We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and scenic place”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours that show visitors what life was like on a working plantation in the 1700s.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very interesting and scenic place”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The listing for this national monument is Mount Vernon, Virginia, but that's incorrect. The Washington Birthplace National Monument is located on Virginia's Northern Neck, near Colonial Beach and Westmoreland State Park.

We spent about 90 minutes there, and could have stayed longer if not for the heat and humidity.

There's a small visitor's center with a 14 minute video that talks about Washington's life and first four years at Wakefield (what the farm was called). After watching the video, you walk over to the memorial home, which also includes a model of what the kitchen building would have looked like, and the original foundation of the home. The view from the home out to Pope's Creek is beautiful. After touring the house and the outbuildings (which include farm animals), you can walk down to the water, over a footbridge and along the shore for a scenic walk. You might see eagles or ospreys, which are common in the area in summer.

After you walk back to the visitor center and get in your car, you can drive down to the family cemetery and a beach on the Potomac River. There's also a picnic area. The beach was very nice - great views in all directions.

There is no admission fee to enter the national monument. There is a little gift shop that includes a station to stamp your National Park passports if you or your kids have them.

We really enjoyed our time at this site and would recommend it to others interested in Virginia or George Washington history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank want2Bontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,971 reviews
1,084 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,918 helpful votes
“Washington's Birthplace has much interesting history”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a free National Monument that is a lovely spot with much history about George Washington and his family. He was born here and lived here until he was 4 years old. The orginal house no longer exists, but you can see the foundation outline of the home where he was born. In the visitors center there is a film of his early life and a small museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern NC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We loved the environment of the Birthplace. The gift "shop" was compact but had many choices. The ground were very neat and we especially enjoyed the memorial house. We didn't get to the family cemetary but we'll do that on a future visit. Staff were great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Visit to do it, don't expect much”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

For anyone interested in the life and times of George Washington this is a must- see, but be warned that there just isn't much to see. Considering that it is a rather long way from anywhere else, you have to really be interested to make the trip worth while.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had no idea what to expect especially when we drove down a lonely road and came upon a small scale version of the Washington Monument. We were pleasantly surprised though to find a very well thought out park that had places to picnic, interesting history, a museum, lovely roads canopied with trees and a great view of the Potomac River.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackjettye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birthplace National Monument also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, Fairfax County
Lorton, Fairfax County
 

Been to Birthplace National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing