We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly welcome”

The Widow Kip's Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Widow Kip's Country Inn
Brighouse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here early October 2012 for four nights. We arrived early, so sat on the porch and watched the wonderful birdlife in the garden - red cardinals included. The house is charming, as are the hosts, Bob and Betty. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were delicious every morning, especially the home made apple cinnamon syrup! We stayed in the main house, in the Marigold room, where the shower room can only be described as "cosy". You have to remember however, that 1820's houses didn't originally come with indoor plumbing. Stay here for the charm of the house and gardens, the breakfasts and the warm, friendly welcome of the owners. There is plenty to do in the area including caverns, a covered bridge, Skyline Drive and some great small towns with individual shops and restaurants. One tip is to use the smaller country roads to see some great scenery and only use the Interstate if you need yo be somewhere in a hurry. Widow Kip's is a great place to unwind.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are lovely with antique furniture and beautiful quilts. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k9nev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at Widow Kip's during a weekend trip to visit Luray Caverns. We stayed in the smaller cottage. I liked the privacy of the cottage and the decor fits with the country inn theme, but I personally thought it could use some updating. Some of the knick knacks were dusty, which made me question the cleanliness of the room, however I didn't notice any other cleanliness issues. We stayed with our dog, which they charge a pet fee like most B&Bs that accept pets. The reason I rate this stay as average is because compared to the other B&Bs we've stayed at, I felt as though Widow Kip's was lacking some amenities that we've enjoyed in the past that made us feel "at home." I think it's because we've been spoiled at other B&Bs. For example, other B&Bs left a dog bowl, towel and treats to welcome our dog. There was nothing at Widow Kips. Others have had welcome packets with maps and discounts in the room and complimentary snacks and water; I didn't see any at Widow Kips. Again, I know it sounds picky, but that's just the service I've experienced before and now expect at B&Bs. I will say the breakfast was very good and the hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLRuckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Widow Kip's for many years; therefore, it has become a staple in our winery travels. Betty and Bob (B&B), are down to earth and have an open door policy. Our room is always reserved and we find comfort in knowing that when we arrive we are always greeted with a smile!! In 2008, we rented to entire main house to celebrate the 4th of July, our invited friends said they were pleased with the accommodations and the grounds.

A2Z

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I returned to this lovely bed and breakfast for our anniversary had a wonderful stay, as expected.

This bed and breakfast is charming and rural and a great value. It isn't a full luxury experience, and you'll probably want to drive 20 minutes or so to the nearest great restaurant as we did. If you like to drive and you like curvy roads you must drive through the mountain pass over to Luray. It was like being in a car commercial. And Luray is a nice play with good restaurants and Luray Caverns are actually quite astonishing to tour, and worth the entrance fee.

The Widow Kip's is also very near Skyline Drive, which is worth doing if you like to drive or you like panoramic views from the top of mountains.

As you will see from other reviews here, the Widow Kip's allows pets to visit. We stayed in the upstairs of one of the cottages and after breakfast met our downstairs neighbors taking their two dogs for a walk.

Our previous stays here (years ago) were during the cold weather so this was the first time we spent time outside at the pool, which was very nice though we could definitely hear the highway trucks going past as we swam, which wasn't very relaxing but I was delighted to have a pool at all and wasn't expecting a luxury spa.

Breakfast here is always a treat -- Betty made us the fluffiest pancakes with local blueberries plus bacon and fruit and a few other tasty treats. I think I saw they have free WiFi now but I was on a 24 hour electronic detox and did not have a chance to check it out.

All in all, I highly recommend that anyone who likes bed and breakfasts give this place a try. I loved it the first time I visited more than ten years ago and I loved it again this time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed in one of the cottage's and absolutely loved it. Very clean--comfortable--relaxing and everything you could need for the over nite stay. The host's are absolutely the best--very pleasant and charming. the highlight was the breakfast--wow wow--the whole meal was great--what a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. WILL GO BACK AND RECOMMEND TO ALL..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileybuster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed 1 night at Widow Kip's recently on the way to taking our dogs to the kennel. It was kind of a last minute thing and we were not expecting too much but it was really a nice place. The location is pretty good if you are doing the Skyline Drive. The Luses are lovely, down-to.earth friendly people and breakfast was top notch...especially for the kids. We were not expecting to bring our dogs as they were supposed to go to the kennel but it turned out the kennel was closed until the next day so we showed up in the rain, kids and dogs in tow. They never charged for the dogs and there was a great dog run in the back where we walked the dogs (off the leash). We never noticed the highway, which others complained of, and while the furnishings were not my style I still thought it quaint, nicely done, clean and roomy (which is very important with kids). Widow Kip's has charm (as do its owners) and comfort and I would happily return when doing the Skyline drive or other Shenandoah destinations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We found this b&b by chance....we stayed in one of the cottages and couldn't be happier....the bed was soo comfy...it was pretty quiet...the pool was a nice perk...the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful and hospitable...the breakfast was amazing..i even took pictures of the food...loved our stay ....thank you ....would recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmnnbb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Jackson
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Mount Jackson/New Market Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow Kip's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow Kip's Country Inn

Property: The Widow Kip's Country Inn
Address: 355 Orchard Dr, Mount Jackson, VA 22842-9753
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Mount Jackson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Jackson
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mount Jackson
Mount Jackson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing