We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never on a Monday or a Tuesday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Yorkshire England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never on a Monday or a Tuesday”
Reviewed 4 September 2007

The good reviews for this hotel appear to be at the weekend, well unfortunately we arrived Monday afternoon and left Wednesday morning and this was both the most expensive B&B we stayed at in Virginia and the most disappointing. Other than a handyman and a girl who printed out our bill the night before we left no one was around to speak to - The Marie Celeste of B & B's. The breakfast was described as continental but with no fruit juice and a broken coffee machine and only supermarket muffins to toast - the food was very poor. Fortunately we had just stayed at Creek Crossing Farm, Lincoln with a delightful, but slightly batty lady called Barbara who served the very best Virginian breakfasts....no comparison and excellent value.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyke-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    36
    3
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
64
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Va
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2006

My husband and I wanted to go on a mini weekend trip with our pup but finding a nice place to accomadate that request was hard to come by. We were very happy we came across the Briar Patch. Even though when we arrived we didn't meet the owner until the last day of our trip, we were actually very pleased with the fact that we had the whole house to ourselves. Since we went up on a weekday, no one else was staying there and the owners and staff don't even live there, so it was like paying the price for a room but getting the amenties of a house. It was so warm and relaxing with the fireplace in rooms, the sitting rooms and the self service kitchen area. I loved being able to get a snack or drink whenever I wanted. We stayed in the Iris room and although I haven't seen the the other rooms, we throughly loved the ambience and decour of this one. We missed out on the lavish weekend breakfast and only had the continental breakfast but it was still good, all very fresh and just bought the night before. I saw all the groceries! There was so much beautiful open land for my pup to run around. The horses in the back of the cottage was also a nice sight to see. Wonderful visit and wonderful people. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank JenP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alderley edge, england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2006

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Briar Patch after a hectic conference and it turned out to be the perfect place to unwind. From the moment you pull up the driveway and see the beautiful old plantation house you start to relax and take in the scenery. All the rooms are lovely, from the old beamed Iris room downstairs to the light and airy rooms upstairs. There is a lovely lounge for guests to use and an 'open' kitchen policy where snacks and teas/coffees are available 24hrs (very nice touch).While we were there there was also an impromptu cheese and wine evening which was a great way to get to know the other guests. The setting is perfect , just outside Middleburg and surrounded by rolling fields, old farms and wineries nestled in the hills. The drive to the Naked Mountain winery is particularly stunning. Your also only a short drive from Shenandoah National Park and the Blue mountains. The owner Ellen was on hand with lots of advice on what to see and do and was very welcoming to everyone that came through the door. All this and only an hour from Washington DC. The perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, VA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2005

We stayed in the Iris room, which is probably one of the best rooms. It has a private bath, a door to the front porch, and a fireplace (fake, but realistic) that provided great mood lighting. The room was cozy, but comfortable, although the queen bed was a little saggy in the middle. We enjoyed rocking on the porch and taking a soak in the hot tub on a chilly but clear star-filled night. Breakfast was good, not outstanding, but good, especially the apple french toast, prepared by a Uma Thurman look-alike. Very enjoyable, but one night is too short. We would go back for a longer stay and request the Iris room again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3pltdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 November 2004

My husband and I recently fell in love with the Briar Patch staff, breakfast, and Mike the B&B's outdoor cat. I knew this would be a different experience when we were greeted on the front porch by a purring orange and white tabby. We spent a wonderful weekend lazing about in the hammock with a glass of wine and watching the fall leaves float from the trees. The pool was closed for the season but sitting in the hot tub under the stars is to die for! The Briar Patch provides robes in each room to make the trek outdoors inviting even in cold weather! Breakfast was a perfect mix of classic country cooking and great conversation! It was hard to leave and we look forward to going back!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2004

The Briar Patch allows dogs ( and children) in the 1 bedroom cottage, which will easily sleep 4 but manages to feel cozy at the same time. We had a full kitchen, bathroom with shower & the largest, deepest bathtub I have ever seen, plenty of towels & comfortable bedding. The location of the B&B is super, it is close to all kinds of attractions. The weekend breakfast is served family-style in the kitchen of the main house & the food was excellent. During the week however, only a continental breakfast is available, self -serve & that was sub-par.
The property has a swimming pool (closed for the season at the time of our visit but it is large) and a hot tub which is wonderful. There are also horses stabled behind the inn, and 3 inn cats (outdoor).
Service was slightly inconsistent; the wine I had ordered was waiting for us on arrival as requested, the cottage was cleaned up & the sofa bed made up also as I requested on the 2nd day, but on the 3rd day no one came by to clean or make beds.
Overall however we had a wonderful time & we love finding nice places that accept dogs!

Helpful?
3 Thank 10Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2004

My husband and I escaped to beautiful Middleburg, Virginia for our 5th wedding anniversary. Middleburg is an excellent location for touring Virginia Wineries and Briar Patch was just as great. The bed was comfortable, the house was absolutely beautiful, the hosts were very friendly. Beautifully decorated and very clean.
We got the Anniversary package, with flowers from a local florist, they did a wonderful job on the flowers.
I don't recall the pool being in the best condition, but we stayed in September and had no interest in the pool.
The breakfast was amazing. They even handed out the recipe for the Cheese and Egg Casserole which I've made several times for my family since. What a hit!
Overall we had a wonderful experience and would recommend this place. We'll definitely be back someday.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
16.7 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
169 reviews
12.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#2 of 3 in Gainesville
64 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
5.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
288 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 23130 Briar Patch Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117-2946
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains & located near Middleburg in the heart of VA horse & wine country yet only 20 minutes from Dulles Airport & about an hour from Washington, DC, Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Inn is a historic farm on 47 rolling acres with majestic mountain views. It is a great venue whether you are considering a romantic weekend getaway in one of our nine bedrooms, experiencing one of our fun cooking class weekends, holding a wedding in our event building for up to 200 guests, hosting your favorite organization's fundraiser, having a meeting in a unique location, or planning a party. Our location and amenities, including our beautiful pool will make your weekend or event one to remember.Stay in one of our eight bedrooms in the main house or combine two rooms to create your own private suite. For even more privacy, stay in our one bedroom cottage with a fully equipped kitchen. Hold your wedding, family celebration, business meeting, group picnic, or off-site retreat in our indoor facility – The Fox Den at Briar Patch – for up to 200 guests or on our beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Middleburg
Briar Patch Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing