We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Working Class Don't Picnic Here, Elite Enjoy our Bistro”

CrossKeys Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CrossKeys Vineyards is a beautiful 125 acre estate with 35 acres of vineyards. This small batch, family run winery currently produces around 8,000 cases of 12 different wines per year that are estate grown, produced, and bottled. With the first vines planted in 2001 and our first harvest in 2006, the winery opened its doors in May of 2008. In late 2012, the CrossKeys Bistro, our onsite restaurant, was established. In addition CrossKeys hosts many events, both public and private, and of course lots of weddings.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Working Class Don't Picnic Here, Elite Enjoy our Bistro”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As a resident of the Shenandoah Valley for 13 years, I like to tour wineries from time to time in this beautiful state. However, my recent visit to Cross Keys Vineyard was discriminatory based on income. As soon as me and my boyfriend drove up to the complex in our '98 Toyota Corolla, we were greeted by signs saying "No outside food." I was surprised since most vineyards I have been to allow and even encourage picnicking on the grounds with, of course, a bottle of their wine. We went into the tasting room and asked about this policy. We were told that the facility did not allow outside food since they have a bistro, which we later discovered would only be priced for the elite and not working class folks like ourselves. Also, the crackers to cleanse the palate had to be purchased and were not just openly provided. We choose a white wine tasting at $6 per person and were only given 4 wines to try, quite unlike other more generous vineyards we have been to such as Barren Ridge and others. Certainly, the view was gorgeous but the treatment was snobbish. Bring your American Express and drive up in a Beamer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Meghan, thank you so much for your feedback. While we understand your complaint, unlike most vineyards, we have a full-service restaurant. The pricing of all the menu items is comparable to other local restaurants and vineyards in the area. Our goal at CrossKeys Vineyards is to provide an enjoyable experience for everyone, regardless of income. We hope you can give us another chance and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    11
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stopped in for a wine tasting and got so much more than we bargained for. Ryan was extremely well versed on all the wines and very informative about them, the vineyard and the history behind the name. The scenery is to DIE FOR!! A wonderful experience and one that we hope to repeat again on our next trip to the Valley

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockerbietwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your experience. We would love for you to visit us again the next time you are in the Shenandoah Valley. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more sensational!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cross Keys Vineyard is lovely”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My daughter and I went to enjoy a wine tasting with cheese platter and a tour of the winery. The winery is a bit off the path but. the views are absolutely breathtaking! We enjoyed the tour our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The tasting and cheese platter were very nice. We had a lovely time there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1soccermotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests enjoy their visit. We are so glad you made the trip. Please come to visit us again soon and let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went for a wine tasting and lunch. The views from anywhere you stand are amazing. We did the full tasting and enjoyed most of the wines. The Joy Red was my favorite. The food was ok...nothing really stood out as unique or fantastic but it wasn't bad.

Helpful?
Thank cbbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed both the wine and the views of our vineyard. We are sorry to hear that the food was not excellent, we strive to always ensure that every aspect of your visit is perfect. We hope that you will visit us again soon and give our Bistro another shot. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next trip exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch was great”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We attended a special JMU graduation lunch at the vineyard. The food was very good. We also tried some of the vineyards wine as we bought a few bottles for the table. There were tastings going on and you could also buy some wine and cheese and sit outside at tables with umbrellas. Overall a very enjoyable experience

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrossKeys V, Public Relations Manager at CrossKeys Vineyards, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so honored that you joined us for such a special day for your family. We hope that next time you are in the area you come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CrossKeys Vineyards also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to CrossKeys Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing