We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, delicious food, enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Borneo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food, enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friends and I spent two wonderful nights at the Inn and strongly recommend it for a getaway weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and we also enjoyed the extensive dinner menu. The rooms were comfortable and full of ambiance. A perfect location to use to explore delightful Middleburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorneoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Our complimentary house guest breakfast is always delicious and we are glad you were able to join us for dinner in The Tavern as well. Thank you for joining us for the weekend in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
101
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ample off street secure parking made it very easy to checkin.
Upon checking in, noticed the air conditioner was broken, it was very hot in the room. Contacted the front desk, they had someone at the room in less than 10 minutes, great response time. Unfortunately it couldn't be fixed right away, but fortunately for us they moved us to an even nicer room. Things break, can't be helped, its the response that makes all the difference.
Had dinner in the Inn, food was exceptional, portions were larger than expected, everything was delicious. Loved the smoked duck spring rolls.
Even though room was right directly off the side street it was a really quiet location.

Room Tip: Great website for the Inn, you can review each room, what each provides and easy to check availabili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhin_O_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will pass your kind words along to our staff about the service. We are so glad to hear that the issue with the air conditioning was addressed in a prompt and professional manner. The smoked duck spring rolls are a great appetizer and it sounds like they were the perfect start to your delicious dinner. Thank you for joining us for the night in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A one night getaway for us to see the Blue Ridge and horse country and perhaps a few of the improving Virginia wineries.
We booked on line and the check in was without doubt the fastest we have ever experienced!
Nice room facing the Main Street. Canopied bed, ample bath, nice toiletries and linens and room temp perfectly cool.
Place has been around since 1726 so you can appreciate that sound travels and old floors squeak. But the proprietors insure that tavern and restaurant activity ends at a very decent hour.
Town itself is quaint and upscale, nice shoppes etc, but once you walk it, you've pretty much seen everything.

Room Tip: 21 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is very convenient for visiting wineries as well as the Blue Ridge mountains and we are so glad you were able to enjoy both. Thank you for joining us for the night in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williiamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a beautiful historic inn on a tranquil street with plenty of shops and eateries. We stayed for the weekend while visiting Virginia wineries during the day. The staff is wonderful and attentive, rooms nicely appointed, and the food was amazing. Make sure you're hungry for breakfast, there isn't a bad choice on the menu! The only drawback, which they do acknowledge and try to remedy, is that the air conditioning can't quite keep up with summer temperatures in this 200+ year old building. The portable fan in our room made it quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room seemed to be over the dining area, and piped in piano music played until about 11 - funny a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_chrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will pass your kind words along to our staff about the service. On hot, summer days the room temperature does take a while to adjust since we are in such an old building. We're glad to hear the fan helped remedy this situation. Thank you for joining us for lunch in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 52nd anniversary with dinner and an overnight stay at the Red Fox. Our dinner was outstanding... as usual... the food was local and very well-prepared... the service was spot on! Our stay in Room #26 was quiet and comfortable... the bedroom and bath/dressing room were nicely appointed, with the elegant period look of an old country inn. The bed was an attractive four-poster with comfortable bedding... although the height of the mattress might seem daunting to some, there was a step stool to assist a shorter/older individual... its part of he charm!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in The Hulbert room with the beautiful four-poster bed. The rooms in the Stray Fox are tucked away so nicely to make for a quiet evening! Thank you for joining us for your anniversary in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for our anniversary, and it could not have been more perfect. The room was beautiful. The Huntland, room #29, was perfect. Isolated enough that there was no need for blinds, but just off an alley connecting to the main street for easy access, and very comfortable. The bathroom/dressing room is enormous!!! They left bottle of champagne for our anniversary - a nice touch. The breakfast included was delicious and very satisfying. The only negative was the non-quaint flat screen TV hanging from the wall - I hope nobody staying here really wants to watch TV while there. Thankfully they offer plenty of parking behind the inn for guests. It isn't cheap, but for a special occasion it is worth every penny. Middleburg is gorgeous, and such a relaxing way to spend a nice weekend away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in The Huntland. The bathroom is a great addition to that room! We appreciate you sharing your feelings about the TV. We will work to get a less intrusive TV or way to position it. Thank you for joining us for the night in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a lovely room in one of the charming cottages. Nothing but good things to say about the room and the innkeepers. While we had a very good dinner there on our first night, we were quite disappointed with the breakfasts. They were large but nothing healthy on the menu - lots of eggs and breakfast meats in too much grease. No fruit, granola, good bread/muffins. We ended up eating the other two breakfasts (even though they free with the room) in a restaurant up the street.

Plenty to do in Middleburg. Good shopping and walking within town, lots of equestrain events, great wineries, beautiful views and countryside We felt as though we were in England. Great little getaway.

Room Tip: We thought room 27 was perfect. Plenty large and off the main road. Felt very private, as if we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneG1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions about the breakfast menu. We will work to add some variety, instead of sticking to traditional hunt country breakfast items. Thank you for joining us for the night in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
1.9 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
19.6 mi away
Stone Manor Vineyard & Orchard B&B
11.9 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Property: The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing