We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very bad experience”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Although they told us breakfast was included, we had to pay for it and quality an choise of breakfast poor . They have packages deals; but they didn't tell us."To become the package deal you have to make reservation through internet, but if you are not able to make an internet-reservation maybe we grant you also the package deal(breakfast included)"!!!!! They refused us the package deal!!!! Oldfashoined hotel, unfriendly people at reception desk! (friendly in bar and restaurant)

Room Tip: if you like to visit " The Natural Bridge" choose an hotel in the neigbourhood( for exampl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    178
    169
    103
    131
See reviews for
271
279
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it's in a great location -- directly across the street (walkable via an underpass) from the Natural Bridge. The hotel is attractive from the outside, but once you walk in, you see that it's badly in need of renovation. The rooms (we stayed in Room 111 on the patio level) were small, old. Likely, it's been decades since the last renovation. The prices where very high (paying for location, location, location) at $100 plus. The dining room served very little healthy fare (mostly everything was fried and covered with high-calorie sauces). Even the fruit in the morning buffet was awful -- covered in syrup (clearly from a can). Really disappointing. Will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos_Reston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed here many times, going back to the 80s, and found it to be a nice place to stay. We usually stay in the cottages across from the main hotel. While they are old and need some sprucing up, they are more than adequate for my needs. Some have only showers, while others have bathtubs/showers, so ask @ the desk if that's an issue.
Very quite, with several picnic tables on the grounds, which are very nice to sit on and pass a cool fall evening. Plus you can park pretty much right by your room, which is nice. Haven't stayed at the main hotel in many years, but I do love the lobby.
We usually eat at some of the local restaurants, so I can't comment on the food at the hotel.
It would be nice, in 2013, to see more, if not all the rooms be non-smoking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Always stay here on Friday night for their wonderful seafood dinner. Considering the age we have found our reservations satisfactory and enjoy seeing the dining room employees smiling faces. The food is excellent. Check out the packages offered by the hotel that includes the illumination of the bridge and a trip through the caverns. Those that are disabled will have plenty of help going where you want to go. There are buses to take you to the illumination so no need to worry about a lot of walking. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and have seen good and bad room situations but know we will only be there a short time and the price you are paying some things we ignore. Now if we were paying 200-300 then we expect excellent. Go to Lexington while in area and tour the wonderful Virginia Military Institute.

Room Tip: Ask for your room to be located to view the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvilleMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here this past Friday night and had a wonderful time. The hotel is old and the rooms are dated and did smell a bit moldy/musty, but we've stayed in much worse. They rooms were roomy and appeared to be clean. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and welcoming. We had the buffet dinner on Friday night and the seafood was delicious! We were actually expecting mediocre, but were pleasantly surprised. They had shrimp, scallops, clam strips, crab legs, salmon and much more. The desserts were amazing as well. It's worth getting the package that includes the dinner! We had our 6 year old son with us and he enjoyed every aspect of this hotel as well. There's a lot for kids to do here, with the different exhibits and the game room! We will most certainly return in the future!

Room Tip: Balcony room with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had booked "mountain-view" rooms( most expensive in this hotel), which were advertised as "newly renovated". When we arrived at the hotel we were struck with the feeling of the necessity of the facelift: The chairs in the lobby were not just worn out, but were disgustingly dirty, the smell of the old dirty carpet in the hallways, some chemicals(probably cleaning solutions smell). Rooms were very smelly as well, nothing about ever recently renovated in these rooms, well used linen, uncomfortable beds, cheap and uncomfortable pillows.
The food in the restaurant (when we saw food choices for dinner buffet, we drove to the nearby Lexington and had a marvelous dinner there) was also very far from satisfactory:we made a mistake of having breakfast there. This place gives a bad reputation to Southern food and hospitality.

Room Tip: needs complete renovation of the hotel and change of the chef in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Where do I start? When we walked into the lobby all we smelled was mold and mildew. The first room we were in had a leak at the toilet. We changed rooms, big mistake! The second room was filthy, I had to clean up the bug carcass and an unidentified pill from the floor before my son would walk in. The dresser was broken,the carpet disgusting dirty, the windows were missing screens and some would not lock. We had WIFI problems that took four hours to resolve after 4 complaints to the front desk.
The only bright spot was the maintenance man was nice and helpful.
DO NOT RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Go 20 miles north to Lexington
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Natural Bridge
13.0 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
939 reviews
12.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
162 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
386 reviews
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
171 reviews
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel

Property: Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Address: 15 Appledore Ln, Natural Bridge, VA 24578-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing