We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous area and beautiful water”

Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Moneta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
OBX
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gorgeous area and beautiful water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my first trip to stay at Smith Mountain Lake. Coming from the coast and our murky waters I can say this lake is awesome. Clear water, clean area, will definitely come back again sometime. We rented a pontoon boat and just putted around the lake exploring coves and also went to see the dam from the water. Bridgewater Plaza was neat and be sure to feed the fish there. It looks like the water is boiling! The lake was not as crowded as I thought it might be, that was a pleasant surprise. Really enjoyed our time at SML and will be back again sometime.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    37
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ENJOY!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a huge lake with over 500+ miles of shoreline. Come up and rent a house, rent a boat and relax! The lake is pretty laid feel, there are places to eat that you can take the boat too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay dockside Saturday and Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Beautiful lake, scenic surroundings and great fishing. The one recommendation: use caution when boating on the week-end. The lake can get very busy and some people don't follow boating rules. Two must visits: Bridgewater Plaza and SML Dam. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
428 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Whether for a day or an extended vacation, Smith Mountain Lake has a lot to offer. My family lives about 40 minutes from the lake and decided to rent a condominium for a couple of days and enjoyed time on the lake and at a resort near the lake. We rented a pontoon boat for four hours and cruised around some of the many coves, enjoying the beautiful scenery and swimming. Having a map is a good idea since the lake's geography is confusing. Traffic on the lake can get busy during spring, summer, and fall weekends, but weekdays are less crazy. You might have to drive between 15-20 minutes to get to a local restaurant, depending on where you're staying, of course. Smith Mountain Lake is an easy drive from all points in Virginia and North Carolina.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shady Spring, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The lake is great! Would retire there if I could! Take as boat out on the lake! Beautiful, beautiful lake and area! Will be back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank charles l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smith Mountain Lake also viewed

 

Been to Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing