We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Attention to Detail!”
Review of Fort Lewis Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Lewis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Millboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for years. The facility is unbelievably well maintained. You would think it had just been opened up. The cleanliness of the rooms is impeccable.
The best part ( other than the amazing location, wonderful hospitality, and ability to totally relax ) is the food. Fresh fresh fresh and so delicious!
If you truly want to take a moment to "smell the roses" this is the place to visit. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Riverhouse are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShooFlyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is like going back in time. It's extremely relaxing. Beautiful grounds, surrounded by mountains. We had a Silo room, which was just fine. Liked the privacy of it compared to the Lodge rooms. There is a community fridge in the lodge you can use for your food you bring. The Riverside house is about half a mile down the road, so keep that in mind if you book there. Although, across the street from the house is the Riverside dock and canoeing which is really nice.
Caryl's food is SO delicious. We couldn't eat lunch, there was so much of it! We had fun swimming, floating in the tubes, kayaking, and canoeing. We also brought our mountain bikes. As a note to mountain/trail biking fans, there aren't really a lot of biking trials on the property. Seems like more biking is done on the county roads there. The Cowpasture is a smaller, more shallow river, but very beautiful. The pavilion on the property is very nice, and they make a fire out there each night. There is also foosball and ping pong there. We enjoyed just sitting in the shade, reading looking at the mountains. There is a hot tub on the deck at the lodge.
This is definitely a place to relax, read a book, and enjoy nature. People looking to be entertained would be bored. We loved it. Being able to enjoy outdoor activities is very weather dependent as well. So be okay if it rains, just reading and doing nothing.

Room Tip: Silo 3 on the top floor is only accessible by a spiral outdoor staircase. Hard to get up with luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Without repeating much of what others have already said, this is a beautifully-maintained lodge in the midst of stunning country. We just returned from 3 night stay in the Uplands cabin which was lovely. Owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Weather was both beautiful and a bit rainy but we hiked, canoed, swam in the river, took a drive, and just enjoyed very peaceful setting and great sleeping!!! Meals are delicious and plentiful. Nothing for miles around, so not for you if you need lots of entertainment and sightseeing, but can't fathom why you would.A really special place for enjoying the outdoors and relaxing or being as active as you like.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinnyKTakomaPark_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this resort soon after it open. It was family owned and operated then and it remains in the same family. My children were similar ages to the owners kids and enjoyed time with them during our stay. The owners are so accommodating and Carol is one incredible cook. As far as the food goes, nothing has changed. If anything, it has improved. There are cabins now that did nor exist on my prior visit. They are wonderful. The setting is incredibly beautiful, relaxation that exceeds prescriptions drugs, food that will make you smack your mama, and a location unique and historic.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the cabins. So cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The cabins are my wife's and my favorite, but a stay at Fort Lewis Lodge in any of the rooms, silo, river house, or cabins, is a time you will not forget. Morning dawns to a quiet peaceful sight out over the valley. A slow start to the day with coffee in hand, sitting on the cabin porch. The breakfast bell sounds and your mouth starts to water thinking about whats to come. Caryl is a great cook. John is always at the ready with maps and high liter to get you started on a hike or maybe directions to any one of dozens of places you can day trip to. Just staying close and relaxing the day away is also an option. Cocktails and dinner in the evening are the perfect setup for sitting by the fire either in your cabin, or out in the pavilion with other guests. So much to enjoy and so little time in a day. The "Lodge" is our favorite place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with the Ft. Lewis Lodge. Best choice we could have made. Our room in the old silo was cool and the pavilion and fire that evening made the perfect ending to an enjoyable day. Dinner & breakfast were awesome with plenty of food and friendly service and conservation. The property is there to enjoy and we did take advantage of the river. I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We went to the Fort Lewis Lodge for a one night getaway, and we LOVED it! It is way out in the middle of nowhere, but the setting is beautiful. They own three miles of riverfront property on the Cowpasture River, one of the prettiest rivers in the U.S. The lodging is wonderful - not fancy but very comfortable. They have river activities available - swimming, tubing and kayaks - to all guests. Because it is far from any town they serve dinner as well as breakfast. Both meals were outstanding. Before dinner they have an hour to enjoy wine or beer on the porch overlooking a lovely lily pond and the lush fields and mountains. After dinner there is a fire in the stone fireplace in the outside pavilion. We sat and passed the evening drinking wine and visiting with others who were enjoying their stay.
We will definitely go back and are looking forward to the opportunity to experience it all again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the renovated silo are really unique. There are also wonderful little cabins beside the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Lewis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lewis Lodge

Address: 603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460-2400
Region: United States > Virginia > Millboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millboro
Price Range: £206 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lewis Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your destination in the mountains of Bath County Virginia for unique architecture, outdoor adventure and classic American style cuisine. Family owned for 28 years. Like most country inns, we trade in a change of pace, romance, and exceptional fare. But, it is the comforting seclusion of the mountains, forests, fields and streams that truly sets historical Fort Lewis apart. A 3200 acre estate ready to be explored. Outdoor activities abound with hiking, biking, trout fishing or simply relaxing by the Lodge's pristine swimming hole. We are best known for our food, and a farm fresh breakfast and dinner, served family-style, are included in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fort Lewis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lewis Hotel Millboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing