We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Spot - Fantastic Home!”
other travellers have booked this property
6 rocking chairs on screened porch for wide water view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
6 rocking chairs on screened porch for wide water view
stretch the photo for 180 degree panorama from our dock at sunrise Great Room 29x29 for large groups
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
6 rocking chairs on screened porch for wide water view
stretch the photo for 180 degree panorama from our dock at sunrise
Great Room 29x29 for large groups
1300 SF of porches ... screened and open ... with spectacular views
Still waters of sunrise
Screened Upper Porch w Tables for a feast and Hammock for a siesta
More of the Great Rm
The View is Always Spectacular from the Rocking Chairs of the Screened Porch
The Lower Level Open-air Porch
Queen Bedroom of Upper Level
King BR of Lower Level w Picture Window View of Lake
Queen BR of Lower Level w Picture Window View of Lake
Twin Kalista Sinks in Upstairs Bath
The Bunk Rm of the Lower Level
Twin Beds of Upper Level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moneta, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
matthiasg...
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Spot - Fantastic Home!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was my first time to Smith Mountain Lake and I was not disappointed. We used this home as one of our lodging options for a church retreat, and it was awesome. The location is perfect, secluded but not too far away from everything, with a beautiful view of the water, a fantastic porch complete with hammock and rocking chairs, and a well-furnished, comfortable interior. The house is a good size! Big, but not so large that you feel separated from everyone else. Gary (the owner) was awesome and gracious, very communicative and kind. This is a great spot to watch God show off! Can't wait to come back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdieMcM
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun with old college friends!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house was perfect for the 5 of us staying there! We spent much time in the rockers on the porch, enjoying the beauty and serenity of the lake in front of us! The house is very well equipped with plenty of kitchen items, games, videos, and CD's. We enjoyed one night....it didn't rain.....down on the dock for our happy hour! Thank you Gary for the use of your great house! We DID hate to leave!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great room area and screened-in porch
Liked least: Was advertised as having 3 bathrooms, but only has 2 and an outdoor hot/cold shower, However the 2 bathrooms were very good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaJamie...
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect family get away, awesome location too!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Friends of mine from Richmond were coming with a group of ladies from their church to visit Smith Mountain Lake for a weekend trip. They found this home on line and asked that I go view it for them to be sure it was advertised as it really was. This home really is adorable, and such a gentle lot and spectacular views too! And I can tell you, the location in proximity to all area amenities is perfect by boat and car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great open "great room" with lots of seating for fun gatherings.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner A
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere with an Amazing view!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We went on Labor weekend and it was busy. Getting a place with a view and some quiet time at night was well worth it! The view is almost mesmerizing. The kids gobbled up all the lake activities- kayaking, paddle boarding, swimming, etc. As the world winds down and the crickets behind you chime in and you're with friends and family having some wine, beer, pop or tea....Smith mountain Lake is the Home Run! Gary's place is perfect for any lake activity. Plenty of room for three families and it has a nice location in the cove. We recommend it. The owners were Easy to work with as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieEll...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a great place for a family vacation.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This house worked perfectly for our vacation. Our mother loved the screened porch with rocking chairs and the walk to the dock was one she could do easily.

Thank you Gary and Rhonda for opening your home to us for a wonderful family vacation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bent Mountain, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: screened in porch, dock, roomy lving-kitchen-gathering area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crozet, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, style and decor of home and the amenities they provided. I was pleased their was no internet
Liked least: I was concerned with the size if our group and only 2 bathrooms, but it was never a problem. I guess what I liked least is having to leave. :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing