We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice and Quiet Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 1 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Nice and Quiet Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had the pleasure to take a weekend trip to the mountains for a stay at The Mark Addy Inn. We stayed for two nights and we had a very enjoyable stay. The bed was big and comfortable and we had a room with a semi porch off to our bedroom. The view of nature was awesome. It is a nice historical home with beautifully well maintained grounds. Leslie and Rafi are great owners and we sat on the porch and talked with them each day we were there. It is near wineries, and beer breweries.... just awesome. In fact, I am looking into returning again in the next few months.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 627deedeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    74
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
27
263
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Mark Addy for 2 nights while attending a wedding and it was fantastic. The room (Elena) was comfortable and clean, the bed was super comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was amazing. We also had access to a semi-private balconey (shared with one other room) and the front porch is perfect for drinking wine and enjoying the peace and quiet at night. The location makes this good jumping off point for all the breweries, wineries etc in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A lovely historical home in a beautiful setting, well maintained by gracious innkeepers, Leslie and Rafi. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfasts are creative and generous. An evening meal at the Mark Addy, while not inexpensive, is a special treat, with fresh local ingredients prepared to order by a skilled chef. Convenient to several nice wineries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBach427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Mark Addy B&B was a wonderful B&B experience for my sweetheart and I. We've just stayed in the same room where Thomas Jefferson stayed when he would visit with the owner to go hunting. The home's decor creates a sense of history and warmth. The grounds are charming without being perfect. Leslie and Rafi are excellent hosts and we felt welcomed from the first minute. Breakfasts were delicious. It's location on Nelson 151 is minutes away from several wineries, dining locations and antiques shopping. There is also easy access to Charlottesville about 30 minutes away.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Mark Addy is a great place to stay in Nelson County. Nicely situated just off Route 151, the Mark Addy is oriented away from the road, with the front of the house looking out over a field and off into the mountains. The Colonel is a large room with great space for relaxing on two recliners and with access to a shared balcony. The breakfasts were very good. Both days featured a light fruit-centric first course, followed by your choice of sweet breads and then the main course. We enjoyed a delightful quiche one day and a wonderful take on eggs benedict the next.

And, Leslie, who runs the show at the Mark Addy, is always willing to help. She made a point of telling us to bug her with any request or question, and we did. She is a great hostess.

Room Tip: The Colonel has two comfortable recliners that are the perfect reading chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a wonderful place for a extended weekend getaway. My husband and I found the Inn on Groupon with a wonderful discount for the 2 night stay. We have no complaints. Bed was very comfortable. Two comfortable robes for our use. Private bathroom. Two comfortable chairs in small room. Breakfast at 9:00a was delicious and filling. Inn was quiet. (3 other couples at the Inn) Outdoor places to sit. (Though we had rain all day) Great Breweries, wineries and restaurants close by. I will visit again and have already recommended the Mark Addy to friends.

Room Tip: "Mimosa" Room was a quite small but we were only in the room at night to sleep. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2604Arlene1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very comfortable, owner occupied b & b. We were in two rooms, due to the remodeling of our reserved room. Both were very quite nice. Our reserved room was available and enjoyed on the second night. That room, the Schloss, was great. Private porch to drink our morning coffee.

No t.v., not a problem for us.

The breakfast was much more than expected.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhughes501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
21.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,696 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
9.9 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
19.5 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Property: The Mark Addy
Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing