We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salamander Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I have visited the Salamander about 15 times since it opened in September. We have always been treated very well and the staff is very friendly and always accommodating to our needs. Special thanks to Trey,the general manager for suggesting we stay last Saturday night after our dinner rather than driving home to Fairfax in the fog. We had a great time! Our waiters Ali, Caitlin, Jimmy and Matt are always terrific. Thanks to Kayse at the gift shop for spending the time to describe the history of the beautiful scarf I purchased. Thanks Gemma for asking if our drinks were good. And thanks to Carlo, the food and beverage director for stopping by our table to say hello. All the different meals we've tried at the restaurant and wine bar have been excellent and the décor is always very inviting. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for the kind words and loyalty. We are honored to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
There are newer reviews for Salamander Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Only spent 1 night but it was awesome. The friendliness of the staff. the fact that it is " Pet Friendly" was my biggest surprise. There were dogs everywhere in the resort and being treated very special. Accommodations were very nice. Fireplaces in the rooms were a special treat.
The employee that stood out on my stay was Miss Lindsay Boyd. She greeting us at the door and made sure our stay was one to remember. I highly recommend this resort to anyone. My stay was awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We love our guests ( and pet guests!) and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can come back for an extended visit next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My family and I had the experience of a life time at your wonderful resort this past week-in. The resort itself just plan awesome! The atmosphere was extremely breath-taking. The employees were very professional and polite, but, at the same time very down-to-earth and accommodating.The food was very good and well presented. A very special thanks to Miss, Linsey Boyd for making our stay a very special event. She is a true asset to the resort and truely a pleasure to be around.Hope you will recognize her with something special,as she made all of us feel very special this week-in. So, if you want a wonderful experience ,go and visit the Salamander, you will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back for another visit soon! If in the meantime you want to stay connected feel free to check out our social media sites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This resort is a feast for the eyes. Every visual detail is tasteful and lovely. The general living space, the common rooms, the gym, pools, spa, restaurants, grounds - all beautiful. Every employee is accomodating, gracious and welcoming. We were there for an overnight excursion to celebrate our anniversary. We had inquired if there were hiking trails - and told yes. However there are no maps, and there are no trail markers - yet - hopefully that is coming and they really are the horse trails so watch where you walk. It was an uncomfortable versus a relaxing hike due to that and hearing gun shots and seeing hunters on the next property. So would also suggest they not send guests out - at least during hunting season without some neon orange. We tried to get a couples massage - but unfortunately, and frustratingly could not get in with any masseuse Sat night or Sunday morning. Interestingly - the Goodstone Inn - a competitor down the street - was willing to call in extra help to fit us in, but we declined. Would suggest that they either save appts for hotel guests or STRONGLY advise guests when they book a room to book these services immediately. We did use the general day spa services and the outside hot tub - all very nice. Most annoying thing for me was that when we arrived in the room the message on the TV welcomed my husband but not me. This hotel is owned by a woman - but the welcome was to Mr. Will Smith. I would have even taken a Mr and Mrs Will Smith. So the person that researched and booked the trip was not welcomed. The person at check in confirmed that both our names were on the reservation - so yes they knew. The rooms were some of the nicest we have stayed in - great bedding, slept great. We had dinner at Harrimans - it was OK - will do a separate review on that. And we did have room service for breakfast which excellent and timely. So they have some service issues to work out - but the beauty and relalxation that can be found here is worth it and I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Although my visit was short, it was more than memorable. The resort itself is incredible, so many special touches to make it anyone's home away from home. The accommodations are amazing. Definitely put together by a team that has an eye for detail. I enjoyed meals in the wine bar as well has Harriman's and found both to be enjoyable. Everyone was attentive and friendly, from our valet attendant upon arrival, servers, desk clerks, and concierge. I have to say being greeted by Lindsay Boyd, and her continued "out of her way" care throughout my stay needs to be recognized. She is quite an asset to the resort and a joy to be around.
If anyone is looking for the perfect place to get away, I highly recommend The Salamander. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reese203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We hope you can return for a longer visit next time! Thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Sixth visit to the Salamander as a local. Beautiful stunning hotel. Middleburg and surrounding areas has so much to do! Fifth visit. Painful lunch at the Wine Bar. I really think a good logistics person needs to get involved . While they had many managers roaming, they had most of the table being served by one awkward waiter. Everything was 10-15 minutes . It was that long to place beverage order, another 10-15 to order. Once our food came we asked for salt and pepper and some oil and vinegar for the salad. They both came in 15 minutes. By this time my husband had almost finished. Another 15 minutes to get a check and another fifteen minutes to get the card back. Each time we have been we have seen housekeeping lugging trash and laundry through the restaurant. Bizarre. Most of the staff is huddled behind the bar around the computer system . As others, we are desperate to have this place work out. For starters, why don't you provide nice salt and pepper shakers in the bar tables? The funny open containers are nothing more than table salt and bottled ground pepper.

Sixth visit for lunch. Menu much improved . However lunch special sandwich and soup, both had cheese and the onion soup was a sweet bland onion broth. Not good. Dogs walked through by guests and housekeeping lugging laundry right through the dining area once again . High traffic for a restaurant makes for unpleasant dining. Different person brought out our wine 15 minutes after placing beverage order. Asked him if he knew the lunch specials and VERY rudely reprimanded that he was not the waiter . Then watched him proceed to complain to our waiter who then called the situation ridiculous. Terrible to talk openly about your customers within earshot. Seems there should be more of a team spirit . How hard is it to tell all who work in the restaurant what the specials are? Why a different waiter to deliver a glass of wine than the Sparkling Water the waiter brought?

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coccindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please know I have shared your comments with our team and we will incorporate them into our continuous training. We hope you will dine with us again and see our improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Pure relaxation, serene, calm oasis that is only 50 minutes away from Washington DC. Top notch concierge service! Theresa and Julie at the concierge anticipated guest needs from arrival to departure and surely knows what they are doing and it shows that they love what they do!
Had a deep tissue massage with Benita at the spa and she pampering was the highest level possible!
A one on one yoga with Carolyn started the day right and she an amazing yoga instructor!
Harrimans was great! Keith who is very knowledgable about the wine list and menu gave me the best suggestions. The ceasar salad with pickled anchovies was so good! BBQ kobe beef and mascrapone cheesecake was amazing!

I had a pleasure of meeting the President the resort, Mr. Prem Davidas who happen to be around and took the time to say hello while I was dining at Harrimans.

Cana winery is close by, about 5 minutes drive, great view and they have a musician on the weekends.
Walking out from the resort is a little town which has quaint shops and restaurants. Red Fox is a great place to eat around the area.

I surely found my getaway place away from the city and for sure this is only one of the many more visits to come!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaiMeiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for sharing photos and your review. We hope you share some of your images with us on social media too! We are looking forward to having you for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
22.4 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
15.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
171 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#2 of 3 in Gainesville
65 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Address: 500 N Pendleton St, Middleburg, VA 20117-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range: £303 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept. Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing