We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be prepared for no management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Oualidia
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Oualidia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

the best location in oualidia, i never stayed but did visit the rooms, and as long as there is a small luxury hotel service no problem... But But But, i did go twice in the past as a walk in for drinks and for a visit , and the service at the front desk was of a simple riad in the medina.
today we did go as a group of six adults, who had booked through the telephone number provided to us on the voucher handed out to us in the oualidia hotel itself during a past visit, and after talking to the front-desk ,we reserved with the person handling the spa bookings. when we arrived at the designated time for our three massages and three hammams , we were met by a non existent cold-girl at the spa''s desk, who after hearing our desire to proceed with our scheduled treatments responded that she had no such services booked . i confess that my friend who has herself numerous guest-houses in this country,and takes great pride in a swift efficient and welcoming service, had had in the past always the same absence of 5stars service in the sultana , but being the only hotel with a spa , she keeps coming back and keeps sending most of her guests to it , which explains the free voucher mentioned earlier, but to no avail, she almost lost it when she was not offered to sit down or a tea ... just ""i dont know""! ten minutes later this girl came back , saying we had booked at the sultana marrakech , because we had called the number printed on the voucher given to us in oualidia for a treatment to be taken in the oualidia spa !!! its always pleasant to hear a response stating whose fault it was, rather than looking for a quick and professional solution to a problem occuring by the way ,on a slow week day, when apparently no other guests were using the spa , it is not an acceptable attitude in such a beautiful and renown establishment .
just to make a long story short, it was offered after a good twenty minutes, the spectacular solution to provide us all with appointments split during the entire day and no apologies of any sort or even the appearance of some human form of management body...
so i want to emphasize that in three visits i never ever was offered an apology or the possibility to converse with some one in charge , all that in a 5 stars hotel. so be prepared ,its an expensive beautifully located hotel with no management and no real service !!!
i cant rate the quality of the masseuses because i left after waiting too long .but being the only spa in oualidia makes it difficult to forget its numerous flaws

Room Tip: non applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gany57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

La Sultana is known for delivering excellence, in service, surroundings and experience. The Oualidia setting is based on a lagoon - beautiful. Flamingos visit in Feb, April & Aug. The treehouse & yacht will be ready 2013. Extended my stay I loved it so very much.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 'Pirate' - less of a room, more of an entire floor/fort with cannons, private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReemeIdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had 3 nights here and could easily have stayed longer.
The setting is just superb and the layout of the hotel has been so well thought out with a focus on privacy and tranquility. The upkeep on this property is excellent with an ever present manager who ensures everything is kept at a premium level.
Our room was a good size with a lovely private deck and outdoor jacuzzi. The bathroom was not large and the shower was small and a bit of a challenge with the shower head having a life of its own (these are all currently being changed). That being said, I am very picky about bathrooms and in no way would the size of the bathroom deter me from returning.
The food at the restaurant is excellent with service to match.
The pool is gorgeous and sitting here you look towards the harbour which is active and fun to watch. It is quite tidal but then you can watch the locals collecting cockles.
Service wise, what can I say? Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were incredibly attentive and gracious with warm, friendly demeanors. They were a delight and made the stay extra special. We had a private dinner at the end of the jetty. It was a little breezy but they had thought of everything and had a blanket for each of us to wrap around our shoulders. It wasn't cold but the blankets were wonderful to snuggle into.
My husband and I each had massages and would rate the massages here amongst the best we have ever had.
There are things to do in Oualidia but be careful if you go in high season when the population grows by around 30,000 so we were told. As we were there in October it was perfect as there are no crowds at this time and the temperature was perfect.
The drive to Oualidia is around 3hrs from Marrakech. Apparently the drive from Casablanca is shorter. The drive is actually really interesting with some spectacular scenery looking across the Atlantic. The hotel will organise transfers. The drivers are happy to stop if you want to take photographs.
In all we were treated like King and Queen here. The staff seem very proud to be working at La Sultana Oualidia and it was excellent (and rare) to see a manager so hands on.
We will be recommending this hotel and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms and I don't really think there is a bad room. As with everything though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The whole setting and view is amazing. The rooms are nice, the pool has the nicest view. Th breakfast and dinner are very well!

Certainly the hamman and the private picnic at the beach are amazing.

It's al worth saving money for it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and I wish I could stay longer because it was amazing place to be calm.
Property, cuisine and very wonderful staff, all of them had been perfect.
Peaceful and paradise, I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hitomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Saying it was a fantastic stay really does not sum up the experience at La Sultana Oualidia.
The place is beautiful and the staff really helpful. Nothing was too much for them and they really cared that our stay would be a perfect one.
The food was delicious. The views amazing. The room perfect, complete wit two terraces and a jacuzzi.
The hotel manager makes everything more exceptional with his charm and his help in making all our requests come true.
Definately a place I would recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 00niki356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Sultana has a lot of potential- the staff are friendly and the location is beautiful. The food is also very good and we generally enjoyed our stay. However, we did notice that some aspects of the structure were a little tired- the rooms were nice but could do with a little refurbishment, as could the indoor pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oualidia hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 10 in Oualidia
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel L'Hippocampe
Hotel L'Hippocampe
#8 of 10 in Oualidia
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chateau Eden El Rouh
Chateau Eden El Rouh
#5 of 10 in Oualidia
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Oualidia Dream
Auberge Oualidia Dream
#1 of 3 in Oualidia
74 reviews
0 mi away
El Manzar
El Manzar
#2 of 5 in Oualidia
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Oualidia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Oualidia

Address: N_ 3 Parc a Huitres, Oualidia 24252, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range: £264 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Oualidia 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Sultana Oualidia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Oualidia Hotel Oualidia
La Sultana Hotel Oualidia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing