We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much history; beautiful place.”

George Washington's Mount Vernon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.00*
and up
Mount Vernon Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come share the fascinating moments of America’s first family with yours at George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Explore the beautiful mansion and grounds and get to know the man, the ideas and the values that founded a nation. Dive into history through action-packed theaters, fascinating exhibits and meet characters from Washington’s world. Admire the view of the peaceful Potomac, or hop on board a sightseeing cruise. It’s a place where history truly comes to life.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much history; beautiful place.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is so much to see, you need to plan ahead, and start early. Everything is within fairly easy walking distance, and there are lots of guides to help you. We got the audio guides and they really added to the experience. We learned a lot about the general running of a Virginia farm of that era, and about George Washington and his family. A great man. We were glad we went.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your day spent with us and made use of our wonderful audio guides. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,597
    693
    198
    47
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mount Vernon via the Potomac”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The most relaxing way to see Mount Vernon is to take the cruise from the DC Waterfront right to Mount Vernon, a journey of approx 90 minutes each way. Upon arrival, a brief walk uphhill (or shuttlebus) will take you to the plantation estate. Tour guides are on hand everywhere to explain and answer questions. The home has been furnished in perfect reproduction of the era with original colors in each room. The gardens are a delight. Not t be missed is Wahington's masoleum where he, his wife and 26 family members are interred. A fantastic day in a fantastic location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ssears123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the estate and the cruise across the Potomac. It certainly is quite a brilliant view.

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the General's tomb. You can participate in a Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Tomb to honor Washington as well at 10am and 3pm every day. This experience is included in your general admission ticket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and interesting day out”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Mount Vernon whilst on holiday in DC, the transport links to get there are very good. We went on a very quiet day which was great as we didn't have to que for the house. The museum area is very interesting and I left feeling that I knew alot more about George Washington than before I went.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Em_Anne_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for visiting the estate and your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and found the transportation options helpful. The Museum and Educations Center are certainly packed with information and "lesser known facts" about Washington, and we're glad you walked away feeling more knowledgeable than before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heyworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Rich with history and fantastic views”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to visit here at the end of our trip. It was a beautiful day and the temps were just right. The grounds are beautifully kept and so wonderful to explore. The mansion was fascinating and to hear all of the stories. The view from the back of the house to the Potomac was breathtaking. We went early in the day and I highly recommend this, if possible. The grounds were pretty busy when we left. We spent about 4 hours here exploring the gardens, the orchard, the mansion, the slave memorial, Washington's grave and the farming at the bottom of the grounds. Everyone was very knowledgeable about the house, the items in it and the grounds. My 13 and 11 year old sons even enjoyed Mt. Vernon. The only disappointment was the Mt. Vernon Inn Restaurant (see my other review on that).
This is a definite must see and you will not be disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LKS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for ending your trip with us, and I'm glad you and your family had an enjoyable time here. I certainly agree that the view of the Potomac is stunning. Want to see even more of the River? Take one of our cruises on our ship, Spirit of the Mount Vernon. You can purchase the tickets online.

Spring is a great time to see the estate because of the weather, and therefore is our most popular season! I am sorry to hear you had a less-than-stellar experience at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, George is still a rock star!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We bought our tickets online to avoid the queuing at the entrance but did not see the warning to arrive 30 minutes before your tour to trek from the parking lot to the mansion. We did make it just a few minutes late and the guide did not hesitate to put us in line. The Mansion has changed for the better in the 20 some years since we have been here. With the crowds I can't fault them for corralling you though in a timely manner. We spent a lot of time in the education center, this was done very nicely and a must visit portion of your day. Since they are pretty remote they do a fairly good job at providing meal options my only gripe is the cost, $27 for lunch for 2 in the food court! I really felt sorry for the family with 3 children next to us. Lastly I was disappointed in the gift shop They have at least 10,000 items with George Washington on them, everything from bobble heads, shot glasses and books. But sadly the one book I wanted, "The Spiritual Journey of George Washington" no one even heard of. I passed on the $185 bottle or rye.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMV, Public Relations Manager at George Washington's Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for making a return trip to visit us again! The estate has undergone a lot of preservation work and construction in the past 20 years, culminating in new projects and exhibits, such as the museum. We're very proud of how far the estate has come since The Mount Vernon Ladies Association took over in 1860.

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Education Center! We're sorry to hear that you could not find the book you wanted at the Shops and that you were disappointed by the price of the food court.

But we certainly agree with you that George Washington is still a rock star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Washington's Mount Vernon also viewed

 

Been to George Washington's Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing