We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special view, special people, special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Point Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Monterey B&B and Inns
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special view, special people, special place”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely few days here while walking in the least populated county this side of the Mississippi. Jim and Lorraine were wonderful hosts as was their dog - Jodie - who happily joined us for our first walk up the mountain at the back. The view is stunning and constantly changing with the weather. Breakfasts were a delight - lovingly cooked by Lorraine and introduced with a prayer by Jim. The room had a touch of American Gothic - clean and home spun. A must-stay if you ever happen to be in Highland County.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Laurel Point has the best views from a residential structure I have ever seen in my life-- and I have been to over 30 countries. In fact, Laurel Point may have the best mountain views of any B&B in the country. But the views are not the only reason to visit. Jim and Lorraine are a truly exceptional couple. Jim is outgoing, talkative, and makes you feel like a special visitor. Lorraine is quiet and welcoming, is a fabulous cook and baker, and makes you feel at home. They both seemed so at peace and thankful for their life on the mountain top, and that serenity made my husband and I feel relaxed as well. And the FOOD! Delicious. And Lorraine will give you her recipes. The decor is mostly antiques and has a homey feel. It seems to fit so well that even my husband, who hates antiques, felt very comfortable and snug there. I have never had a better B&B experience, and I really can't imagine how it could be topped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was traveling to visit my sister in Maryland and decided to take a side trip to this neat mountain town having visited there twice before. This time was February 2014 and snow covered the ground but I did not have difficulty driving. Just stayed one night but had a really good clean room with view. Hosts were top of the line.As I was the only guest did not expect the gourmet breakfast but got it nonetheless! This was by far the best place I have stayed in Monterey & will be my choice for future visits to the area. Thank you Jim & Lorrain

Room Tip: My room had a great view of the mountains & I will request it if available in the future. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192jerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Traveler couple in late 60's. Among our very best B&B experiences ever. The setting is beautiful, and the B&B itself is rustic, warm, and welcoming, very well designed, furnished, and operated. But best of all are the proprietors, Jim and Lorraine White, whose rural life and gentle ways coddled us like family from the first moment to the last, but leaving us to visit with others or to our own devices as we preferred. By evenings' end we'd spent most of the time visiting with other travelers, whom we welcomed and continued visiting - and staying well past our departure time - the next morning over coffee and a spectacular breakfast.

Perhaps reduced a bit these days, the Whites produce many of the foods served, including baked goods, jams and jellies, eggs, bacon and sausages, and other delights.

We're looking for an excuse to return, maybe for the Christmas pageant.

Room Tip: Although we had no need, our room was designed to accommodate wheel-chair bound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in the Mountain View Room for a night. This is definitely the best B&B that we've ever stayed in - in terms of quality, service, location and value. We were greeted by Jim the owner, who has been working in the farm as we drove up, and shortly after, Jodie the playful dog, who warmly greeted us. Lorraine, Jim's wife, led us to our room. The room was nicely furnished with antiques and handcrafted items, some were made Lorraine. The view was absolutely fabulous. You could see mountains after mountains on a clear day. No air cond is needed as it was cool enough at night simply by opening the window.

We enjoyed sitting on the lawn chairs outside the house just before the sunset. (The sun set behind the trees though). Not a big deal, as Jodie and the cat would try to get your attention and the horse and the friendly donkey were grazing nearby. Jim offered a tour to his highland cattle and vegetable garden. They grew all kinds of vegetables themselves. It was cloudy in the morning but I enjoyed sitting in the rocking chair by the window watching the clouds moving in and out of the mountains. I think it was therapeutic to watch the weather!

Breakfast was certainly another highlight. the homemade jam, homemade bread, delicious egg casserole, freshly squeezed juice, freshly grind coffee, fruit salad. We enjoyed breakfast as Jim shared his stories. Lorraine is definitely a great cook and potter. A lot of the pottery in the house was made by her. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Our GPS (with an updated map this year) was spot on. Google and Bing Maps should able to get you there too, and there was a small sign on the main road at Sounding Knob Road, as well as at the entrance of their driveway.

Room Tip: The best view, no doubt, is the Mountain View Room where you can see endless mountain ranges in a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Laurel Point Bed and Breakfast is the best place we have ever stayed. We were three adults and three small children, and we stayed in the cabin. It was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the grounds were lovely. JIm and Loraine were very friendly and welcoming, especially with our children. Jim showed the kids the animals and allowed them to pick veggies in the garden for a salad. We also went on many walks with Jodie, their dog. Lorraine's cooking was delicious, and everything seemed to be made from scratch. Best breakfast we have ever had.

This place is a perfect retreat if you want to get away from everything and enjoy crisp mountain air and lovely views. Thanks for the great trip!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KIm-In-Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent a night at Jim and Lorraine's place on our way to drop our kids off at camp. We are a couple and 3 kids (ages 11, 9, 5). The location is stunning - the views from the patio are amazing - and the house and property are wonderful: Lorraine let the kids pick some veggies in the garden; Jim took us on a tour to see the cows/horse/donkey, and the other cute little rental houses on their property; and the kids loved playing with Jody the dog! The bedrooms were perfect for us: 1 room with a queen, separated but connected to another room with a full-size and queen-size bed and en suite bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was scrumptious, and our jog up the trail to the fire tower was tiring but fun! The B&B is kind of hard to find, so ask Jim for directions before you set out. Recommend it if you're traveling through the area!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifersquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
23.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Buckhorn Inn
The Buckhorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Churchville
79 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
20.3 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
110 reviews
23.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Point Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Retreat

Property: Laurel Point Retreat
Address: 414 Sounding Knob Road, Monterey, VA 24465
Region: United States > Virginia > Monterey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing