We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and breathtaking place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tamarin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Anabela19...
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful and breathtaking place”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent here a beatiful 10 days with our children 12 and 15 years old on begin of March. Agnes and Ken were very helpful and gave us tips what to visit in Mauritius. We also used a motorboat, which is available and did a nice trip to observe dolphins and swim with them, to snorkel and Ken prepared us a barbecue on the Ile aux Benitiers.
The aparatment is very spacious, the kitchen is perfectly equipped, There is also a washing machine and beach towels. Sabrina, which cleans made us our stay even more comfortable.
In the garden is a pool and sunbeds where you can relax. There is a beautiful small beach 10min. walk along the coast. We really enjoyed our first stay at Mauritius although the weather was not the best and we would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Villas Away
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernD...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Olana Beach Apartments and I have to say that this is the best holiday we have had. Even our 16 year old son agreed.

The apartment itself was extremely spacious, very clean and had everything you could possibly wish for. We have stayed in many self-catering places and this was by far the best equipped and wanted for nothing. We had a maid each day, with soap, toilet roll, kitchen roll etc provided so little need to bring anything but the basics. Any issues we had were quickly taken care of by Agnes who was fantastic to us and made us feel really welcome on the island.

The island is superb with so much to do and see. There is plenty to occupy even the most active for a couple of weeks. Swimming with the dolphins and walking with lions have to be the highlights but snorkelling off Le Morne, surfing in Tamarin Bay (have lunch at Tamarina boutique hotel and look out for the monkeys), spot of fishing or sampling the local rum (have lunch at the Chamarel Rhumerie and the guided tour is included) are also worth giving a go. The apartment is ideally placed to explore the island. Using a local hire car company (we used Honey Car Rentals) saved us hundreds, literally. There are several good restaurants within walking distance - the steaks at Medium Rare were excellent, iPizza does good pizzas, there's a Thai down the road which does take aways and the Bay hotel is great for dinner or just a drink by the beach. Walk back along the beach but take a torch!

Overall, brilliant. Can't recommend the apartment or the island enough and Agnes was an excellent hostess. Can't wait 'till they get a boat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Olana and we hope to hear from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
346lianne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation in a stunning tranquil setting”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The apartment is furnished to a very high standard. There were 5 of us and ample room for us all to have our own space. The setting is magnificent and SO relaxing. There are good restaurants nearby and the restaurant called 'The Kiosk' across the road at the back does a varied and very good breakfast, lunch and on certain days, dinner. The pizzeria as well as the Steak house are also very good and within walking distance.
Ken & Agnes, the owners are very helpful and attentive ensuring your stay goes smoothly. Sabrina, the maid did a wonderful job every morning and also makes a tasty curry! We thoroughly enjoyed our 14 nights!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and the location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaukkaFin
FIN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

There is everything you need for a good vacation. The apartment is well located and we liked the cleanliness of it. The master bedroom was spacious and very nice. The kitchen was well equipped and the grill was excellent to have! The garden around the pool area was nice and clean. We thank Agnes for spectacular service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Dirty water at the beachfront
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travellin...
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth staying here - we had a great time in Mauritius”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just completed 6 nights at Olana. Thank you to Agnes and Ken for a lovely relaxing time.
Having spent several weeks visiting family and rushing around South Africa, it was really good to stay at Olana on the way back to Australia.

The highlights of our stay:
- spacious apartment where we had more than enough room for 5 of us, and our teenage children could enjoy it as much as we did.
- being able to lie on the pool loungers first thing in the morning and watch the sun light up the mountains opposite the bay.
- the infinity pool that faces onto the beach, lined with palm trees,
-crisp clean white cotton sheets every 2 days,
- walking to dinner at the Bay Hotel and watching the sunset.
- the colours of the sunset from the edge of the property. Loved that i could relax, the boys could fish, the girls could swim - each doing our own thing, together.
- snorkelling at Le Morne beach and seeing the bright fish in the corals, all within 100 m of the pristine beach.

I think this apartment is equally suited to young and old, those wanting to relax and those wanting an active holiday. Boats are prepared to pick you up from your front yard.

Thank you to Fidou for making us a Mauritian Curry for dinner. (Hint for future guests, agree on the time that it will take and a price, so you know what you're going to be paying)

Pastries from Food Lovers (2 minute drive) were very much enjoyed - from Croissants at 18 Rupee each (even chocolate Croissants) to the Bagettes at 5 MUR - all nice and fresh and hot from the oven.

In terms of food, everything you need is very close by. We opted not to have a car for the first day, and it was still easy to get what we needed. We did enjoy having a car from then on.

Best beaches nearby: Flic en Flac and Le Morne. Both clear water and excellent snorkelling.

We also organised our car rental with Sayaad from Pinguin Car hire, I would highly recommend their services too. They collected us from the airport in a van, delivered a car to us at our accomodation and ensured our safe return to the airport. Pinguin Car hire was also very accomodating when we extended the car hire for another day. Very pleasant to deal with and I believe the cheapest car hire on the island.

Last but not least, we very much appreciated Agnes' flexibility around late checkout. Our flight was only at night, so we only left the apartment at 5:30pm. Some venues would charge an extra day or insist on 10am checkout, but they were quite happy for us to continue using the apartment till we needed to leave. A real bonus when you have 6 large bags for the family!

Kitchen fully equipped. Pictures very accurate. I would definitely recommend this if you would like to do self-catering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets from the edge of the property.
Liked least: Murky water in the near vicinity, so snorkelling wasn't really an option without driving to another beach.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md2113
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Apartment and Owners”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at one of the apartments with family including a 3-year old. A very well built and furnished apartment with a great pool area that included a baby pool. The facilities were first rate and the apartment is very well maintained.

The owner, Agnes, was great and available at the end of the phone to arrange interesting trips including boat rentals and recommended sight seeing.

If you are visiting Mauritius then would recommend considering this apartment.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing