We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise vacationing with my dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise vacationing with my dog”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We picked this B&B because it was pet friendly. It was truly the most friendly B&B I have ever stayed in. Despite the fact that the dog was with us we all were made to feel welcome. The rooms were gorgeous. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable about the location. It was such a relaxing weekend! We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked the Shiraz suite several month ahead as we were bringing our dog and this suite comes with a fenced yard. (A prior review indicated that the fence might not be high enough for a large dog, but we thought it was perfect for our yellow lab.) The entire property is so attractive and well cared for. It is not only visually appealing due to flower beds, but provides wonderful access for walking the perimeter and paths throughout (w/ or w/out a dog).
We called ahead as instructed and were permitted a slightly earlier check in. Dorothee was there to meet us and provide a tour of the property. Actually, throughout our stay, she seemed to be everywhere and is obviously extremely hard working, not to mention a fabulous cook. The main
house where we had breakfast each AM is beautifully appointed in antiques. Breakfasts were lavish with a scrumptious, plated entree and a buffet including 3 juices, homemade yoghurt,
cereals, granola, fresh cut up fruit and a variety of baked goods. Kai provided plenty of coffee
and friendly service with a smile.

Our suite was so spacious with separate living room including table/chairs where we ate our carry in. There is a good sized ref in the room, but no ice. The fenced yard had 2 chairs and a table
where we could sit w/drinks and snacks while our dog played outside. The closet was large
enough to fit a single bed and the bath was enormous. Having 2 sinks and a separate jetted soaking tub and shower was a luxury. Lighting was ample throughout and the bed was soooo comfortable. There is a special cloth for make up removal and special towels for wiping the dog as well as towels for the beach or lovely pool on premises.
Having access to cold beverages, snacks (including homemade cookies) and port in the evenings was a real bonus. It was fun to browse the library and the well stocked local attraction brochures.
Even when fully booked we were hardly aware that others were on the property, so there is definitely a feeling of calm and quiet.

Room Tip: Shiraz Suite w/fenced yard for dog was perfect but rooms w/screened porches looked appealing also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Dorothee and Tom were wonderful hosts. The food was ample, delicious and with beautiful presentation. Chincoteague is a short drive away (15-20 min). Staying here got you back to peace and quiet, away from the more crowded town of Chinoteague (note we were there July 4th weekend and it was packed on the 5th). We took the 21/2 hour boat tour suggested by Dorothee (Daisey Boat Tours) and it was wonderful! Rooms were exceptionally clean and the mini kitchen in the common area was well stocked with water, tea (iced and hot), sherry, snacks and homemade cookies!!. Although we did not use it the pool is a definite plus, clean-always quiet, beautiful and peaceful. The grounds in general are beautiful, natural and serene. Bushes could use some cutting back. But all in all well kept. Please note that what you pay here is worth the extra drive time to get to Chincoteague and it's beach. Also, if you bring your dog you will need to drive up 113 (40 min) to the Maryland Assateague Island south beach as the VA side (Chincoteague) does not allow pets. Thank you Tom and Dorothee for a wonderful stay!
Suggestions thicken the homemade yogurt. Spray some Pam or WD40 on the squeaky door entering the screened porch. (5am wake up due do neighbors walking the dog).
A hot tub by the pool would be a great addition!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ODAAT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay ... the room was lovely and spacious; Doro was very kind as she showed us around the property and the buildings. Breakfasts were different (for us) yet delicious. We were not disturbed by other guests (we stayed in the Chardonnay room). Doro recommended the Krusty Krab for dinner ... awesome place if you like "hole in the wall" dining ! Overall a great weekend visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just a wonderful experience! Dorothee is a great host and cook! The food is just wonderful. Breakfast will hold you till dinner. We enjoyed every moment, and loved talking with Dorothee. Another trip is definitely planned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBQueen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Garden and Sea Inn, and we will definitely be back!

If you are looking for a place that is within walking distance of Chincoteague or other Eastern Shore attractions, this isn't the place for you. But if you want excellent value in a quiet setting and don't mind driving a few minutes to get to area attractions, don't pass this up.

The house is charming, filled with beautiful antiques that the photos can't do justice to. The entire place is immaculately clean, especially for a pet-friendly inn. Our room was comfortable with all of the modern amenities (free wifi, TV, a/c, etc.) alongside the old-world charm. We loved having the whirlpool tub, too!

Garden and Sea Inn provides excellent value for money to begin with, and the extra details like fresh-baked goodies and homemade tea make it feel even more worthwhile. The breakfast is delicious and just the right size portions so that you don't feel stuffed and sluggish starting your day (or guilty leaving food behind), but there is a buffet with extras for those with a larger appetite.

The gardens are beautiful and we can't wait to get back and use the pool next time. Doro is a welcoming and accommodating hostess without being overly friendly or intrusive. She gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations and was available when we needed her, but we didn't feel like we were tripping over anyone else at the inn.

Go. You don't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were a bit surprised to find out how tiny a town New Church is -- but it is close to lots of places, within easy range of shopping, NASA's Wallops Island visitor center (neat place) and Chincoteague Island. Everything was immaculate. We stayed in the Chardonnay Room. The rooms were large, and the bathroom not only was large, but had both a nice shower and a jacuzzi tub. When the innkeeper found out that I could not have a breakfast that was high in sugar, she made me a custom omelet instead of the french toast that the other guests enjoyed. Normally, omelets are not my favorite breakfast, but the one created at the Garden and Sea Inn was superb. Maybe it was the goat cheese, maybe it was expertize and seasoning. This was the very best omelet I have ever experienced -- by far. My wife loved the Victorian charm; we both loved the warm reception. If they had a fitness center, we did not see it -- but we would not have used it anyway.

Room Tip: The Chardonnay Room is great if you need a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Church
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
10.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Property: Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Address: 4188 Nelson Rd, New Church, VA 23415-3151
Region: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing