We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a great little B&B in the wonderful town of Middleburg VA. Rooms are old and floors squeak, but it feels like your grandmothers house and that is how a B&B should be.

With that said, service and details have the "local feel" as well. "Charlotte" was quick to snap at me that I was three hours early to check in when I was simply walking the grounds looking for staff as there is no real arrival process.

The housekeeper upstairs recovered from the above abrupt welcome with a warm smile, a magnificent lunch recommendation at the Market Salamander downtown Middleburg and excellent wineries to visit. I would also recommend the Fox Inn for dinner.

Breakfast in the morning was late (again - you get the non resort experience here) but the food was very good. Coffee ran short all morning as they tried to keep up with the volume and pulled it away far to early for our wedding group who all needed some caffeine.

The beds and room were clean and comfy, but while the internet is free...it is also very slow. The grounds are a highlight at this B&B. Great pool, horses to feed, an expansive lawn and a wonderful porch to hang out at all day and night.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs front rooms facing the lawn, we had the backyard view and would have preferred t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onyxtct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

onyxtct,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's very humbling to see you call us almost perfect. We really want to create a comfortable and relaxing stay with plenty to do, so I'm glad you checked out the grounds!

I apologize for any rudeness you may have encountered, and I'm sorry for depriving your group of coffee (we know how important caffeine is!), but I'm happy you enjoyed the rest of your meal and experience.

Thanks again for the kind words - we really appreciate them!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We went to the Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast for a 2 day anniversary trip. We did not know what to expect. It was a wonderful experience and we enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was very nice and helpful with any and all needs. We spent much of the time touring the local vineyards and sampling the wine. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of reality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Lauren,

Thanks for your review last month. It's our pleasure to give you a relaxing experience, away from the craziness of the day-to-day. I'm so glad you got to check out the local vineyards - aren't they beautiful and isn't their wine good?

Thanks again for your kind words.

Best,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at the Briar Patch B & B. The grounds are well kept and the pool & hottub are a real treat for relieving the the workaday aches & pains. The house is casual and comfy and the staff is attentive and friendly. Nicely situated for short hops to town (Middleburg) and vineyards all around. Sure, you could find more polished , stiff and snappy accommodations elsewhere but if its real country hospitality (as opposed to a hotel experience) you seek the Brair Patch is it.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed our stay at the Briar Patch B & B. The grounds are well kept and the pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherisseGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

CherisseGardner,

Thanks for your review last month. I'll make sure the staff sees this, as well. It's always rewarding to see people enjoying their stay with us. We're glad you got to enjoy the pool & hot tub and that you got to check out the vineyards!

Thanks again,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed it! It was just what we needed- a little vacation and to unplug from the world for a couple of days! The hospitality was charming, and homemade breakfast food was amazing. We stayed in the Iris Room- perfect as it has it's own private entrance and bathroom. We enjoyed taking photos on their property and our visit to Middleburg close by. Although there were 14 other people there at the time, we felt as if our privacy was not compromised. If you have never been to a B&B, I would highly recommend trying your stay at Briar Patch!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Cate,

We're thrilled to have been your first B&B experience - thanks for your review from last month! It's our pleasure to give you a relaxing, enjoyable stay, and I'm very happy you enjoyed the Iris Room.

Thanks again for unplugging with us, we really appreciate it. I hope you got some great photos while you were here, and we'd love to have you back anytime!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Title says it all, but the Briar Patch excelled in offering a beautiful setting, friendly staff, and convenient location.

Room Tip: The Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverdog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

riverdog58,

Thanks very much for your lovely May review! I'll pass this onto the staff, too. It always makes us happy when people enjoy our beautiful property and our hospitality, so I'm glad you appreciate it. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was my first trip to a B & B-that said, I thought it was quite nice. No one was there when we arrived so we made ourselves at home. In fact, No one was there at all until the next day so no warm welcome(that was ok with me). The snacks were abundant which was nice. Our breakfast was fine also-we went down at 9:30 and everything was sitting out still.We had the Living Social deal for 4 but had to ask for the extra winery passes. That was a disappointment because even though there are many wineries close by, the passes were for wineries rather far away-didn't want to be tasting an hour and a half away then have to drive on the country roads so they were a waste. A TV might have been nice-they have a communal one that's only for VHS movies. Our room was not made up either during our 3 days. Loved the porch and the grounds. We did use the hot tub and it was fine. It was hot and there was no way to open a window to cool the room off. Bathroom was fine and amenities were quite nice. Loved Middleburg.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vatennisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G, Owner at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

vatennisgirl,

Thanks for your review back in April. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I do want to apologize, however, for the wineries being far away. We know there are plenty of great ones in the area, and we want to make sure they all get explored! Thanks for the feedback on the other issues mentioned. We will make sure to address them.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We're pleased you had a good time.

Regards,
Ellen Goldberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Though my husband and I are long time Arlingtonians, we had never visited Middleburg as tourists. Along comes a Groupon for a stay at the Briar Patch B&B located near the town with an invitation to bring our friendly dogs! What could be better? Well, a charming and spacious cottage sited next to the main house, which accommodated the 4 of us, beautifully! Also, we were very pleased with the plentiful amenities, hospitality of the staff, and extravagant, tasty breakfasts. Overall, our stay at the Briar Patch B&B was a very pleasant backdrop to our weekend in Middleburg!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavasilakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.7 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
10.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
5.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,366 reviews
6.6 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
8 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range: £72 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing