We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with Victorian Charm”
Review of Garden and Sea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden and Sea Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I went to Chincoteague Island for a week celebrating our 4th anniversary and we stayed in this B&B. The Inn has quite a historical background! We had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Merlot room, and it was always clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge! The inkeeper and staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area, always engaging the guests in warm conversation, and making recommendations about places to visit and eat. The food at the inn was top notch, not just the breakfasts, but also the goodies left for the guests in the Garden House. They catered to my wife's dietary restrictions as well, which was wonderful. A couple issues we had on our stay was that the pool was not open in mid May (understandable because the weather and temps are unpredictable, but we were still looking forward to swimming one day on our trip). Also the bath water and water in the sink in our room had a strong iron/sulphur smell at times, though it was safe to use and drink. Overall, we had a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The Merlot room is the oldest room in the house. Lots of history!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyjoshday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our third year in a row we have stayed at this beautiful B&B. Dorothee and Thomas are excellent hosts. Very comfortable and immaculate accommodations and the breakfast is so good. Highly recommend.
Tim & Tracy

Room Tip: Stayed in the Shirazz suit, large and pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent a bithday weekend at Garden and Sea with our canine companion .Very friendly hosts,great location and above all, great breakfast. Highly recommended for anyone looking to spend liesurely time on the Eastern Shore /Maryland.

Room Tip: Chardonnay room had excellent facilities and a very spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenjacqui454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

spent a recent weekend here - stayed in the Champagne room which I highly recommend. The hosts were wonderful, providing all the little things that makes the stay nice. Very quiet even though there were other people staying in other rooms. Breakfast was good. My only negative was the plastic cover on the bed (and covering the pillows as well). Both made sleeping noisy. But overall, a convenient and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms upstairs - the view is nicer there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have stayed at the Garden and Sea Inn many times. Each time it is a delight. Food is awesome, suites are beautiful and hospitality could not be better. Our visit in February was a real treat since we stayed in the Caberet Suite.

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa, but a lovely pool in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I travel to this oasis during the off-season and absolutely adore the peaceful escape! We recently stayed in the Shiraz Suite with our 2 dogs and we booked again for next year before leaving. The owners are a true delight and make every accommodation to ensure that guests have a relaxing stay. The breakfast can't be beat and should be followed by a leisurely walk around the grounds to enjoy the scenery. The Garden & Sea Inn is divine!

Room Tip: The Shiraz Suite is ideal with dogs and has a lovely fireplace inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 893MichelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

B&Bs come in all shapes and sizes, and the quality and style ranges from the ridiculous to the regal. To borrow a phrase, they are like a box of chocolates. This B&B is an absolute GEM. We had a wonderful time. Breakfast in the dining room was just perfect - albeit served a bit late in the morning, beginning at 8 as I recall. The proprietor was very sweet, helpful and available but not imposing. The rooms are charming and cozy. Our hostess puts out all manner of goodies - cookies, candies, drink and the like -- for her guests each night. We highly recommend this over staying right in nearby Chincoteague.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house or the other original property just behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_meridional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Garden and Sea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and Sea Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Region: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range: £106 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and Sea Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden and Sea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing