We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 10 years”

The Widow Kip's Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Widow Kip's Country Inn
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over 10 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Widow Kip's for many years; therefore, it has become a staple in our winery travels. Betty and Bob (B&B), are down to earth and have an open door policy. Our room is always reserved and we find comfort in knowing that when we arrive we are always greeted with a smile!! In 2008, we rented to entire main house to celebrate the 4th of July, our invited friends said they were pleased with the accommodations and the grounds.

A2Z

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I returned to this lovely bed and breakfast for our anniversary had a wonderful stay, as expected.

This bed and breakfast is charming and rural and a great value. It isn't a full luxury experience, and you'll probably want to drive 20 minutes or so to the nearest great restaurant as we did. If you like to drive and you like curvy roads you must drive through the mountain pass over to Luray. It was like being in a car commercial. And Luray is a nice play with good restaurants and Luray Caverns are actually quite astonishing to tour, and worth the entrance fee.

The Widow Kip's is also very near Skyline Drive, which is worth doing if you like to drive or you like panoramic views from the top of mountains.

As you will see from other reviews here, the Widow Kip's allows pets to visit. We stayed in the upstairs of one of the cottages and after breakfast met our downstairs neighbors taking their two dogs for a walk.

Our previous stays here (years ago) were during the cold weather so this was the first time we spent time outside at the pool, which was very nice though we could definitely hear the highway trucks going past as we swam, which wasn't very relaxing but I was delighted to have a pool at all and wasn't expecting a luxury spa.

Breakfast here is always a treat -- Betty made us the fluffiest pancakes with local blueberries plus bacon and fruit and a few other tasty treats. I think I saw they have free WiFi now but I was on a 24 hour electronic detox and did not have a chance to check it out.

All in all, I highly recommend that anyone who likes bed and breakfasts give this place a try. I loved it the first time I visited more than ten years ago and I loved it again this time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed in one of the cottage's and absolutely loved it. Very clean--comfortable--relaxing and everything you could need for the over nite stay. The host's are absolutely the best--very pleasant and charming. the highlight was the breakfast--wow wow--the whole meal was great--what a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. WILL GO BACK AND RECOMMEND TO ALL..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileybuster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed 1 night at Widow Kip's recently on the way to taking our dogs to the kennel. It was kind of a last minute thing and we were not expecting too much but it was really a nice place. The location is pretty good if you are doing the Skyline Drive. The Luses are lovely, down-to.earth friendly people and breakfast was top notch...especially for the kids. We were not expecting to bring our dogs as they were supposed to go to the kennel but it turned out the kennel was closed until the next day so we showed up in the rain, kids and dogs in tow. They never charged for the dogs and there was a great dog run in the back where we walked the dogs (off the leash). We never noticed the highway, which others complained of, and while the furnishings were not my style I still thought it quaint, nicely done, clean and roomy (which is very important with kids). Widow Kip's has charm (as do its owners) and comfort and I would happily return when doing the Skyline drive or other Shenandoah destinations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We found this b&b by chance....we stayed in one of the cottages and couldn't be happier....the bed was soo comfy...it was pretty quiet...the pool was a nice perk...the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful and hospitable...the breakfast was amazing..i even took pictures of the food...loved our stay ....thank you ....would recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmnnbb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

I and my wife stayed at this Inn for one night on vacation. The room was large, immaculately clean, with lovely antique furnishings, including some outstanding quilts. The Inn is on 7 acres of grounds including lots of trees and a hayfield next door. The hosts were gracious and the breakfast (waffles, among other things) tasty and very filling. Our only regret was that we arrived late and could not enjoy the grounds on the evening of our arrival.

Some reviews have mentioned highway noise - it was there if you listened for it, but it didn't bother us. I suggest that you be sure to follow the directions to get to the Inn, and look carefully for the signs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CobolKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

Both Bob and Betty went out of their way to make our short trip to The Shenandoah Valley unforgettable. A great welcome even though we were terribly late arriving. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was smashing, so different to what we normally have here in England, it's changed out diet!, The B&B itself is very close to many attractions not only within the valley, but also close to the Skyline Drive with it's sweeping vistas. It's such a shame that we didn't have longer there. A truly enjoyable stay! 4,000 miles away but we felt as if we were "just down the road" from home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woden666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Jackson
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Mount Jackson/New Market Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow Kip's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow Kip's Country Inn

Property: The Widow Kip's Country Inn
Address: 355 Orchard Dr, Mount Jackson, VA 22842-9753
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Mount Jackson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Jackson
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mount Jackson
Mount Jackson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing