We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Horseback Outing”
Review of Spring Valley Farm

Spring Valley Farm
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Moneta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Spring Valley Farm is a premiere horseback riding, boarding, and training facility in Moneta, Virginia. Family-owned and operated for generations, this 500+ acre equine operation boasts a variety of services from horseback riding lessons for riders of all skill levels, trail rides for the public, and cabin rentals to wedding carriage services, boarding options for horse owners, birthday party packages, and much, much more! Nestled in the heart of Virginia, Spring Valley is a short, convenient drive to Lynchburg, Roanoke, and Bedford. Only five minutes and you're at Smith Mountain Lake for water adventures. We are a local business so we are very flexible and happy to accommodate any request! We are A+ rated with the BBB!!
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great experience at Spring Valley Farm. They paired us with horses that fit our riding preferences and provided instruction as well as time to practice before heading out for the ride. The trail ran along fenced pasture and a small creek bed with scenic views of farmland and distant mountains. The hourlong trail ride was a generous 75 minutes. Everyone had a great experience! I'm not sure if the $25 pp was a off-season special but it was a super value. My parents who were not interested in riding horseback had a lovely carriage ride, but the carriage on the trails can be a little bouncy also.

Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley F, Manager at Spring Valley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

We are very pleased you had a lovely experience and truly hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback"
in 4 reviews
"riders"
in 2 reviews
"horses"
in 7 reviews
"fishing"
in 2 reviews
"trail"
in 8 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2016

We were delighted to learn about Spring Valley and all of the amenities including trail rides, scheduled cook-outs, buggy ride (rentals) and cabins for rent. We stayed in a cabin following a lovely trail ride that ended just as the sun was setting. Michelle and Chad did a great job of keeping an eye on riders while conveying a relaxed atmosphere. This is quite a nice venue for events as well! Prices are very reasonable for the cabins and the ride!

Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley F, Manager at Spring Valley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

So very happy to read your review, and pleased with your experience. We are blessed and enjoy sharing all we have with the public! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent place for the kids to 91st the animals and or the whole family to take a ride on horseback.

Thank Cricket D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley F, Manager at Spring Valley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

We love offering our services for anyone of all ages to enjoy!!! Thank you for your review, hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Had a wonderful time at Spring Valley Farm on Labor Day evening. Booked a trail ride for my family! The ride was beautiful!!! Lots of horses, friendly staff, and the ability to not just walk nose to tail with the horses. Had a great time trotting through fields and some in the party were cantering!! My husband, son (11), daughter (9), and I had a wonderful time!!! Worth our hour and ten minute drive to get there!!! Highly recommended.

Thank svalucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley F, Manager at Spring Valley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

So very happy to read your lovely review, and we hope you wiil ride with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I was just looking for something different to do on our "staycation" and am so glad we found Spring Valley Farm right in our own backyard. What a fun and knowledgeable staff! We had an AWESOME time on our trail ride through the rolling meadows of the farm, past all the newborn calves, pigs, horses, etc., across the creek, past the cabins, through the woods, and back to the barn. There were beautiful mountain views, good people, and very well trained horses. This was the first time my 13 year-old son had ever been on a horse. He is ecstatic and can't wait to go back for more. There are lots of options as far as horseback riding, carriage rides, and lessons go. They also have cabins to rent for a very reasonable price, and our family plans to try them out sometime. What a relaxing setting just to kick back, do some fishing, swimming, and horseback riding. This would be a great attraction for people visiting Smith Mountain Lake. It is located about 10 - 15 minutes to the lake. I can't believe I have lived in the area for over 25 years, and just found out about this place. I have always wanted to own a farm, but with Spring Valley so close by, I am sure this will become like a second home to us now.

1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley F, Manager at Spring Valley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

I surely hope you will come back and ride with us again! We are pleased to read your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spring Valley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing