We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience”
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mark Addy
Ranked #1 of 2 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our 32nd wedding anniversary at the Mark Addy Inn. When I originally booked, I was told the restaurant would not be open for dinner as we were then the only guests with reservations. However, after I informed Leslie of the purpose of our visit, she and Raffie agreed to serve us dinner.
The dinner was great, and breakfast also very special. Raffie is a great cook. The room (Elena) was very nice--king bed with separate sitting room with a day bed. We could see the Wintergreen ski slopes from our window.
The highlight of our visit was the pets. Colby the dog escorted us to the dining room for dinner and slept on the floor as we ate. He is a very well behaved dog, sociable, but unobtrusive. Tiger, a 17 year old cat (who looks more like a kitten and was the same size as our three year old cat), joined us after dinner when we retired to our room. She settled down on the bed kept us company for the rest of the evening and then scratched at the door when she wanted to leave. She joined us again in the morning as we had coffee in our room before breakfast. She was happy to sit in my lap as I read and reminded me if I was not paying sufficient attention.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

Exactly what we needed! We were looking for a place to run away from the kids, but wasn’t too far away. We were selfish -- we wanted a romantic weekend of solitude, snow skiing, nightlife, good food and new friends. The Mark Addy was perfect!

The views were spectacular, and we were very close to the skiing up at Wintergreen. We spent a lot of time on the front porch watching the skies, mountains and enjoying the peace and solitude. The Inn was old and charming and provided us the much needed peace and relaxation we sought. The fireplace in our room and the ones in the public areas foot the bill for COZY. The innkeepers were very accommodating, but not pushy. They were responsive to our silly demands. They provided us with much info on things to do in the area, including the best places to eat and the best wineries to go to based on our likes. If you are looking for “Fancy Schmancy” this isn’t the place for you, but if you are looking for a clean, quaint and historical with more to do around than you will ever have time for – this place is perfect. We will definitely return again and again. We LOVED Colby and Tiger!!!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouryMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed here during a tour of the VA wine country. While I'm sure at one time this was a lovely little inn it is now run down and dirty. There is pet hair everywhere (they have multiple pets- to include a bird, dogs and a cat) and the owner's husband sat on the porch chain smoking all during our stay. Unfortunately, our room was directly ABOVE the porch. Since they didn't have the air conditioning running (it was in the mid-80's and HOT) we literally roasted. We tried opening the window and were greeted with a cloud of smoke.

When we (politely) asked that he not smoke directly under our room he moved about 10 feet and continued to smoke. The next morning at breakfast he was very rude.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank zagnutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelTal, owner at The Mark Addy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

These very pretentious folks are not telling the truth and, in fact did not mention in their review that when they asked to leave earlier than expected I was very happy to waive my cancellation policy (even though it was a holiday weekend) and I gave them a refund. Yes, we do have three pets here at the inn, so if you do not like animals this may not be the best venue to choose. I’m not sure what they found to be run down and/or dirty as they did not elaborate; although the many other guest reviews received do not reflect this at all as you can see. Most importantly they are lying about the air-conditioning. The room they were staying in has its own unit and I had it on when they checked in, as it was quite hot that day. Who would have guessed that in 80+ degree temperature, they would choose to open a window? Regarding breakfast… we make it clear (especially on busy weekends) that we have just one seating for breakfast and that is at 9:00 am. I do have to admit that when they showed up at 9:30 when everyone else was almost finished, my husband may have been a bit short as he had to cook a separate breakfast just for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We usually chose exceptional B & B properties on our trips rather than hotels. The reviews of this property would lead one to believe it would fit in that category. The property is sadly in need of maintenance. Dinner was unsatisfactory. Breakfasts were acceptable, but less than expected. The husband smoked on the porch thus denying its use to any guest that did not desire to be subjected to second hand smoke. It is significantly overpriced for the package it delivers. After staying at upper end B & Bs throughout the east coast, this property simply is grossly inadeuate in comparrison. If you wish an excellent B & B experience, go elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
28  Thank FrequentTravelers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelTal, Owner at The Mark Addy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

We were very surprised to receive you’re review almost 4 months after your stay. We would 1st off like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. This is extremely uncommon and we do wish you would have addressed your issues with us personally while you were here so that we could have made immediate remedies wherever possible.

We do not understand what you think is “badly in need of repair” as you did not elaborate. The inn was built between 1844 and 1910 and has almost all historical and original walls, windows, doors, etc. We are constantly making repairs and sprucing up to keep things nice without destroying any historical value, but as you know, Rome was not built in a day, so as hard as we try, perhaps we missed something and since you did not elaborate, we have no way of knowing what you are referring to.

As far as dinner being unsatisfactory, we are also puzzled about this and what specifically you found unsatisfactory. In four years we have had 4 people find that their dinner did not meet their expectations (we serve an average of 20 per week, so that is over 4000 people we have served.) The other three people, who let us know constructively and politely that they were, for what ever reason, unhappy, did not pay for their dinner, of course, as we would NEVER expect them to do so if they were not happy with their meal.

As far as my husband having a bad attitude, all I can say is try to remember that innkeepers are people too. The weekend you were here we had had a personal loss that was quite devastating, and although I was able to hide my sadness and play the part of the cheerful innkeeper, he wasn’t as good at hiding his emotions and we both apologize that it reflected in his mood. Most people can call in sick or take a personal day off when a personal crises hits. Unfortunately this option is not available for those of us in this profession and we have to show up and take care of our guests in good times and in bad. We do try very hard to engage our guests in conversations and, honestly, most people find my husband very interesting and charming to boot. I am sorry you did not get to experience that side of him.

Lastly, regarding the smoking on the porches outside… we do post on the website and online directories that smoking is allowed on the outside porches. Also the front porch is 60 feet long by 12 feet wide so I’m not quite sure how you couldn’t find a spot on the front porch to enjoy the views without being impacted by the smoke. That being said, we do ask our guests to consider others when doing so, and of course we do the same. Had you mentioned that it bothered you in any way it would have been halted immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

only kudos for this cute and quiet inn...it was more like staying at a relative's home due to the kind and friendly owners. the property itself has gorgeous views and welcoming, comfortable rooms. i can't say enough about the food at breakfast. Rafi is a genius and the portions were ample! we did not want to check out. it's not in the middle of nowhere as I imagined and there are plenty of stores, restaurants, sights/activities quite close to the inn. this would be an amazing spot for a wedding or family reunuion. don't stay at wintergreen, stay here-you will be thankful you did.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We recently had a delightful two-night stay in the Schloss room at the Mark Addy Inn. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed, and we especially enjoyed the charming private deck! The bathroom was a bit small, but any inconvenience was outweighed by the fact that it was well-stocked with high-quality linens and bath products and had several thoughtfully placed shelves for storing personal items.

We found the Tals to be warm and welcoming proprietors. They began brewing locally roasted coffee at 7 a.m. and kept the coffee flowing until breakfast was served at 9. Breakfast itself was fresh and delicious. We didn't have any special requests or service needs during our stay, but would have felt comfortable approaching the Tals with any such issues.

We found the Mark Addy's location ideal for the purposes of our trip (exploring Staunton, visiting a few breweries, and hiking at Crabtree falls). The Inn is located within an easy drive of Crabtree Falls and the towns of Staunton and Charlottesville, and several wineries and breweries are nearby.

As an aside, we had some difficulty finding the Mark Addy Inn using our Garmin GPS with the Afton address; however, when we changed the city to Nellysford, the directions were perfectly accurate.

We had a lovely stay at the Mark Addy, and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler122126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had a great room in the front of the inn with another small room ensuite. Good bathroom and shower. Very quiet location. TV and free internet in the room. Breakfast very good. Ate in the dinigroom for dinner. Food was good, but quite expensive. They try and encourage eating there. There was not much information regarding any other eateries in the vicinity.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank dave3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Fenton Inn
Fenton Inn
#1 of 1 in Wintergreen
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
804 reviews
11.4 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
58 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range: £112 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing