We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and Romantic”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Warmth abounds in this charming hillside farmhouse. Close to D.C., but feels a million miles away from the city's bustle and noise. The rooms are perfectly decorated and well equipped with extras. Breakfast was great and service was top notch. Very nice pool set among rolling hills. Will return again and again!

Room Tip: Top floor rear rooms are sunny and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    36
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beyond
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the main house. The Lilac room is 200 years old. Definitely for those who enjoy a rustic taste of history. The staff are very friendly and equally helpful. The breakfasts are very nice too. They are building modern accommodations.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashuganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely stay. This B&B is in a 18th century farm house and is filled with character set on lovely grounds. Conveniently located just outside of Middleberg which was great to be able then easily drive into town for dinner options. The breakfast was excellent and very generous. Just be aware when booking that not all rooms have their own private bathrooms...you may have to share. Overall, would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We got married here 4 years ago and it was wonderful! Came back to spend a night here to celebrate our anniversary this year. The property is beautiful, there is lots to do (pool, hot tub, and grills on the property that can be used whenever you want, and lots of wineries in the area), and the people who run it are super-nice and very laid-back. If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay where you get the hospitality of a B&B (delicious breakfast and lots of complimentary snacks and drinks) but lots of amenities, this is the place. Also look for the groundhog living in the woodpile- he is hilarious!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMikeeatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I decided to start the weekend early with a private, romantic escape to Middleburg, VA. The Briar Patch Bed and Breakfast Inn was just what we were looking for, quiet quaint and comfortable. We felt as if we were transported back to the early 1900's. Enormous green trees and beautiful flowers landscaped the front lawn. We felt so lazy sitting on the porch in our rocking chairs sipping our morning coffee. Breakfast was fresh and hot and quite filling. We didn't want to leave this lovely place. The staff was very accommodating and the house was filled with delicious baked goods and all the creature comforts you could want. Minutes from some of our favorite wineries made this place our first choice when staying in Middleburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Even thought Briar Patch is 90 minutes from our home it feels like another part of the world. Set in a beautiful area of Northern Virginia, the Briar Patch is a historic B&B dating back to the civil war. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We visited for our anniversary, which I mentioned when I made the reservation months before. Much to our surprise, we were greeted in our room by a bottle of wine, chocolates and a dozen red roses with a Happy Anniversary card. Breakfast was fresh and hot and served every morning at 9 a.m. The next day we wanted to visit a few of the nearby wineries, and Samantha immediately produced coupons for free tastings. Small touches like these endeared the Inn to us and we would certainly come back without hesitation. Our only issue (very minor) was the lack of air conditioning on an unusually hot May night and a noisy exhaust fan in the bathroom.

Room Tip: The Hyacinth and Violet rooms can be combined into a two-room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stopped at the Briar Patch early in the afternoon, not expecting to be able to check in, but mainly to 'scout' the place out. Even though our room was not quite ready, we were welcomed by Henrietta, and given the run of the house, to include a kitchen stocked with homemade cookies and cake, soft drinks and fruit. When we 'officially" checked in later in the afternoon, we found a very nice bottle of wine and some chocolates in our room.
Our 1st floor room was clean and cozy, and the lack of a TV was not a problem, (I was able to catch the news on the TV in the living room, and wifi was readily available.) Although the owners of this B&B were 'absentee', the staff treated us as though welcoming us into their own home. The house has a great porch for sitting and relaxing; unfortunately, the weather didn't work out too well for us to spend much porch sittin' time.
We have come to expect great breakfasts and great conversation with other B&B guests, and the Briar Patch did not disappooint. (We learned from one couple that they live about 2 minutes [!] from our Pittsburgh home, and the 'patriarch' of a another family of guests invited me to join him in a nitecap - or two.)
We were sent on a tasting tour of three local wineries, all very nice, and we enjoyed the beautiful nearby town of Middleburg with its shops and restaurants. The area has no shortage of historical sites.
The innkeeper arranged a trail ride (horseback) for us on our departure day....in Winchester, about 40 minutes away. We had the owner of the Rocking S Ranch, Bill, to ourselves on a memorable ride through the woods and along and across a stream. A laid back guy with a great sense of humor. The experience was well worth the price.
All in all, high marks for the Briar Patch, its staff - and its guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.7 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#2 of 6 in Warrenton
169 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
12.5 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
5.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing