We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Montross
Ranked #1 of 1 Montross B&B and Inns
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife found a good deal on Living Social which we used recently to celebrate my birthday. This is the best B&B that we have ever encountered! The owners, Ken and Cindy, were most personable and treated us like close friends. Since Cindy is a culinary school graduate, the food was outstanding. A gourmet dinner is available Thursday through Saturday and an epic brunch is offered on Sunday. The inn itself is lovely, impeccably decorated, and very comfortable. Lots to do nearby - golf, wineries, historic sites and waterfront villages.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms were pretty much the same but the two furtherest from the stairs would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
91
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I purchased a great deal on Livingsocial for a wine touring package and weekend stay for 2 at The Inn at Montross for a GREAT price! I wasn't sure what to expect since this was my first Livingsocial vacation purchase, and my first time staying at a B&B. It was a great experience! The Inn is beautiful! The rooms are elegant and clean, comfortable beds, and the food and hospitality are excellent! There were more wineries in the area than we could ever possibly see in a day, and all within a very very short driving distance. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I also highly suggest you have dinner at the Inn at least one night, as well as join in on the Sunday brunch...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 316Skyscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I spent Easter weekend 2014 at the Inn at Montross & loved it. The owners & staff were gracious & extremely accommodating. I enjoyed the bar area & fireplace as well as the well stocked library upstairs. Every room in the inn was cheeful, light & cozy. All the guest rooms were appealing & the food was delicious. I ate Fri. night dinner (extensive menu & desserts) & Sun. brunch (really special!). There is plenty to do within a 20 minute drive -- great wineries, Stratford Hall, etc. I explored a bit past Hague & found Cole's Point & even some homegrown bluegrass/country music. I can't wait to return! Thank you -- this was one of the best Easter's I've ever had.

Room Tip: They were all lovely. I'm partial to the Stratford, General Washington & Potomac rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Beautiful inn with delcious food close to Stratford Hall, Wakefield, Washington's birthplace and Ingelside winery (and Westermoreland Berry Farm during season.) Did not spend the night althought there were several out of state guests staying there while we were dining there. Staff very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetobeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

90-minutes from Richmond, a night away from the kids to celebrate our 18th, and found this B&B on TripAdvisor. We arrived at this two-story yellow 19th Century house with inviting front porch and rockers in late afternoon, fire in the fireplace, owner-chef greeting us by first name and offering a cocktail, as if we were long lost family. Our room on the second floor was deliciously quiet, just birds chirping, and decorated with the plastic flowers and tacky flower paintings my Mom filled our house with, so felt right at home. Comfortable bed and pillows, soft sheets, silent heater, modern walk-in shower. No tv, but open free wi-fi, if ya gotta do media. We went down for dinner at 7, and we were frankly amazed at the delightful meal in this out of the way country town. My favorite was a scallop/creamed grits/bacon appetizer, but my filet (local Angus) was fork tender, perfectly medium-rare and so flavorful! My wife had a shrimp dish that was just as good. We had local wines that were also first rate, from Hague Vineyard. Heavy rain all night and nowhere to go, so slept in and wandered downstairs at 11 for a brunch that was yet another delight -- homemade waffles with homemade jams, omelets, etc. Locals came in for this and you could tell it's a regular spot for celebrations in the area. We had to go. Kids were waiting at home. But such a relaxing stay and such friendly, professional attentiveness, exactly when needed, and left to our quiet room, when also needed. Love this place, and thank TripAdvisor for tipping us to it!

Room Tip: We took the Garden Room in back, and it was so wonderfully quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Can't say enough positive things about our weekend staying at the Inn. The staff were wonderful, warm, and inviting. From the second we walked through the door until we left, we felt at home here. The bar area was a great place to mingle with other guests before and after dinner. The food here was absolutely delicious!!!! I recommend everybody, even if not staying here, to visit for dinner and brunch at least. The area is full of history and is a great place to visit local wineries as well. My wife and I will definitely be coming back for a visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDuo3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montross, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had my husband's 70th birthday dinner at the Inn at Montross. We had the large table in the "office" for the 8 of us. It was a perfect evening. The staff were attentive and friendly. 3 of us had the Salmon Wellington which was so tasty and 3 of us had the best meatloaf I have ever tasted, made from local grass fed beef. The vegetables were less perfectly cooked too. Thank you all for marking Randy`s birthday so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilmerwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montross
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
#1 of 2 in Dahlgren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Washington & Lee Motel
Washington & Lee Motel
#1 of 1 in Montross
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
12.5 mi away
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Colonial Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Montross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Montross

Property: The Inn at Montross
Address: 21 Polk St, Montross, VA 22520-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Montross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1790's Colonial Bed and Breakfast with 5 Guestrooms. All guestrooms have private bath, queen size beds, free WIFI and climate control. The Inn has a lovely and favorably reviewed 60 seat restaurant where guest arrive at opening and remain until closing. The Inn makes memories! The first floor has an inviting fireside bar and comfortable seating to relax, read or engage with other guest.The Pub Downstairs has 10 draft lines full bar and 5 televisions to enjoy all your sports games and also live music from the local musicians on the weekends The Inn has 5 local neighborhood vineyards they entice you to visit as well as historic Stratford Hall Plantation and George Washington's Birthplace. So come get away and do as little as you like, sit on the rocking chair front porch with a glass of local wine, or go out and explore. We will see you here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing