We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salamander Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We decided to take a day trip from Northern Va for a spa day and we could not have been happier with the service/environment. As soon as we walked in, the staff was there ready to greet us with smiles and helpful hands. We then went to the spa for a treatment and it was fabulous. The staff was welcoming, accommodating and very sweet. The massages were very nice as well. We felt that we were treated like we were the only guests of the day. The spa itself is gorgeous, relaxing and inviting. Joanne was very sweet.

We then had lunch and drinks at the bar there. The food was delicious and we had a WONDERFUL bartender, Nick. He was attentive and very kind. He told us all about how the resort got started and knew a lot of information about the resort itself.

When we decided we needed to leave (sadly) our car was brought up for us promptly and the guys helped clean off our car with all the snow.

As we were leaving, we turned to each other and said, "We will be coming back here again....very soon".
We look forward to spending a night there or two in the near future.

We can't tell you how happy we are with the experience we had today and the fact that this 'heaven on earth' opened up right near DC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetherly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSalamander, General Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Salamander Resort & Spa. We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    229
    132
    66
    50
See reviews for
251
500
46
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful resort for 3 nights over Thanksgiving, & found it to be to be absolutely delightful. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating. My husband & I had a lovely 1 bedroom suite with an adjoining room for our 2 teenage sons. The set-up worked perfectly, we were very comfortable. In fact, my husband loved the pillows on the beds so much that he found the brand and ordered some for our home!

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner in the resort restaurant. Our server was very friendly, which added to a very enjoyable meal. The chef was kind enough to prepare a special meal for me in order to accommodate my food allergy.

The concierge, Julie, took care of making the rest of our dinner reservations at local restaurants, and also arranged for mountain bikes for our sons to use one day. They were able to ride all around on the trails at the resort, and had a great day. Again, everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We would love to return to the Salamander Resort & Spa!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c4ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Salamander Resort and Spa is a refuge of understated elegance in a bucolic setting. The entrance beckons with stables and an estate worthy of Middleburg's reputation for classic hunt country delight! The service is Southern hospitality with valet parking and a quick check in to this beautiful resort. We fell in love with the warm roaring fires and library as well as our suite, tucked back in the woods with sunset views from our balcony. Room service was yummy and prompt! Risotto appetizer was perfect and the salad so fresh. The steak and fish with sides of fresh grown on the grounds veggies were dynamite! We will definitely return for a spa visit this month. Loved it! Ms. Johnson has the eye of an artist with subtle genteel extravagance in the perfect location!

Room Tip: We had one of only four suites facing the woods, very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Attended a business event and consider the Salamander ideal for business or weddings. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent and the grounds are lovely. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, and the little town of Middlleburg within walking distance is quaint.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Salamander Inn in Middleburg, VA over a weekend while we visited local wineries. The place is very well done and we thought it was a gorgeous property. The room we had was amazing - had a fireplace and large bathroom. The price was kind of high but we did get a special $100 credit back for use at the hotel (which was quickly used up at the bar/restaurant!). The workout facilities are top notch, the bar and area around it are very nice, and the restaurant was very very good. We walked around the stables and visited the horses - again, this was all very nice.

They do have a $25.00 "resort fee" and this, in my opinion, is a very cheesy extra cost considering how expensive the rooms are - in November this resort fee doesn't seem to buy you much if anything except maybe the workout facilities since its too cold to do anything outside. Parking yourself will be a far walk back on a busy weekend ... the $25.00 resort fee includes 'parking' but this place out in the country so there is no premium to park here like a city. It would be nice to at least provide more than coffee and some light pastries in the morning as part of the room/resort costs - a simple continental breakfast station doesn't seem like too much to ask? They did give us a newspaper (like any hotel would for free).

The one problem we had was that half the lights in our room did not work when we checked in - we had to delay getting ready for dinner while we waited for maintenance - after several calls to the desk they came up but could not fix the problem ... at that point we put out a 'privacy' sign while we got ready for dinner and never heard back from them again. Finally after continuing to wait we called again and were told that they couldn't help us because the privacy sign was shown (!?) - calling us back may have helped. We gave up and left the room since we had to go to dinner ... it seemed to me that at least a round of free drinks would have been a great touch considering our initial inconvenience without half of our lights - but that didn't happen. Regardless by the time we got back to our room later that night the lights were working again.

Also - they have a lot of cozy looking gas fireplaces (and even in the room) - but none of them have a fan to blow out the hot air so they aren't warm! Suggest installing fans in the gas fireplaces to get some heat out of them for guests coming in from the cool weather!

Overall a very nice place - super friendly staff and great rooms/facilities ... just a few minor kinks to work out and perhaps allows the managers give customers something back (a free round of drinks, etc) if they are inconvenienced for some reason!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REW_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Md
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

As both a successful businesswoman and a tastemaker, Sheila Johnson's mark is all over the Salamander Resort and Spa. The property is a feast for the eyes, and no detail has been overlooked. I have stayed at many of the other prominent resorts in the region (Greenbriar, Homestead, Tidewater Inn, Keswick Hall, Boar's Head, Lansdowne) and all pale by comparison (Keswick would take second prize, though). The spa is mind-numbingly gorgeous. The spectacular ceiling light display in the indoor whirlpool and steam room would make light artist James Turner nod in approval. The staff is first rate, and special kudos go to Ashley, who handled my overnight and spa reservation, Marion, one of the best massage therapists I have ever encountered, and the delightful spa attendant, Joanne, who made me feel welcomed and relaxed. The heated outdoor infinity pool was pure pleasure on an overcast November afternoon. Since Salamander is only about an hour drive away, I will return often.

Room Tip: I was upgraded from a King Estate to a King Estate with a fireplace -- a lovely extra in an already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euvites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander H, Manager at Salamander Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words of support and your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I helped my cousin plan an event at this "resort" and the Catering Sales Manager" , Lee, was an absolute horror to work with. He asked for information repeatedly, was less than accommodating, and completely unprofessional, to the point of telling us how well he's compensated at the Resort, which is "lucky" to have him...he then went on to rattling through his resume when no one asked. I think he needs to be more concerned with his duties and less concerned with showing-off. We also worked with a woman called Suzanne, and again, very unprofessional. She was often frazzled and seemed not to know what she was doing most of the time (plus she looked very unkept to work in the catering sales department of a 4 star resort). Long story short- they made a stressful situation much worse, and Lee had placed nothing where it was supposed to go on the day of the event, after it had all been planned to a T. We wasted money on linens and décor, for tables that where never put-out or set-up. And maybe it was my experience, but I didn't find the resort all that appealing either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
15.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
22.4 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.7 mi away
Inn at Evergreen
Inn at Evergreen
#1 of 1 in Haymarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Resort & Spa

Property: Salamander Resort & Spa
Address: 500 N Pendleton St, Middleburg, VA 20117-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamander Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamander Resort & Spa offers the refined sophistication of a luxurious country estate in the Virginia's exclusive horse and wine country, just 40 miles from Washington, D.C. This luxury Virginia getaway brings together today’s sought after key elements of time-saving accessibility, authenticity of cultural and historical experiences, unique culinary and wine programming, and an innovative spa and wellness concept.Just 35 minutes from Dulles Airport, the 340-acre resort is located within the historic village of Middleburg, VA, which houses more than 100 unique shops, restaurants, surrounding wineries and equestrian fields and provides the backdrop for one-of-a-kind leisure and group stays as well as spectacular wedding and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamander Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing