We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Montross
Nearby Hotels
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Quality Inn(Warsaw)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Tappahannock)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach(Colonial Beach)(Great Value!)
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
133
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge washington's birthplaceb bfossil beachrelaxing weekendbisqueantique shopswestmoreland state parkour room was spaciousroasted codwinerieswineryaccommodationsproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Inn at Montross was the perfect casually-elegant choice for a recent family wedding celebration. Cindy and staff were so helpful in all aspects of planning and carrying out the event. The Inn and grounds were a beautiful and home-like setting for 3 generations of family to enjoy a relaxing evening . The front porch rocking chairs and the pub were great before and after dinner gathering spots for sharing stories and making new memories. The food and drinks were spectacular! Everyone raved about the attentive service. The staff made us feel so at home. We will definitely plan to hold future family events at The Inn at Montross! THANK YOU CINDY AND STAFF!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A group of college friends decided to have a mini-reunion weekend. We took over the Inn at Montross for the weekend, even utilizing a cottage down the road to accommodate some of the group. Everything was perfect - from the room accommodations to the service and especially the wonderful food. Cindy and Ken are perfect hosts and make you feel like old friends. There is nothing that is too much to ask of them. There are many sights in the area and, if you have a group, you can arrange wine tours or visit the historic homes in the area or just sit on the front porch of the Inn (or in the bar area) and enjoy a cool drink. The Westmoreland County Museum is right next door with plenty of interesting exhibits explaining local history. You won't be disappointed if you spend a weekend or just celebrate a special occasion at the Inn. This was not our first visit and certainly not our last.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The Inn at Montross while visiting family in the area. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating. They are very friendly but not pushy and know just when to be right there when you need them. The breakfasts were some of the best I have ever tasted - really. The rooms and other areas are beautifully decorated in keeping with the historic nature of the community. I would certainly stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On a recommendation from friends in the area, our family spent the weekend at the Inn at Montross. The laid-back elegance of this little B&B was just what we needed! The owners and staff were attentive - but didn't "hover." As for the meals, I've rarely eaten better duck or softshell crabs, and the creativity of the chef really shined. The cottage we stayed in was beautiful. As we swung in a hammock under a canopy of fruit trees, our 10 year-old daughter asked if we could move and stay here forever. That made my day!!!

Outside of the Inn there is plenty to do - particularly if you have any interest in early American history. You can go explore Washington's birthplace, as well as Robert E. Lee's - all within a 15 minute drive from "downtown Montross"! Westmoreland County is a treasure trove of great history, wonderful people, and beautiful countryside. Add to that the many vineyards in the area and you'll see why this Inn will become a regular destination for our family.

Room Tip: If you are coming with a family, check out the "East 'N Cottage" with full kitchen, etc.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Atwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was an ideal place to stay for a weekend with our 8 month old, since the rooms are directly above a casually elegant restaurant with delicious food at varying price points. Once he was sleeping, we locked the door and headed downstairs with our baby monitor for dinner. The rooms are simple but spacious for a B&B and impeccably clean. The location was within 15-25 minutes of at least 4 wineries, and the wineries or Eastern VA are worth visiting for bargain tastings of good wines. $5-$6 is the going rate for tastings, and we picked a wine to buy at each of the ones we visited over the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews