We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Charming Place!”
Review of Highland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The staff and service were outstanding and very helpful in deciding where to bicycle and hike in the area. The rooms were charming and very clean, a great value! Could use a little work, but in this economy I will side with the small business owner and we still had a wonderful time. The food was great and the local trails and parks were well worth the long and winding road trip. I highly recommend this Inn and the food!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bicycletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2010

We just ended a wonderful romantic weekend at the highland inn. The staff was attentive and very nice. The continental breakfast was delicious, including some light pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs, and fresh fruit. We also ate two meals (friday night dinner and sunday brunch) at the restaurant, however the food offered was overpriced and of average quality. If you wanted to eat only one meal in the hotel, I would strongly recommend the Sunday Brunch.

The town the hotel is in is very small but the people are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed visiting a number of the small shops off of Main Street. One gentleman spent the time to draw us a map of a couple scenic drives that would be worth taking. The drives in and out of town were breathtaking! There was snow on the ground and everything was beautiful.

The hotel is 100 years old but for its age the hotel was in very good condition, and I had no concerns for safety. Despite other reviews, I saw no exposed wiring, and there was plenty of hot water. There were some cracks in the plaster, but anyone who knows anything about 100 year old plaster walls knows that cracking in inevitable. We found the room to be spacious, well equipped (hair dryer, dresser, tv, coffee pot), and cozy. For us, the whole building had a lot of character and charm for a building of this age.

The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. They had no problems accommodating a late checkout or getting us ice when we needed it. Someone was at the desk most of the time, and someone was always nearby if needed.

We had a wonderful experience there and would definitely stay there again. If you're staying we would strongly recommend "taking in the water" at the nearby jefferson pools.

Bottom line is if you're looking for a Holiday Inn, this is not the hotel for you. If you're looking for a more personal experience at a hotel with some character, check it out!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We were at the Highland for a gathering of MINI Cooper owners for a weekend drive. I was the organizer and Lisa and the staff at the Highland couldn't have been more helpful. They bent over backwards to accommodate our group. Even rescheduling their evening dinning times. They really went overboard.

The place is old, over 100 years old in fact. Therefore, no one expected amenities of a 5 star resort. The place, is in a word, comfortable. It makes me feel like I was visiting one of my friends grandmothers houses when I was a kid. But out of the 17 families that attended there wasn't a single complaint. We basically took over the place and one couple in the group said it felt more like a frat house than a hotel. Having said that, we are all in our 30's or more, so we were very respectful to the other guests there

Chef Lisa Jamison did a fantastic job with dinner. Everything on the menu was superb.

I can see how some less forgiving people would think the place is run down and worn out. I've stayed at some nice resorts over the years and while the Highland isn't in the same league, it is still a wonderful place. If you aren't looking for the newest Marriott or the like, pass the Highland by. But if you'd like to step back in time and have a very unique experience, by all means, book a room! I'm sure going to return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maacodale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The condition of the hotel is almost beyond belief. If it were in a more populated area, the local code inspectors would certainly close it down. Hot water in the shower disappears suddenly, wiring is exposed and all the lamps and the TV are on extension cords. The door on the room and the bathroom door didn't fit the jambs, and you could see into the room from the hall. Our bathroom door was actually hung upside down. The main stairs going to the third floor lean away from the wall and are dangerous to walk on. The rooms are separated by a single door, so that normal conversation in the next room can be understood very clearly. All the plaster is broken up, and the hotel is in extreme disrepair. We will visit Monterey again, but wouldn't stay at this place again on a bet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomkaren1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We spent a Sunday night at the Inn on one of the two hottest days of the summer. In Richmond it was 98, in Monterey it was in the low 80s with a cool breeze. Very nice.

Monterey is the country seat of Highland County, or Little Switzerland as the area is known because of the high Allegheny Mountain elevations.

For those who like a period feel to accommodations (we do), the Inn is attractive and nicely decorated in late 19th C. style. A real attempt has been made to keep the feel of a modest mountain resort of the old school and it succeeds.

The Inn is badly in need of a visit from Ruth Watson of The Hotel Inspector though.

The first and most glaring problem is no one at Reception to welcome guests. We wandered around for about ten minutes before we finally found an employee in the breakfast room/bar, who happened at the time to be nibbling on the Continental breakfast buffet.

She came over and spoke to us with her mouth full and told us to come back to check in after 2. When we returned there was still no one at the Front Desk. A sign at the desk telephone instructed guests to pick up the phone to summon staff.

Eventually someone, casually dressed to the extreme, drifted out from somewhere and showed us to our room. She then disappeared again after promising to get us a bucket of ice for the room. When we needed ice we had to go through the telephone bit again, then wait while she opened the bar, got the ice and gave us the bucket.

Our room, a "superior" room that had a little sitting area and a king-sized bed, was nicely decorated and comfortable, the bed had lots of pillows. The room opened via a screen door onto the second story wrap-around porch with rocking chairs. It was cool and leafy up there, had rather a tree-house feeling.

The only problem was that at dusk thousands, maybe it was hundreds but it seemed like thousands, of swallows came to roost in the trees by the porch. The noise was incredible for about an hour or two until they settled themselves for the night.

Be forewarned: the hotel is not air conditioned. This probably makes sense as the weather is cool in the summer. Open windows and fans cool the interior which means that all the sounds of the surrounding area can be heard, including the swallows bubbling in spurts through the night.

Breakfast is included in the price, a nice continental breakfast served in the cozy bar. On Sundays a buffet Brunch is served in the main Dinning Room although we didn't partake.

As we were having our coffee and slice of poppy seed cake, the cleaning lady came out of the dining room loaded down with mop, broom and pail. She looked at us without speaking and went on her merry way.

Turns out this lady was the Innkeeper! She had not greeted us or even acknowledged two guests in her inn. Ruth Watson would not approve!

As we checked out we asked if she were the innkeeper, she said yes. As she had been cleaning she was dressed in old clothes and her hair was flying around her head. She acted and appeared far more like a member of staff than the owner of the establishement.

She didn't introduce herself, we were not asked how our stay had been, how we had liked the area or anything. There was no rudeness but also no gracious welcoming attention at all. The words "low-key" would give an altogether too lively impression!

The Highland Inn has a lot going for it including an historical setting in a delightful mountain village. But the inn suffers from a lack of gracious personal attention that is expected in a privately owned, period property.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StickyToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We have visited Monterey in the past and loved the town thus decided to stay in the heart of the town; the Highland Inn. Walking into the Inn we noticed that the lobby smelled damp and musty. Ok it had been rainy and the place is a century old, understandable. We also expected to see cracks and repairs etc. We were not expecting to see repairs that looked as though they were performed by a two year old or mold/mildew in the shower or dust so thick under the bed that a dust bunny would have been lost nor were we expecting the smell of pure filth. Needless to say we will never return to the Highland Inn nor recommend to friend or foe. I would rather sleep in a tent in the forest!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rockinrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highinn, Oener at Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2009

The dust under the beds was a great concern to our housekeepers who take care of the Inn as if it was there own. We did find two of our less rented small had some dust under the beds that had been overlooked. We inspected all showers and baths and could not find any mildew. Our summer has been pleasantly cool, with more rain than usual. Still the most that we notice is the pleasant ozone from the rain. This might seem different to some who are used to air-conditioning. We certainly wish we had an opportunity to address their concerns while they were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is just a warning. We had stayed at the Highland Inn earlier for a college geology trip. And we had eaten at the restaurant even earlier for the same reason.

Since we loved the little town of Monterey, we made reservations at the Highland Inn in Oct., 2007. Surprisingly, we got a room with a king bed and a door onto the second story porch.

We found out why very soon. The restaurant at the Highland Inn wasn't open for the first half of the week. We were left with the "home cooked" food of the restaurant across the street. That food came out of cans. A waitress assured us of that. On the last night of our stay in early October, the pizza restaurant opened.

We enjoyed our stay, but we wished that we had looked at the times the restaurant at the Highland Inn was open before we had made our reservations.

We have no problems with the Highland Inn. (OK, on one stay we had yellow jackets flying in our room. They were trying to get in from the cold. Get over it. We had no stings.)

I recommend this hotel for the latter part of the week in the fall.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
22.6 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
119 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Buckhorn Inn
The Buckhorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Churchville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
196 reviews
22.4 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
61 reviews
22.5 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Inn

Address: 68 West Main Street, P.O.Box 40, Monterey, VA 24465
Region: United States > Virginia > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging guests on Main Street in Monterey since 1904, this late Victorian hotel is a Virginia Historic Landmark and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Now a Country Inn with 18 individually decorated rooms and suites - each with private baths, TV, WiFi and Continental Breakfast. The Inn offers regional American dining, Wednesday through Saturday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing