We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mark Addy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 1 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mark Addy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had wonderful time as a quick getaway for me and my wife. The Inn was great, a wonderful, old home in very good shape for its age. The room was incredible (we had the Tiger Lilly). We spent a lot of time out locally visiting vineyards and breweries but the evening and breakfasts at the inn were great. And the staff was awesome too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    72
    24
    10
    15
See reviews for
26
249
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had an enjoyable two night stay at The Mark Addy. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The location is very convenient to the things we like to do... visiting historical settings, wineries, and UVA. (Go HOOS!) I love birds and enjoyed watching the parrot. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Mary Virginia Room has a nice porch attached, but we didn't use it as it was February.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We Stayed here for valentines weekend. We went skiing and it was very convenient for that. We were treating ourselves so we got the romantic package which included

2 night stay at our luxurious accommodations - It was beautiful, but we had no water one night and our toilet was broken (constantly flushing)

Daily breakfast for two - the breakfast was average, and if we hadn't paid for it we would have gone out somewhere

Welcome basket filled with a bottle of our best local wine, fresh fruit & cheese, and gourmet chocolate - our basket had wine, 2 bags of nuts, 4 chocolates, ritz bitz, gold fish, and soft grapes.

One 3 course gourmet candle lit dinner for two - for What we paid, i was a bit disappointed by the dinner.

We don't usually treat ourselves, so I was especially disappointed when it didn't live up to what we were hoping for. I would perhaps stay here again, but not get anything extra. There seemed to be a lot of great restaurants around that i would try.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfinn785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Let's start off with the good:
Beautiful setting
Close to Wintergreen and all the wineries/cideries
Room was quaint and cozy
Shower pressure was great

The best part of the night was certainly the super soft linens and comfy bed

The not so good...
The bathroom needed some significant renovations
The breakfast was sub par for a B&B.
Nothing seemed fresh-
No fresh juice, fruit that was served came mostly from a can, coffee was weak, pastries seemed to be microwaved from a grocery store. And the English muffin which my eggs Benedict was made was not even toasted. It was cold!
If you love dogs, then you wont mind dogs running through the house barking and even being in the kitchen when breakfast is being made.

The owners seem to be smokers, meaning the smell of smoke permeates the house.

This place has lots of potential but fell flat in my eyes....
I would go back.


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank explorerlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, and there were some really good aspects and some bad aspects to the Mark Addy Inn. First, the good. The house makes a good B and B, and it has a good location near skiing at Wintergreen, hiking nearby trails, the brew trail, and the vino circuit. The food at the Mark Addy was excellent. Breakfast was quiche with grits the first morning, and eggs benedict the next, with delicious breads/pastries. We also had dinner there one night; dinner only happens if there are 6 or more reservations. Dinner ambience was quiet, cozy, and the food excellent. It was a fixed price ($50 pp) for 4 courses with many choices. It was a great dinner from appetizers ( I had a crab cake) to entrée (I had salmon) to dessert (we both had coconut sorbet). The quality was first-rate, the dinner tasted great, looked great, all was great. Our room was the Mimosa, with beautiful east Asian décor, with a small bathroom but it had a nice claw tub equipped with shower. We peaked in other rooms and they also had nice décor. Our hosts were not the regular hosts/owners, as they were away, but were the owners’ son and daughter-in-law. They were friendly and were great hosts.

The bad aspects were apparent once checking into our room. The beautiful décor of the Mimosa was contrasted by a ceiling of many large water stains (apparently, the roof has leaked quite a bit), warping, and missing paint. There was an electrical receptacle that had sprung out away from the wall. The bathroom wall had the remnants of a fallen fixture; the bathroom didn’t need it, it just looked bad. The plumbing for the shower that ran up the wall from the tub had pulled away from its anchor to the wall and was just hanging. This probably didn’t help the leaking from the plumbing, which was enough to potentially cause consternation of the people in the room below. All of this needed repair could have been done very quickly, and would not have required the room to be off the market very long. Our room should not have been on the market until repairs were made. The foyer was another room that was “off” though it seemed intentional; it had a mix of wallpaper desperately in need of replacing and faux painted walls. A bit of kitsch artistry I guess.

The grounds had some nice features mixed with a junky look. A view from our bedroom was a bunch of extension ladders leaning against the deck. They could have easily been stored in or behind the rustic barn-like building. Other junk adorned the property, all of which could have been cleaned up in a short time. There was a porch with junk stored on it. Plus, there was a large motorhome parked or stored by the front; it was a nice looking motorhome, but it just didn’t belong at the front of the B and B.

These bad aspects could have just been temporary, and maybe we caught the place at a bad time, but there were a lot of them. The cost of the room was $129 per night, which is at the lower end of the spectrum for B and Bs in the area (around mid-VA- Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive), but not that low. Most, actually all, B and Bs we have stayed at in the area have been in a much better state-of-repair than the Mark Addy.

Would I return? Probably, just to see if things were fixed. Its location was good for us as we visited the frozen Crabtree falls and other local sites. Plus, I would for sure try their dinner again. If you aren’t too picky about appearance, then this place could be to your liking.

Suggestions to the proprietors: in addition to the repair upkeep issues, the rooms upstairs were too hot by many accounts; we slept with the window open in the winter and I hate the cold, the side kitchen needs an upgrade, and the number one suggestion is provide some drinks in the fridge or bottled water in the room; your place is too far out from conveniences to not have something available to drink for your guests. Of the ten other B and Bs in the area at which I have stayed, all have provided some form of beverage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Once again our stay at the Mark Addy was just what I needed. A chance to relax and recharge. The front porch view of the mountains is so beautiful. The wine reception, dinner and breakfasts were delicious. Thanks again to Leslie and Raffi for making us feel welcome. It doesn't matter what season I visit, there is always something to do. The kids went skiing and I enjoyed checking out some wineries and even a new hard cider tasting. Thanks again for a great visit.

Room Tip: I love staying on the second floor. I try a different room each time I visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We loved this place. The room was great and very spacious. The staff was outstanding and saw to every need. Beautiful views of the mountains at sunset, loved having out own porch! Not enough nice things to say.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diguru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
11.6 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
9.7 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Property: The Mark Addy
Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing