We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
241
37
18
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
37
18
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housespring housefrench cottagerolling hillshayloft roomchateaubriandbeautiful poolfarm managerspecial occasionbeautiful farmworking farmamazing weekendhunt countryperfect getawayfull kitchenliving roomtwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary and wanted a venue that was unique and new to us. The Goodstone Inn was a treasure of a find! Beautiful 1700 property, outstanding staff, beautiful restaurant and delicious cuisine. We were extremely pleased and can't wait to go back and spend time in the inn. A must experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Carol V,

Thank you for spending your 2nd anniversary at the Goodstone. Hopefully you can make it an annual event for you and your husband. The staff and I always enjoy hearing positive comments and we appreciate yours.

Our beautiful pool is now open for the summer/fall. Hopefully you might be able to sneak back for some R&R and discover some new things about the Goodstone.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We utilized this magnificent property for a private, corporate event. We had guests in attendance that were from all over the country and even a few international. As they drove down the long, winding entrance into the property, the sun streamed through the trees and glowed like a Thomas Kinkade painting. There was still dew on the grass and the leaves as we arrived that morning so the entire courtyard was gleaming. The first word that comes to my mind to describe this property is "enchanting." The property is so charming that you feel like you are in a fairy tale. As we approached the front door they were opened by the property managers, Craig and Linda. They greeted each and every one of our guests warmly and welcomed them into their "home." The guests were truly mesmerized. They had no idea that they could find such a wonderful gem less than an hour away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The guests had a delicious lunch prepared by Chef Ben. He is very well versed in Farm to Table preparation. He utilized the freshest ingredients such as vegetables, herbs and eggs taken directly from the farm and the menus were seasonally inspired. The food presentations were artistic and the food quality superb. His attention to detail did not go unnoticed by our guests. The guests that stayed overnight were treated to some of the most lovely, elegant accommodations that maintained the integrity of the original estate. Each room had such character and many included fireplaces and patios. So many different features varied in each cottage - sleigh bed, French country décor, claw footed tub, exposed beams or covered porches overlooking the rolling country side. It is such a serene, idyllic location that provides inspiration and a renewed spirit. Of course none of this would possible without exceptional staff. It was very clear to us that each and every person that was working at the property during the week of our event sincerely cared about our program and our guests. They made each guest feel genuinely welcomed and I have a feeling that they will be welcoming many of them back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorpPlanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Greetings CorpPlanner

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to comment on your groups past function at the Goodstone. With our limited number of guest rooms and spacious location we can focus all of our efforts to insure that every event and stay is special for those involved.

The staff always enjoys hearing nice comments from our guests. Your description of the setting was perfect, you painted the perfect picture.

We hope you will return to the Goodstone soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the French cabin for our 5th wedding anniversary. There was champagne and a cheese plate waiting for us, which we enjoyed in front of a cozy fire. Then we had an amazing dinner at the restaurant. Steven the manager of the restaurant, not only did he remember us from a previous lunch, but he found us a bottle of wine that was no longer on the wine list. After a wonderful night in the country without our 2 kids, we enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing breakfast the next morning. I have been a chef for 18+ years, and I would highly recommend Goodstone for any occasion, and personally can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for spending your anniversary at the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the French Farm. It is nice to escape your daily routine with children and work to spend some alone time on your special day. Dinner at the Goodstone is a wonderful experience for both flavor and ambience.
We appreciate your terrific review and hope that we will become your anniversary tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are staying at the new Salamander resort and decided to try the Goodstone Inn based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Bottom Line- the food here is twice as good as Harriman's at the Salamander. Everything about the meal was spectacular: great service, interesting and flavorful cuisine, romantic ambience. A fantastic night out.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tfaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Tfaml
Wow thank you for writing about your experience at the Goodstone, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner. Our menu is one that will satisfy any palate, our staff always strives to exceed guests expectations. It is nice that you tried the Goodstone and it sounds like you will be back. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Having attended a marvelous birthday luncheon for a friend, I wanted to share the natural beauty of this place with my husband. We stayed in the Manor House that offers a comfortable elegance only surpassed by the sweeping vista of the rolling hills with the horses and cattle. Dinner was superb. My husband's steak was the most tender I have tasted, and my scallops were equally excellent. The people at the Inn are gracious and exceptionally hospitable. Even in the middle of a Virginia November when trees are leafless, there is a magnetic charm there will draw us back in the future.

Room Tip: The Stuart Suite is a spacious, first floor room with a private deck. Nearby is a sitting area with a fireplace all stacked and ready to be lit. It served as a lovely before dinner place to relax and enjoy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tansill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Tansill J

The best compliment we can get is a review as nice as yours!! I will share your exceptional comments with the staff. I am pleased you enjoyed staying at the beautiful Manor House, you are right , the rolling hills back drop with roaming cattle and horses make it a serene haven. The Goodstone staff strives to give the best customer service and enjoys meeting and spending time with our guest, thank you for noticing. Hope to see you back soon and thank you again for taking your time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews