We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A luxurious country retreat”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Carlisle suite, and ended up being the only ones renting a suite in that building during our stay. The room was very well appointed and comfortable, but it was quite lovely to have the whole house to ourselves. There is a gas fireplace, sofa & chairs as well as a tv and selection of DVDs. I loved reading in front of the fireplace. Also lovely were the selection of fresh baked cookies delivered every afternoon by the cleaning staff. They also had a keurig, cups & plates in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmw218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to do such a detailed review after your stay in December of 2013! We appreciate your comments! Summer is winding down, fall is approaching, and December is not too far away! Looks like its time for you to book again! Can't wait to have you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    36
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
203
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as the last stop of a lovely tour through VA wine country and historical sites. I really wanted to make sure we ended our 8 day journey on a high note. Unfortunately, we didn't come away with that experience. Don't get me wrong, Goodstone is a lovely property in a very nice, albeit remote setting. The rooms are nicely appointed but with no balconies or decks it's difficult to truly enjoy the amazing setting without feeling cooped up. We didn't feel warmly welcomed and there was no offer to assist with bags. When I shared with the concierge that we had an early plane to catch and asked if we could get a breakfast to go, she sounded like she had never encountered such a request. I asked her if she could speak with the chef or her manager or credit the breakfast that we were not going to be able to enjoy. She agreed to, but we never heard from her and there was nobody on property when we left at 7 the next morning. I've stayed at a lot of 5-star hotels in my day and, unfortunately, the service didn't appear to be more than a 3 star quality at Goodstone. Even the Hampton Inn offers breakfast to go if that's what you need!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Wendy C,

I was disappointed to read your review regarding your experience at The Goodstone Inn. Please email or call me so that I may issue a credit to you room for the breakfast. I would also like to speak to you further about your experience. I can be reached at 540-687-3333 or by email at jware@goodstone.com

warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have traveled to many beautiful destinations around the world. The Goodstone Inn is probably one of the most exquisite places that I have visited. I was looking for a beautiful place to celebrate our second anniversary. Something close, not wanting to spend eight hours on an airplane. The Goodstone Inn is located in Middleburg , Virginia , close to Washington DC.
The staff is professional and warm. The accommodations are lovely. One can chose from one of the many beautifully appointed cottages located around the 265 acre farm or stay in the former stables.
The restaurant is amazing. We enjoyed the "Farm to Fork" menue, paired with local wines. Yes, this area of Virginia produces some very drinkable wines! Freshest ingredients produced on the farm were an epicurean adventure!
The Goodstone Inn is perfect for a romantic weekend, family reunion, gathering of friends , a wedding!
Truly a "world class" get away!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Melissa F,

What a pleasure to read your review of the Goodstone Inn! Your words capture the essence of what we aim to accomplish, thank you!! I am pleased that you were here to enjoy the Farm to Fork menu and sample some Virginian wines! We look forward to you returning to experience a 'world class' get away!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The property is amazing and I have stayed here four times over the last year. The first three times were fantastic......but the last visit a few weeks ago I was amazed at how much the level of service has declined. I stayed for four days in the bull barn and dropped a nice chunk of change. This time everything was different but the thing that was most annoying was when my wife asked the waitress to add cheese to her eggs. She went into the kitchen and the chef was yelling at the waitress for asking! I felt like I was at Deli....still no cheese. $600 a night they should have a little cheese on a farm. I spoke to three employees about what happened. I felt bad for the waitress and my wife. Not what I expected from an upscale B&B. I tried to find a General Manager but she was not around....... for two day! The inn was empty while we were there and I had to beg to get my room cleaned by noon time......The hot water tank in the Bull barn smells! They stopped putting cookies in the room in the afternoon until I asked for them. They used to watch the front door and open the door when you go to the main house. We were planning on renting the whole french cottage for Thanksgiving and have a really nice family get away but when I finally found the manager it was impossible to come to terms agreeable. When I told her about the screaming chef ! She said she knew nothing about it. Very disconnected with what is really going on. TRY THE SALAMANDER IN MIDDLEBERG, VA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blackbeard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Blackbeard L,

I again apologize for any disappointment that you and your wife had on this most recent visit to The Goodstone Inn. We strive to exceed our guests expectations at every encounter and I am sorry that this was not accomplished during your visit.

I am sorry that we could not accommodate your request for a deeply discounted room rate over the Thanksgiving holiday. Thanksgiving is a very busy period for us and we cannot accommodate the requested rate for our rooms at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hayloft Room for the second time. The room has not changed much in the past five years, and we loved it! We did miss the two chaise lounges that were on the large private rooftop deck the last time we stayed and hope that they will be back up there next time when we return!

The bedroom has a queen size bed with two closets and an AC window unit in the bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom has two pedestal sinks on either side of the little hallway leading to the large jacuzzi tub. In the hallway between the bedroom and tub/sinks there is a toilet closet and the glassed in shower. The ceiling is low (about 7 1/2 feet where it isn't slanted) so wouldn't recommend this room if you are tall. A lot of slanted ceilings and dormer windows add a lot of character to this attic room.

You access the room by going through a door right next to the bar and up very steep carpeted stairs. You can also get to the rooftop by taking the outside stairs, but they are not really well maintained like the rest of the inn. This would not be a room for the elderly or anyone who has mobility issues.

Across from our bedroom door is a storage room that we heard people accessing many times, but it didn't bother us.

The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful. The pool is a large rectangular one with nice surroundings. The houses around the property are well maintained. Definitely a place to check out!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwimMom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay! The Hayloft is a staff favorite as a room here on property, nothing beats that deck or the privacy and views from it! Thank you for your feedback about the maintenance of the stairwells to the area, we will have our team attend to it right away!!

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, we will share it with out team. We look forward to your return to Goodstone in the near future! The Hayloft awaits you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My teenage daughter and I took a day trip to Middleburg and had lunch at Goodstone Inn yesterday. We can't stop talking about the food and the property. The food was wonderful--fresh and inventive--and I'm picky. We were given a peek at one of the cottages and found it clean, romantic and charming. The pool area--surrounded by stone ruins-- is probably the most beautiful spot I have ever seen! They encouraged us to visit the antique barn where we found an 800lb pig named Oliver. A farm hand helped my daughter score a few pictures with this giant creature. The property isn't overdone or pretentious or B&B creepy and the views are spectacular. We are planning a return visit but this time it will be an overnight. What a special place this is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianaaaaaa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review! I am delighted to hear that you had a nice luncheon experience and that you took the time to explore the property inside and out! We can't wait for you to return and visit with Oliver again!

Warmest regards from the Goodstone Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently spent a night in the Magnolia Room in Dutch Cottage. The Delphinium Room was not occupied the evening we stayed and so we had the cottage to ourselves. We walked across to the farm to see the vegetables, chickens, llama, sheep and of course Oliver the pig, and then spent a relaxing afternoon lying by the pool. Towards dusk two deer appeared a few yards away which was a lovely surprise. The changing rooms by the pool are beautifully designed and appointed - definitely worth a look.
The Dutch Cottage itself is fully equipped so you could stay and cook your own dinners if preferred, and the sitting areas were comfortable and spacious. There is also a hot tub just near the cottage, and a barbecue outside also.
Our dinner was superb - high quality fresh ingredients. We have put a separate review on the restaurant.
We did have an issue with part of the service provided at check-in, but when this was brought to the attention of the manager our concerns were addressed immediately, sincerely and in a way that surpassed our expectations. For this reason we wholeheartedly recommend Goodstone and hope to return soon for another visit. It is truly a special place.

Room Tip: The Magnolia room was comfortable and spacious, with a claw foot bath with shower overhead. When we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to compose such a wonderful review regarding your most recent visit to The Goodstone Inn. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience, and that you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that are available to our guests here on the Estate. The property is a wonderful retreat, giving our guests a chance to visit with our spoiled farm animals, relax by the pool, or hike our trails.

Thank you for speaking with me upon check out, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Goodstone Inn very soon! Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.3 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#2 of 6 in Warrenton
169 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
1.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
9.2 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
6 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Property: Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing