meal we had ever eaten. It met our expectations but we wouldn't drive back to the Inn just for the restaurant as others had suggested.

The staff seemed very accommodating and friendly. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would return again. The property is listed among the Leading Small Hotels of the World guide and deserves the rating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Sincere thanks for the favorable review of your Goodstone Inn & Estate experience this past July. Among the many estate amenities that our guests love most about the inn is the Goodstone Spa, comfortable housed in converted stable stalls in the old Goodstone Dairy Farm's barn complex. We offer a menu of different massage therapies and also His and Her facials. Guests may make spa appointments (and dining reservations) when they call to book their room or suite. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. Cordially, James Blunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We just returned from 24 hours in heaven - or at least a quick trip to France. The Goodstone Estate is lovely in appearance and hospitality. We were greeted with champagne while staff arranged our accommodations. We were escorted to our room in the beautiful French Cottage. We had a some lovely walks on the estate, a relaxing time by the stunning pool and a sublime night's sleep. We had dinner and breakfast which were perfect : food and service.
I have nothing but rave reviews for the Goodstone Inn and Estate. It is an easy commute from DC & Northern VA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divafiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We went to the Goodstone Inn & Estate this weekend based upon a recommendation from a co-worker. The setting is gorgeous, the entire feel is tranquil, Mr. Blunt and the rest of the staff are incredibly friendly and responsive, and the food was fantastic. We've stayed several places around Middleburg in recent years, but we'll plan on coming back here whenever the opportunity permits from here on out!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remylacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.4 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#2 of 6 in Warrenton
175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,438 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
13 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
165 reviews
17.9 mi away
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
#1 of 3 in Lovettsville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: £229 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing