We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed with friends in The Dutch House and it was a great way to start our holiday in Virginia having flown into Dulles airport, Washington. Perfect setting, peace and quite and everything you need. Great breakfasts!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    36
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
202
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Arrived to find tea and snacks being served around an inviting fire in the Cottage House fire place. Spent the next couple of hours unwinding and staring out at the beautiful views from the windows. Checked in, changed for dinner and then took our seats at a window side table. For a little over two hours we were treated to an awesome pace of service and dinner menu that didn't disappoint thru any of the courses. The next day was spent walking the grounds and hiking trails. The whole time experience was unbelievable and we've already planned our next trip back.

Highlights: Views, Fireplace, Mare Suite, French Onion Soup and Wine List.

Lowlights: Not having another day to spend there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothpew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Our stay was the result of a gift that allowed us to stay for a couple of nights and included dinner one evening. The staff was very attentive, the food and wine were excellent and the accommodations were lovely. We stayed in the Spring House, which is a self contained facility with a fully equipped kitchen including a great coffee maker. The main house has a big stone fireplace where we spent most of a rainy Saturday reading. We initially thought the cost was high but after shopping around, their prices are not out of line with other B&B's in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfunaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Beautiful setting, beautifully appointed rooms, superb service, delicious food! We went mid-week and got a B&B rate of $199/night, and that represented incredible value given that everything was just about perfect. The breakfast was fabulous, and the price includes afternoon tea with goodies. The dining room probably has the best food in the whole region. We had a two-bedroom cottage (the Dutch Cottage) all to ourselves. Each cottage has a complete kitchen setup. Would be ideal for families, wedding parties, and corporate retreats. This hotel greatly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pichuyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This beautiful estate is 10 minutes by bicycle from historic Middleburg. It is comprised of over 200 acres of lush, rolling, green space in an incredibly bucolic and peaceful setting. We had planned to bike to local wineries and enjoy the restaurant and accomodations after our wine tastings. We found that the rolling hills pushed our limit in terms of bike riding (!), but were more than happy to stay in our beautiful room in the French Cottage - complete with toile linens, a wood-burning fireplace, and beamed ceinlings. The setting provided for the MOST relaxing weekend! We were obligated to either walk or bike to the main cottage (a historic barn/stable converted to lovely reception, restaurant and sitting area), and were enthralled with our walk after dinner under a moonlit night with all stars alight to our cottage. The dinner - one of the best we have ever had (and we are real foodies - French Laundry, et al) was sublime with absolute PERFECT wine pairings. We were perfectly satiated.....This truly was one of our most memorable times away - and we have had many - enjoying the highest MIchelin rated restaurants and accomodations...This will give you a TRULY relaxing weekend...unwind....eat well.....relax...We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We just returned from spending our 1st wedding anniversary weekend at the Goodstone Inn. While I had heard about the properties strong reputation for several years, my expectations were thoroughly exceeded. It is truly a world class property

Before booking, I had read that the management of the Inn had changed last year. The General Manager, Simon, arrived from the World Renowned Blackberry Farm in Tennessee along with the Restaurant Manager Neal. The Executive Chef and Pastry Chef, Tarver King and Shereen McDowell, come from the Double Five Diamond Woodlands Inn in South Carolina and before that the Inn at Little Washington. Basically there is a tremendous amount of pedigree at an understated, relatively inexpensive, beautiful inn close to DC.

My wife and I arrived early and were warmly greeted by the Manager, Simon Smith. He showed us to our room, the Mare Suite, located in the Carriage House (the Main Building) only steps from the parking lot, parlor, restaurant, and swimming pool. The Mare Suite consists of a cozy sitting room with fridge, small TV, sofa, books separated from the Bedroom by a hallway. The entire suite is clad in beautiful dark wood paneling. The room package I purchased included cookies, sparkling wine and dinner for two, the cookies were baked fresh and wrapped in wax paper, the sparkling wine was a high-quality Spanish Cava and was was chilled in the room upon arrival.

After spending an hour in the heated swimming pool, we went to the afternoon High Tea in the Parlor. The High Tea consisted of the choice several teas served on the comfortable couches in the Parlor. On the sideboard, where guests could serve themselves, were scones, puff pastry twists, and palmiers and a cutting board of perfectly sliced cured meats: prosciutto, braesola, and lanzino (a dried pork loin) accompanied by house-made pickled beets, olive spread and cornichons. The cherry scones were hands-down the best we've ever had. crusty on the outside, tender in the middle, and lightly sweet. The puff-pastry twists filled with jam were also perfectly executed and fresh:buttery, crisp, yet moist in the center.

The Dinner was one of the best and most inventive I've ever had. The Hilltoppers, was an amazing culinary experience in the 30 seat dining room just off the parlor. It was definitely a "don't try this at home" cuisine; a cross between Jose Andres Mini-Bar and the Inn at Little Washington. We chose the multi-course tasting menu with wine pairings, which focused almost entirely on local, seasonal produce and a good ratio of Virginia wines (no, they were actually really good). The first course "snacks" were great, particularly the crystallized ham & cheese and tempura fried pickled dill bean. I'll leave the other dishes as a surprise. They were inventive, fun and, while individually on the small side, filled us up by the end of the meal. The service and wine pairing descriptions by Neal, were fun, unstuffy, and spot on. We finished with a glass of sherry on the couch in the parlor. This was a world-class dining experience. I have a feeling that some guests might find the food a little too modern or incongruous with the Hunt Country decor. This is not a prime rib and mashed potatoes type place, though I suspect that given enough advance notice, they would make you whatever you requested.

We spent the next day on the grounds of the property. Between naps in the room and shuffleboard by the pool, we walked to the "farm" area of the property, a short walk from the Carriage House. We guided ourselves around the garden where tomatoes, lettuces, squash, corn, beets and dozens of other vegetables and herbs were in various stages of cultivation. We said hello to the small flock of sheep, and the properties pig, Oliver.

Breakfast on both mornings was great. Classic Eggs Benedict, Pancakes, and even the scrambled eggs were all technically perfect. The service at breakfast and in general was warm, friendly, and sincerely aimed at providing a warm, individual, memorable, experiences.

Book soon! A property with this much going for it will soon be featured in every travel, food, and wine magazine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chemnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Goodstone Inn several times over the last few years and in continues to age well. We have stayed in the Dutch Cottage, the French Farm House and the Manor House loving each of them in their own way. On one occasion we rented both rooms of the Dutch Cottage and invited friends over for a small cocktail party. It was a truly memorable event!

The staff is excellent. Simon, the GM, was formerly with Blackberry Farm in TN and knows how to deliver understated luxury. Neal, the wine guru, has an incredible knowledge of wines and is building a tremendous wine library. (Speaking of, there is a cozy wine cellar in the basement of the the Carriage House where wine dinners are sometimes scheduled. We were lucky enough to attend one on sparkling wines .)

On the last visit we stayed in the bottom floor suite of the Manor House. From the moment we checked in we felt at home! They were serving an afternoon tea that was delightful. Afterward we went for a walk around the property and enjoyed the solitude. Later we wandered over to look at the pool -- not yet open for the season -- that was built into the ruins of an old mill. It looked like a magical spot. There is also a spa that is near to the Dutch Cottage but we didn't find a spare minute to wander down..maybe next visit.

The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. The beds are heavenly and, because we were in the country, it is very quiet and the rooms are very dark at night. (No ambient light.) We have never slept more soundly.

I have to agree with the other reviewers regarding the food -- it is terrific. Very good breakfasts and incredible dinners! Very inventive food by the new chef. We tried things we NEVER would have tried before and were amazed that most of the ingredients are local. A really really special meal.

If you ever find yourself within a 10 mile radius do yourself a favor and stay at the Goodstone Inn. It is exactly as promised!

PS If you find yourself wanting to do a little shopping in Middleburg I highly recommend Creme de la Creme where we found unusual Italian and French gift items. Not cheap but I would rather have one thing from here than 10 ordinary things. Other highlights for us were Wylie Waggs (for my pup at home), Tom Hays Jewelry (beautiful pieces and antique silver) and Trowbridge Lewis Galleries. If you need a cookie break we loved the Upper Krust bakery (not open on Sundays). My husband loved the Fun Shop because it reminded him of the older style variety stores. They had a little bit of everything from cards to cookware to ornaments to picnic baskets and tootsie rolls....a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.3 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
161 reviews
23.8 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
6 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#4 of 8 in Middleburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Property: Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Address: 36205 Snake Hill Rd, Middleburg, VA 20117-3645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodstone Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing