We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and welcome addition to the greater Washington area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

San Francisco has Auberge de Soleil and Meadwoood in Napa. London has Chewton Glen and Limewood. And now Washington has Salamander. Finally, a luxurious country spa resort worthy of 5 stars, perfect for a weekend getaway or a corporate retreat. The Equestrian Center and fact it is walking distance to Middleburg make it very even more special. We were there on day two, so there were a few bugs (fitness center TVs on exercise equipment not connected, breakfast service very slow) but those were minor. Sheila Johnson presides over every detail and was always around, graciously greeting guests and making sure everything was perfect -- including shooing muddy-footed children over the lushly upholstered furniture in the main sitting room. We now have a country destination less than an hour from home for pampering and scenery. Thank you Dr. Johnson!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We thank you for taking time to share your comments and excitement regarding your recent stay at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are happy to provide a luxury setting an hour from Washington that still ties in with the charm of the village of Middleburg. Our Owner's attention to detail is what we hope will set us apart and we appreciate you noticing and putting us in the category with such fine establishments! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I am a self admitted hotel snob, and Salamander is special. Every detail from artwork through organic produce, the culinary garden, through the wine bar, game room, cooking school, library, multi-jet shower, incredible spa, and fabulous cuisine has been considered, refined, and delivered upon in spades. This is a brand new property, which opened 29 August 2013, consequently we expected issues as we were among the first guests. There were fewer imperfections than at many five stars which have operated for years.
Whether for a business meeting, special occasion, anniversary or just to get away, Salamander is everything and more. I was asked this morning Salamander vs Inn at Perry Cabin. No contest. Inn at Perry Cabin is OK, but its beauty is skin deep. Salamander is the real deal. The setting, landscaping, spa infinity pool drifting into a field of wild flowers, 5000 threadcount sheets (or whatever they are)... Salamander delivers. Highest recommendation. Truly sublime. Mrs. Rowingman felt similarly. Only downside is that now she wants the Rowingman house renovated to look more like Salamander....

One hour from the Washington Monument by car at 10am on a Friday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander Hote... M, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future. Thank you also for being our first official TripAdvisor review - this is very exciting for our team! We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to provide a relaxing getaway for you and Mrs. Rowingman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicky r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Iula70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank stanmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie C, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IreKre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
22.4 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
15.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
16.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 N Pendleton St, Middleburg, VA 20117-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range: £306 - £824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept. Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing