We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay at this pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Tamarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tamarin
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tamarin
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice stay at this pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Tamarin for 5 nights last November. We did alot of research before coming away and chose this due to good reviews on Trip Advisor. Tamarin is a very quiet resort and is probably not for those who are seeking a crazy nightlife! The hotel is quiet and well-kept. We had a very pleasant stay here and the main reason for our few days here was to chill out and 'do not very much at all' and this place was great for that. The hotel staff were nice and pretty efficient. The food was of a good standard....breakfast and evening meals were included in our price. Breakfast was always nice with a good selection to choose from. Evening meals were of a buffet style and were satisfactory, some nights better than others. The evening entertainment was good and well worth watching. A nice beach a stones throw from the hotel. The only thing we noticed is that at aged almost 40, we were probably the youngest guests there! 75% of the guests were of the more mature variety, not that this was a problem but think the hotel probably have a connection with Saga maybe? On a positive though, if you are looking for a quiet break, then at least you can be assured that there will be no rowdy guests! All in all a very nice hotel. We had a warm welcome upon arrival and the rooms were of a basic but good standard and regularly cleaned. We would recommend this hotel for a good mid-range place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becksters71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    98
    37
    21
    19
See reviews for
59
107
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Rooms are very basic. No fridge unless you pay extra for it. No little luxuries at all. Although only a 3Q thought it would be better than it was.
Rooms were kept clean and air conditioning worked well. There is nothing at Tamarin Bay. Nowhere to walk, unless you are prepared to risk walking through the river where it meets the sea, which looked a tad dangerous to me.
Food extremely disappointing. Some people were saying it was acceptable, but didn't agree;guess its what you are used to. No fresh fish. Very few good salads. Very rarely saw a tomato. Mostly pasta or casserole type cooking.
Staff were friendly, although not always efficient. We didn't get our alarm call for 4.30 a.m. the day we were leaving; luckily woke up.
Jazz was good most evenings.
Taxis were very good, reliable and inexpensive. You needed to use them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirlh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie25, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tamarin, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
dear Sir,

i can really explain to you that in all our room there is no fridge as stipulated in the brochure but you have the oppotunity to hire one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tamarin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay in the Tamarin Hotel and would recommend it thoroughly.this hotel is a great place to stay in sub tropical Mauritius.It is set back from the beach and just by a local fishing village.The rooms are most comfortable,well lit and each has a patio or balcony.The athmosphere is extremely friendly and the staff delightful.the Food is delicious and varied.There is plenty to do a brillant swimming pool ,cleaned every day,with towels without charge,tennis,snorkling,kayaking
and easy accessible trips to other parts of the island.There is entertainment provided every night .Free computer access,a reading room with plenty of books ,also a safe without charge in each room.The Management keep a careful eye on everything with a very helpful reception desk to suport their guests.We look forward to returning to Mauritius and staying at the Tamarin Hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spencer094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Retro bedrooms and bathrooms still have original fittings. Beds dreadful. Very noisy. Whole hotel needs a good clean especially the pool which is filthy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coolnan027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginie25, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tamarin, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
dear Sir,

thanks for your response.

i kindly confirm that since the hotel has been bought 6 years ago, the bathrooms have been renovated keeping the 1970's style which is in trend actually.

for the swimming pool exactly during this period we had algus in the pool which has been resolved 3 days after.

you can check on trip advisor for the guests who were previously at the hotel and you will see the results.

i remain at your entire disposal if you need more information about the Tamarin hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

As a previous reviewer mentioned this hotel is not simply retro - most of the fittings in the bedrooms are the original 70's fittings. The taps in our bathroom were ancient and rotated through 200 degrees, leaking constantly. Maintenance staff who tried to repair them said they were beyond repair. The room safe was,inexplicably on the floor of the wardrobe making access difficult and the aircon did not work with any degree of efficiency. The saving grace of this hotel is its staff who go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful, but the whole hotel lacks cohesive management. The evening entrtainment is horrendously loud making conversation at dinner impossible without shouting. Even sitting at the furthest point away by the pool meant we had to shout at one another. Music it is not - it is just noise - played for the most part for the benefit of staff. Don't dare to ask the chap in charge to turn down the amplifier - he is the one exeption to my comment about staff - about the rudest and crass I have come across. Did we enjoy our Mauritian stay? Yes but mainly because of the island and its people - not because of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dottybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We enjoyed our first visit to Mauritius but were very disappointed in the Tamarin Hotel. Having opened in 1970 we were expecting a 'retro look' but not fixtures and fittings that seemed to go back 40 years. Out king size bed was comfy but the air con was a rust bucket hanging above our door and took staff two attempts to make it work (although it remained either on or off - no variations in temperature possible. The restaurant had received Saga's one-star food award. Why? The evening buffet while advertising itself as being 'barbecue, Mauritian, Italian etc' mostly seemed to taste the same. The lunch-time waiter service menu was a bit better although service could be inexplicably slow. Does it really take 20 minutes to bring an ice cream? There is also no attempt to keep birds from flying all over the dining terrace - especially at breakfast - stealing food and leaving droppings. Entertainment means modern jazz five nights out of seven - not even a variation with trad jazz, Latin American etc. And this sometimes spilt over in afternoon rehearsals. On one occasion a group of us were so fed up with this we asked to speak to the manager - only to be told he wasn't in and deputy manager was 'resting.' This seems to sum up the attitude at the Tamarin Hotel - the staff do their best but without any management. But our biggest concern was the pool. At first glance it looked fine but once in the water broken mosaic tiles and a ring of black mould could be seen around the water line. Thre was also mould around where the walls of the pool met the floor. The beach is just across the road from the hotel and is part of the lovely Tamarin Bay, but it is a public beach with nothing provided by the hotel - no loungers, sunshades etc. so it's OK for a quick dip but not very comfortable for spending any time there. So go there if you are a total modern jazz fan and like to spend the day on a sandy beach lying on a (quite small) hotel towel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belchampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed at Hotel Tamarin for 4 nights in August 2010 on a half board basis. First of all, food was wonderful. Breakfasts ample choice, dinners generally superb (salads were top notch, mains average to good, desserts average to good). Service ranged from OK to good - as you stayed longer they warmed up a bit. The hotel featured good quality jazz bands each night from 8.30 to 10.30 with supporting vocalists on some nights. Excellent. Free internet. Good pool. Adjacent to excellent beach with opportunities for surfing. Popular with locals from Friday arvo through the weekend. Hotel can arrange a limited range of tours and activities plus you can hire a taxi if you want. Excellent location for exploring Central Plateau, south and west, Port Louis. Overall would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceMichael98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarin
0.4 mi away
Tamarina Golf & Spa Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
390 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
424 reviews
26.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarin

Property: Hotel Tamarin
Address: Tamarin Bay, Tamarin, Mauritius 90921
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Tamarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tamarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamarin 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tamarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarin Hotel
Hotel Tamarin Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing